We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Dragon Villa(Yangshuo County)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manor House Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Village Retreat(Yangshuo County)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat(Yangshuo County)
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
238
37
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
37
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyulong riversmall villageyangshuo townorange duckwonderful atmospheremodern comfortsarranged everythinglight showancient villagechinese experienceoff the beaten pathchinese villageeggplantguilin airportfive nightscommon areashighlight of our trip
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This place is truly somewhere unique. A glorious old building restored tastefully in a traditional village and rural setting. So quiet and relaxing with fantastic food and the friendliest service we have ever had in China. The perfect break from the city, we went cycling and exploring. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you so much from the whole Secret Garden family for your wonderful review. We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spent two nights at Secret Garden (SG), booked a suite out of no choice, I never regretted it. The hotel itself is professionally managed, clean, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food (especially pancakes) etc. Without a luxury executive lounge but it has gardens for you to unwind and enjoy fresh air. No front desk or concierge, SG staff almost know everything.

My suite is on the ground floor, very spacious, comfortable beddings, firm mattress, clean. The only downside for me & bf is - we lived on ground floor. There was one morning guests lived on the second floor left at 6am ...we got wake up and you can guess the rest. Suite is value for the money, even for two people. We had a comfortable stay at SG and highly recommend for others.

Room Tip: Suite on second floor if possible
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ3956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you. We are glad you and your boyfriend had a comfortable stay with us. Our staff are happy they could help provide all the information you needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 2 nights there and it was great. Staff was wonderful, they helped us organize activities and made good recommendation. The kids loved the location, with the old buildings and fields around us. We rented bikes and biked in the country side up the river and then took a raft back down. Food was great, the family room was perfect with the kids. We went to Yangshuo for one evening and just loved the fac we did not have to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

All our staff are happy they were able to help make your family's stay with us one of your highlights in China. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent three nights at Secret Garden, which is perfect. It was like being with friends arranging everything, from pickup at the airport to cars at our disposal whenever needed. We biked along the Yulong river through villages with people working in the fields and building houses. Being at Secret Garden was the closest one comes to the real life in China. The houses are 200 years, but with all modern facilities, large rooms and bathrooms. Very beautifully done. The kitchen was wonderful, a large menu, with both Chinese and Western food. We already miss the people working there, like Faye and the one we christened Sunshine. Getting breakfast from her made our day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edlebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderfully kind words. Faye, 'Sunshine' and the rest of your friends at Secret Garden fondly remember your whole family. We hope we can have the pleasure of meeting you all again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our two nights here, from being collected from our cruise boat to being dropped off at the bus station, were among the highlights of our China trip. We thoroughly enjoyed walks in the countryside, meals (particularly breakfast), friendly helpful staff, prompt service, quaint room, comfortable bed, working wifi, and great activities. The hotel is well organized and staff helped with advice and booked activities for us, including the Sanjie Liu night show and bamboo rafting.The only downside is that there is no easy transport access and you have to rely on the hotel drivers to go places. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms have flower names. Jasmine was good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajah_Luojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are all so happy that we were able to make your time with us one of the highlights of your China trip. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews