We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 449 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Secret Garden in January with our 2 teenagers. We arrived late at night (I'm sure our driver was a little lost) and so getting up in the morning to the amazing views was a complete delight and surprise.
We loved the surroundings, and the hotel set in a tiny village was a great experience, much better than staying in the main town.
The staff were very friendly. The food was great, and the rooms spacious and comfortable.
We really enjoyed cycling around the local countryside, and rafting along the river. Wish we had more time to spend here
Highly recommend this hotel when visiting Yangshuo

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are all so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    36
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
102
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Secret Garden Hotel is honestly a jewel. The project is a renovated cluster of houses from the Ming dynasty. So it is definitely much more original then anything else in this area. The renovation has been done with lots of effort and thought. The courtyard gardens are beautiful and giving you lots of possibilities to relax. The rooms are nicely done as well and the bathrooms are similar to that of a 5* hotel, just with much more personality.

But what makes this place a warm and welcoming is definitely the crew. From the owner to every single employee. Everyone tries to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We arrived quite late from the airport (Guilin) but Peter for example did not hesitate to get into the kitchen and prepared us a delicious meal. The food in the hotel is outstanding, especially the Chinese cuisine served into any corner of the garden.

You will find lots of activities around the hotel which is located in-between tranquil and beautiful rice fields surrounded by the famous limestone hills. You will find a bike rental just in front of the hotel or as well the rafts on the river are not too far.

This property is one of the nicest and cosiest places I've stayed and as a purser of a international airline I may say, that I've seen quite a bit. I can recommend this place to everyone, who does not want to stay in the middle of a touristy and loud area.

I'll definitely return, on my next trip to this beautiful spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
On behalf of Peter and the rest of the Secret Garden family, thank you so much for your kind words. Thank you also for the compliments on the renovation of the buildings. It really is a labour of love and means a lot to us when it is appreciated by people such as yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This is a really special hotel. It is housed in a number beautifully restored buildings and surrounded by gorgeous karst peak scenery. The thing that makes it so special is the staff: they are friendly, knowledgeable and extremely welcoming. They arranged trips for us (rafting, cookery class and light show - all recommended), gave us tips on walks in the surrounding area and sorted out all the taxis and airport transfers that we required. We also ate in the hotel a lot and the food was really tasty. We had a family room which was upstairs and had a balcony which was nice. There are a few uneven steps and things around (as you might expect with buildings of that nature) so definitely bring sensible shoes and take care when wandering around. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller2312_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are all so happy that you had a fantastic stay in our peaceful hotel. I have passed on your compliments to our hotel and restaurant staff. They all hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is tucked away in a small village which is surounded by mountains. Our initial worring regarding its distance to yangshuo town turned out to not be a problem as they have a local taxi service available for the guests throughout the day. Plenty of walks around the village. Views on the way to yangshuo twon is more than delightful.
Through out our stay there it's their outstanding retuarant dishes and its family like atmosphere strike me the most. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
On behalf of the whole Secret Garden family, thank you for your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This place is truly somewhere unique. A glorious old building restored tastefully in a traditional village and rural setting. So quiet and relaxing with fantastic food and the friendliest service we have ever had in China. The perfect break from the city, we went cycling and exploring. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much from the whole Secret Garden family for your wonderful review. We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spent two nights at Secret Garden (SG), booked a suite out of no choice, I never regretted it. The hotel itself is professionally managed, clean, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food (especially pancakes) etc. Without a luxury executive lounge but it has gardens for you to unwind and enjoy fresh air. No front desk or concierge, SG staff almost know everything.

My suite is on the ground floor, very spacious, comfortable beddings, firm mattress, clean. The only downside for me & bf is - we lived on ground floor. There was one morning guests lived on the second floor left at 6am ...we got wake up and you can guess the rest. Suite is value for the money, even for two people. We had a comfortable stay at SG and highly recommend for others.

Room Tip: Suite on second floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ3956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you. We are glad you and your boyfriend had a comfortable stay with us. Our staff are happy they could help provide all the information you needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 2 nights there and it was great. Staff was wonderful, they helped us organize activities and made good recommendation. The kids loved the location, with the old buildings and fields around us. We rented bikes and biked in the country side up the river and then took a raft back down. Food was great, the family room was perfect with the kids. We went to Yangshuo for one evening and just loved the fac we did not have to stay in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F, Owner at Secret Garden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
All our staff are happy they were able to help make your family's stay with us one of your highlights in China. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.7 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 449 in Yangshuo County
454 reviews
4.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 449 in Yangshuo County
1,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 449 in Yangshuo County
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 449 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 449 in Yangshuo County
240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 449 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Boutique Hotel

Property: Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Address: Jiuxian Village, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 449 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden is a boutique hotel and restaurant near the Yulong River in the stunning Yangshuo countryside. Our hotel consists of Qing Dynasty buildings that have been beautifully restored in order to preserve the historic character, while providing customers with a unique and inspirational environment in which to relax or explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing