We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Wonderful Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Ranked #4 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Truly Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place is truly wonderful!! My friend and I spent a night in Fonglou and it was perfect! Fonglou has a peaceful and quiet location surrounded by beautiful mountains and fields. Our room on the 2nd floor with balcony was comfortable and clean with complimentary well-connected wifi and in-room amenities. I felt so relax by just sitting in the balcony, sipping my cup of tea and looking at the stunning Yangshuo mountains view...It was just so good!!

The owner Jerry was so friendly to show us around not only the hotel but also the area nearby. We biked around the wonderful village and farms. And we went hiking and exploring the beauty of Yangshuo in the next day early morning before breakfast on the rooftop. I was really amazed by the beautiful scenery of this place!

With their great hospitality and personal service (which you can't find in most 5-star or chained hotels), I truly enjoy my stay here!! I would recommend this place to anyone who travelling to Yangshuo!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
67
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Set on the edge of a village with great views of the karsts. We had a second floor corner room with balcony. The room looked very basic at the beginning but we quickly loved it, as it reflected the local environment.
The shower was excellent-very strong pressure.
The bed was very comfortable.
Kettle, tea and coffee in the rooms along with free water that you could fill up yourself from the water cooler downstairs.
Be aware that this is the real working countryside and therefore doesn't necessarily look completely idyllic. Also, I was disappointed that there was a road in front of the hotel- not a main road, the side road to the village, but still it didn't look like there was a road in the pictures. It actually wasn't disturbing at all, but you should be prepared for there being a road so you're not disappointed. For information, the Moon Retreat is just over a little bridge further into the village.
The front desk manager (Lilli) was excellent and arranged loads of things for us at short notice, without trying to sell us anything.
The breakfast was excellent and the other food was good too. The pizza was great, but make sure it's not the main cook's day off when you order that.
Also, ensure that you know when Lilli is having her day off as we wanted to organise something when we came back one evening and the person standing in didn't know anything ( although it was his first day to be fair).
We never met the Jerry person.
Plenty of things to see in the area on foot or bike, Moon Hill is very near.
Apart from exploring the area, I'd recommend the cookery class, Kung Fu/Tai Chi School and the Impressions show. Be aware if you do the river rafting, which was fun, that the first little ridge you go over ends with you getting very wet. Make sure you lift your legs and cover your camera.
I would advise that the hotel should provide an itemised bill on checkout to make sure there are no inadvertent mistakes.
We stayed here 4 nights at the beginning of November and really enjoyed our stay. I think part of the time we were the only ones there. We felt looked after and would definitely prefer to stay there rather than in Yangshuo town, which was a bit crazy, despite the extra taxi costs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amalfipurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The moment we set foot on this hotel we knew we made the right choice. The hotel is very traditional chinese, which we prefer than the tall buildings hotels. the bed is fantastic and better than most 5-star hotels. Staff is very accommodating and friendly and we felt we're a part of the family. Jerry, the owner of the place, went extra mile and took us hiking to two mountains on separate days and he did not charge us a single cent! Lily the receptionist is super nice and always smiling. We dont usually eat at hotels to try the cuisine at different restaurants but the food here is so amazing we didnt miss a meal. Do not forget to try the pizza, i know is not traditional but it is fantastic, mapo tofu and beer fish are to die for! If you are in Yangshuo you definitely need to stay here or at least try their restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank humanclay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Coming to this hotel is like visiting family . The staff have made this trip to Yangshou a really memorable one, despite being short. The have invested so much time and effort into making our stay pleasant, relaxing , stress free and memorable at that. The proprietor , jerry, has made us so welcome and has personally helped show us around.Lilly on reception has also been amazing . The hotel has a great and peaceful location that adds to the charm. Around the accommodation is a beautiful village , river , trek and cycle paths. It is not far from
Downtown -
Approx 4km. Easy to walk,
Cycle or catch a cab. The hotel also has onsite kitchen that caters for breakfast, lunch and dinner . The food is fresh and tastes great!! The pizza and beer fish are well worth trying . I couldn't complement this place enough. For the money - it's definitely well worth a visit . It's extremely clean and comfortable , which makes if a great base to explore.

Mark - Scotland

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you come to Yangshuo, you should definitely stay here.  Fonglou (which means Phoenix Tower) is a small village about 5k up the road from Yangshuo center.  Fonglou Retreat is one of two hotels in town.  The rooms are comfortable and clean (great beds!) and the wifi works well.

But what makes this place special is Jerry, the owner, and his excellent staff, who love hosting guests and teaching them about the local culture.  Jerry is one of the most friendly and welcoming hosts we've met in all of our travels (which is saying a lot - check out our profile!).  He really makes this hotel unique and puts a lot of energy into the place.  Early each morning, Jerry brought us on a different hike or bike ride to see the beautiful scenery, learn about the village and meet local people.  He loves the area and wants to make sure you see the best of what's around.  (During the day you might be on your own, as Jerry also has a day job, but they'll give you lots of tips on where to go). The hotel doesn't try to sell you tours, but rather they suggest off the beaten path hikes, rides and other activities, most of which can be done on your own, and for free.  Jerry also speaks very good English, as he's spent several years in the US.  Lili, the manager, also has a very strong command of English, and was equally warm and helpful.

The hotel is about a 10-minute taxi ride from town.  A taxi will set you back 40 yuan.  (Ask the taxi driver to bring you to "Fonglou".  Once you turn off the main road, it's one of the first buildings you come to.)  Your other option is to borrow one of the hotel's bikes and ride about 30 minutes into town.  We did this once and it was an interesting ride with lots of places to stop off along the way.  But really, there's not much need to go into town (though there are a couple of little streets in Yangshuo lined with bars that could make for a fun night out).  The food at the hotel was amazing and we ate pretty much all of our meals there.  Also, many of the natural wonders and highlights of the area are around the hotel, so most of the time we'd see people from town coming out to our area, rather than vice versa. There are endless beautiful places nearby to explore by bike, and there's a river close by where you can take bamboo raft rides.

Overall, we can't say enough positive things about our time at this hotel.  If in Yangshuo, be sure to stay here! 

One final tip - before you book, check directly with the hotel for the best deals.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the busiest week of the year, the October 1 national holiday. We arrived very late due to traffic, and the owner, a Taiwanese man named Jerry, was waiting up for us. He took us right to the room and left checking in for the next morning.

The room was cute, and there was free water and wifi.

The breakfast on the rooftop was good, and had a great view of the characteristic karst peaks. Jerry and Lily continued to provide great service as they helped us figure out our hiking and biking route for the day.

We purposefully chose a lodging option that was outside of the town, knowing that we wanted to bike. For people without a car or not interested in cycling, it may not be an ideal location. It's about a 10 minute drive or a 20-30 minute ride into town. The retreat offers a large selection of decent quality bikes free of charge. We really appreciated that! The location was mostly quiet and peaceful, which we also appreciated.

Dinner at the retreat was good as well, with good pizza and even better Chinese food.

Our trip during this holiday was a bit marred by hordes of people, thousands of boats crashing into each other on the river, and tons of honking cars and trucks, but Fonglou Pagoda and the great scenery made the trip worth it all. Don't go on October 1, but DO GO to Fonglou.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achaunceyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed in Fouglou on the last night of our 5 days trip in Yangshuo in September and it was great. Jerry the owner was so nice and friendly to show us around the area nearby on the 1st day we arrived, we biked around the village, the farm, the river, the village school, the historical secret site of the war...This place is breathtaking. The most important point is - this great biking route is just nearny Fonglou, no need to bike on the road with giant tour buses around!
Just 10mins walk to the famous Moon Hill, what a great morning hike before breakfast on rooftop with village farm view, ah.. so good...

I've been to Yangshuo for like 4-5 times before, but here in Fouglou still impress me so much. it's a peaceful getaway from the noisy town of Yangshuo, my room on the 2nd floor with double balcony was clean and nice, with handcraft wood and bamboo furnitures, hot and strong shower, fast wifi, "heehee..." Exceptional B&B in Yangshuo in short, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_FromHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.4 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
6.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.5 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#7 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#10 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#16 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Address: No.98 Fonglou Village, Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat presents the most natural style accommodation for you to enjoy the hills and rivers at Yangshuo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing