We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time, but nothing too spiritual”
Review of Water Caves

Water Caves
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A fun time, but nothing too spiritual”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Golden Water cave is situated inside one of the Limestone hills Guilin is famous for.
It's 45 minute cycle ride, or a cheap taxi.

Water wear has formed a beautiful cave which has been concreted over. So you can go and have a lovely cooling walk underground and view stone structures peaking out of the concrete, garishly lit like some scene from Disney's version of 20,000 leagues Under the Sea.

So the cave part was a disaster.

The mud bath however.....
It was March and cold and no one else wanted to go in, so all the more for us! We stripped off and were very shortly running and yelling(very dignified) in a concrete pool of underground mud that we were assured was very good for our skin.

Hot Pool:
After a freezing cold shower we hit the hot pools. As there were only 2 or 3 people about we stayed roaming around for a couple of hours getting warm and relaxing. The pools are concrete and trickle into each other, so down at the far end you can have a full on cold bath, before thawing out at the end where it 'comes out the rock' (pump? natural? who knows...)

Overall:
We paid a fiver each to go take a 3 hour mud and water bath in a big underground cave. I recommend it, just not for the wonders of underground architecture.

Quick warning - go to the bathroom in your hostel if you're not keen on open plan trough loos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishRayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    27
    23
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Golden shower cave”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

It was't really what we expected. The cave itself is beautiful though but the Chinese put bright coloured lights everywhere. It was like visiting the fair. But if you can look trough those lights you'll see a beautiful cave.

Inside the cave it was too crowded. Big groups of tourists everywhere so you couldn't walk around normally.

We tried the mudbath and hotspring which we found funny and relaxing but the changing room smelled awfull. People urinated everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank paulavisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
655 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

These caves are so colourfully lighted, you feel like you're in a disco. The natural beauty has been overlooked completely. The mud bath area is dark and has a low ceiling. I would avoid this attraction as it is not worth the price of admission.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We visited the cave and got an English speaking guide just for the two of us. This was very helpful and she was excellent. Really enjoyed the sensation of the mud bath and also the hot pool. Well worth the visit, get your tickets at your hotel (Y60) instead of at the cave (Y120).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Now called Gold Water Cave”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

There is a lot of confusion about the name of this cave, but currently it is called Gold Water Cave. There are more reviews on trip advisor under Moon cave and longmen cave. This is the one that has the mud bath and hot springs.

I was hesitant after reading the other reviews, but decided to go anyways because it was a rainy day and I thought my kids would like it. We were very pleasantly surprised. First, we got an English speaking guide who spent a lot of time describing the formations. He also let the kids squeeze through a narrow point known as rebirth hole. This is not a standard part of the tour as far as I could tell; other groups passed us without trying it out. The lighting is certainly artificial and the formations have been damaged, but if you can put that aside and let yourself into the spirit of it, it can be fun.

The mud was fun. My kids did like it, as did I. It was cold, though. Hot springs consisted of two pools, one warm, one cool. Kids also liked that. We weren't forced to leave at any particular point.

If you read the previous reviews, you'll see that the price fluctuates. Currently the posted price at the door is 120 yuan; the travel agent we purchased from sold us the tickets for 60. Definitely buy from a travel agent!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Caves also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Water Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing