We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imperial City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Old Manor House Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
US$104
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banyan Tree Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
US$349
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
US$108
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$112
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moondance Boutique Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
2
10
5
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
10
5
9
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is in a marvellous location if you enjoy the hustle and bustle of Yangshou being played out in the street below. The traders pack up late and are back early in the morning, so if you are after peace and quiet it would be best to look elsewhere. The biggest problem with this hotel is the attitude of the staff. The housekeeping station at the top of the first flight of stairs was almost permanently manned, whilst all around you piles of dirty sheets were waiting to be bagged up and collected. My companions had to negotiate stained mattresses leant against the walls of their corridors, piles of cleaning equipment (which I suspect that hadn't been used recently) I was lucky and had sole use of a family on the top (roof) floor which had amazing views of the river and the best air con that I have ever had in any hotel. My companions had worse experiences of their rooms with smelly sinks/showers and mould ridden bathrooms. We even worked out that the house cleaning staff who emptied the bin were simple tipping the contents of the litter bin straight out onto the balcony roof rather Than dispose of it properly. The staff on the front desk were usually too busy watching television or on their computers to even notice anything that was happening around them. My lasting memory will be the amount of dirt on the carpets and dust on every surface. I feel very sad for this hotel because it could be a great place to stay. I really hope the owner reads their reviews, gets their staff to do the job they are paid to do and stops using misleading advertising which inevitably leads to disappointment.

Room Tip: Pot luck. Be prepared for anything. No consistency between standards of rooms. Sense of humour required. Good luck!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkedodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Of all the hotels I have stayed in and of all the hotels that were used in China, the Imperial City hotel would have to be the worst. The hotel is located on the river and the whole establishment had a damp smell and feel. The front foyer is shared with over a dozen fish tanks set up for aquatic fish massage which only makes the foyer even more damp. The front staff speak very little English and the use of an apt on your iPad or phone is a must. Yangshuo is a tourist destination,directly out the front of the hotel steps is a market that starts around midday and packs up around 11 pm every night. There is a super mart next door to the hotel and another on the road to the left of the hotel. Smoking is through out the hotel and can be smelt on every floor. The hotel does not have wheel chair access at the front and there is no lifts installed only stairs. The carpet in the hotel is passed its use by date and should be replaced as it is worn and damp. The rooms are small and the beds are like trying to sleep on a wooden plank. There is no fridge or safe in the rooms. The bathroom did not have a shower enclave only a shower head sticking out of the wall that flooded the bath room floor. There was no view from the window to speak of. The hotel is close to some good restaurants and one street away from the bar scene. Turn to the right from the hotel front and the next street is full of vendors and a lot like bangala road in Phuket with out the Gogo girls, madness street. I can not recommend this hotel, try some others as there are plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: Look around first before choosing this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the Imperial City Hotel as part of a G Adventure Tour Aug 2013. First impressions were not great, we were given rooms that was like a backpackers, the room was not finished the sliding door to the outside was hard to lock, the bathroom was so small you could not sit on the toilet properly as there was not enough space for your legs! And the shower was over the toilet. They had authentic murals painted on the walls. This room faced a busy bar street which was noisy until about 2am. And yes the store selling the flutes... OMG! We complained and were eventually given another room, inside the hotel, on first look it was much better as long as you did not look at the big damp patch on the wall or on the ceiling! The shower was large with a nice rose shower and lots of hot water. Neither room had a safe or a fridge. The hall ways were dirty and unkempt, the carpet was rucked in place, a right trip hazard. There was a balcony which gave a lovely view of the River Li. The only plus was the free wifi, and its location close to River Li and the market.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Robbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I don't know where to begin...
the room smelled, it was not clean, it was depressing in any possible way....
to make things even worse there was a store selling flutes under our window so we had the most annoying music all night.
Just don't stay here...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kereneini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

Great location close to everything but far away from the main tourist street. This hotel needs a complete renovation but like many places in China, they just aren't bothered. Rooms are damp & mouldy from humidity, but I guess that can't be helped, and the bathrooms seem dirty & mildewy too. It's fine if you're on a budget but don't expect much.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews