We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And unforgetable stay”
Review of Magnolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Yerba Buena, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“And unforgetable stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We where here for 4 unforgetables nights. First, it is a beautifull old style chinesse house rebuilded. The area is pricelees, just 10 metros from the corner where the west pedestrian street begins. The room for two, was exellent and every thing for 220 !!! Un believable. This little jewll dont have any thing to envie to 4 star hotels. They have two computers for free internet. The vegetarian restaurant, beautifull decorated is a peacefull and exquisite place to eat healthy, with rich flavours, not expensive and very very clean a very importan thing in China. The bed was just the best we had in china, even much much much bettter than the 4star hotel in shanghai called the Astor. The ladies do speak english, and at the restaurant too. Oohhh , the menu has pictures so u know exactly what u are eating. They were helpfull to us giving a lot of local information. So, if u want a coisy beautifull hotel this is your place. The tea area is as well so beautifull. Our stay at Yangshuo was better with this place. So pleasent.

Room Tip: The upper ones. The only tiny thing, they dont have stairs but dont need it, only one floor to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    88
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
73
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanai City, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Lovely hotel, comfortable beds, tasteful decor, and very friendly, helpful staff. Location is convenient just a block from West Street and the river, but beware of the noise if you are an early or light sleeper. Our room had already been retrofitted with double glazed windows but the complementary ear plugs were still a welcome amenity. We were there over this year's Mid-autumn festival/China day holidays so the town was packed but we still felt quite at home in the hotel. My daughter and I are vegetarians so the restaurant was a wonderful accident, very good dishes for reasonable prices. The coffee shop off the lobby is also a nice place to watch the street life.

We will be back to Yangshuo but will probably look to stay outside of town next time; not because we didn't like Magnolia but just to enjoy the countryside--and to get some peaceful sleep :)

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent our last night of our 3 week trip at the Magnolia Hotel as we wanted to go to the Impressions show and have a night in town. The hotel is lovely. We were upgraded to the Imperial Suite which was beautifully decorated and had a sitting area where you could sit and watch what was going on in the street below.

The staff on arrival were welcoming and spoke good English.

As stated in other reviews the street noise at night can be heard in the room but with ear plugs we still got a good nights sleep.

A great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The location is really good. Rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated with Chinese style furniture. The hotel can help you arrange a pick up (280 RMB) from the Guilin airport.
It is in fact a bit noisy at night but, as someone already mentioned, they provide earplugs in cute little cases. They have however a banner that says that they are renovating for sound proofing, so this issue might be addressed in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

A great little hotel just off the hustle and bustle of west street. Can be a little noisy at times but they do provide ear plugs ! The noise of the streets did not spoil our visit as we were that tired after trawling the town we slept very well

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank srday36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Magnolia hotel for 2 nights and thought it was lovely. The atmosphere was calm, staff lovely, decor delightful and access to the main tourist centre was good.

The bedrooms were spacious with good bathrooms, the bed was lovely and comfortable.

Breakfast, a two minute walk to a cafe (we were taken there by a member of staff) was good. The attached vegetarian restaurant is amazing.

We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night, in a room at the front of the hotel. The first night the traffic noise was considerable but fairly constant (if you ignore all the horn beeping), Friday night it was just too noisy, revellers up until very early hours. I tried the ear plugs, which the hotel had kindly provided but could just not get the hang of them. It is such a pity as the hotel is lovely and just a short distance away it would be perfect.

If you want a very nice central hotel and are happy with noise this is definitely for you. A lot of the other central hotels are hostels and probably not places that everyone would want to stay. We were staying in August which is peak holiday period, I have no idea if it gets better out of the main season.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, lots of traffic noise but probably less people noise as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in the Magnolia Hotel as part of the Yangshuo Cooking School one week course. I stayed in one of the gorgeous Imperial Suites and it is definitely to be highly recommended. I felt like an empress! The staff were fabulous and extremely helpful. All spoke very good English.

Room Tip: The Imperial Suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.1 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#20 of 448 in Yangshuo County
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 448 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 448 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 448 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 448 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#24 of 448 in Yangshuo County
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel

Property: Magnolia Hotel
Address: No.1 Diecui Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing