We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure managed by the best incharge ever (Irene)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Dragon Villa
Ranked #15 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure managed by the best incharge ever (Irene)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem in the mad-rush of Yangshou. While located 5km away from the West Street (a loud place for eating, drinking, partying) and Bus station, the place is close to attractions like the Moon Hill, Gongnong bridge (best for viewing the rising and setting sun), The Banyan Tree, Mud Baths, butterfly spring etc. The bike ride to Dragon bridge starts from here as well (3 hrs one-way), while the bamboo boat has this as the last stop! All in all, it is a complete hidden treasure

However, these were not the reasons for us liking the trip. When we came in the evening, we were greeted by the ever-helpful, ever-smiling Irene, who bent backwards to help us even though it was Mid-Autumn festival, a day to be spent with family. She gave us fruits, booked our cabs, booked, cancelled and rebooked our tour tickets, gave us tips, and let us just sit and relax in the reception (even though our stay had officially ended). If nothing, come visit the hotel for the hospitality and fall in love with the relaxing atmosphere. I am sure the roof-top bar and restaurant will only be the cherry on the cake!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Tirkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    47
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, Ilhas, Macau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Hidden Dragon Villa is a discreet hotel away from downtown, but close to attractions such as Moon hill, butterfly cave, Banyan Tree, just to name a few.

The room is decent, with exquisite chinese decor. We got what we ve seen from the photo they put on their website. Cleanliness is to be improved as we found a cockroach under the bed, but overall is good.

Staff is freindly and helpful. The girl at night shift (forgot to ask her name)is hospitable and give truly local perspective of the natural and cultural significance of Yangshuo, which helps tourists to a fuller exploration of the city.

Restaurant has a great view of the breath-taking mountains, muddy fields and old village houses.

Access at night could be dangerous as there is no streetlight the way to hotel, but if you are in group, or you take tuk-tuk or taxi should be fine.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with view of the mountains and turn on the mosquito repellent to enusre an undisturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chihong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and have a nice time. And thank you for speaking highly of our hotel. Just one more thing, access at night is very safe, don't worry about that, there's NO danger happened to any guest before. The safety in Yangshuo is also very good too.

Hope to see you & your friends next time.

Best wishes,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

After Beijing and Shanghai I continued on to Yangshuo. I requested a pick up at Guilin airport and was met in the terminal by a man who drove me the hour to Yangshuo (USD$50). When I arrived at the Villa my name was written on a welcome board at the front. I was greeted and promptly given a plate of fresh watermelon and cold water. Both came in handy as it was around 90 degrees (33 celsius) with some rough humidity.

The rooms facing the front of the building have an awesome view of a nice portion of the karst peaks. They provide complimentary tea, instant coffee and a hot water maker. The bathroom had stuff I was told not to expect in China. There was a small packet with tooth brush, tooth paste and comb. The towels were clean and the toilet was wrapped with a ribbon marking it as just recently sanitized. The bathroom itself was slightly worn. The room was comfortable and large with dark wood furniture and hard wood floors. They provide indoor and outdoor sandals for each guest.

Regarding location, the place is about 5 miles from Yanghuo city. It is very close to Moon Hill and The Big Banyan tree. Be advised, the Villa is around 300 meters from the main road. The main road is where you'll catch your buses and taxis and find road side food stands. The proximity from the busy main road adds to the charm of the place. It is a complete break from pretty much everything. The morning and evening hours are extremely peaceful. At night you have to strain to hear any sounds at all.

The roof top restaurant serves good food for all meals (have the dumplings for breakfast) and the beverage selection is nice for alcoholic and non. The women who staff the villa speak English and provide very good care and service. They are also quite knowledgable about the area and worthwhile tourist experiences. Bicycle rental is approximately USD$5 per day and they have a nice selection of rugged mountain bikes, which come in handy if you decide to explore the country side. I recommend a full body massage which can be ordered up to your room in 15 minutes and costs USD$20.

I really enjoyed my stay. It wasn't the Ritz-Carlton but it was nice. The women did their best to make sure I was comfortable. I got a gift for showing up and another one when I left. There was a brief power outage due to a bad storm and they apologized by showing up to my room with a platter of local fruit. Those kinds of touches are important and made me feel welcome. If you go, have a pot of ginger tea.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Me and my lady decided to book this hotel/inn whilst still in our city . I had second thoughts right away due to it being so far away from the nice restaurants and busy night life of west street, then again what's the point of going on a holiday from a city to another city life.

Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly first with our names written by the entrance welcoming us, then with great smiles by receptionists offering us treats and gifts.

We booked the master room which had the most spectacular view of ancient looking camel back mountains just by lying in bed and looking out the window.

The rooftop bar/garden also has the same view but clearer. Food is average but can't complain.

Would definitely return here when we come back for our round two trip back to Yang Shuo.

Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QB_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel on the recommendations of friends but were really diesappointed. To begin with, 30 minutes after we unpacked our luggage, it started to rain and water came into our room and flooded the floor. The staff explained the room leaked because it was on a corner and they moved us to another room. Later that same night, the electricity went out. Try to sleep in a room with above 30 degrees in summer. We sent our clothes to be washed the next day and they came back yellow and one dress was several sizes smaller than before it was washed. On our last day it rained again, the room leaked again. In fact all three rooms on our side were all leaking as we could hear other guests were complaining. Once again the electricity went out. As it was close to dinner time, I asked the staff whether there would be anything to eat. They replied probably not as there was no electricity. The next time I looked our of the door, the staff were eating themselves! I had to ask them to make some food for us. We ate breakfast in the hotel next door the following day and spoke to the guests there. Their rooms did not leak when it rained and they were taken good care of during power outages. We paid good money to stay at this hotel and the fact that we had to beg for our food was unimaginable. Definitely will not stay at the place and will not recommend it to anyone else either.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear friend,

Thanks a lot for your comments. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing stay here. We did have one room leaking because of the strong wind with rain day, NOT all rooms were leaking, I am very sorry that we couldn't fix it immediately at that day. For the powered off, if you wanted to order some food made by electricity, the staff couldn't make it, but you could order some food made by gas, that's why you could see our staff eating. We have built a new one power to solve it. I understand your feeling when you came across the problem, please take some time to communicate with our staff, I believe they are very friendly and helpful as so many guests said.

Welcome to see you next time, and have a new good experience here.

Best regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Very noisy as it is set around a courtyard and anything said in courtyarf echoes, ask and insist on a riverfront room i think it would be quieter, rooms not cleaned well while you are staying there.

However inhouse massage amazing and cheap and they posted my swimsuit to me after i forgot it in room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear friend,

Thank you for your comment. We do take care the noises by making notes on the wall to remind of everyone to keep quiet and requesting staff to take good care of this problem. It's get much better. We were short of hands during your stay, only one of our house keepers on duty, cleaness is one basic request in hotel, we always try our best to clean the hotel, it's won't happen. Thank you for speaking highly of our kind and helpful staff, hope to see you next time.

With Love,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

The price is too high since we found out what we could had got for the money elswhere. We payed for a room with balcony and river view. There were no balcony and no sight of the river. The cleaning was terrible. We had to wipe old yellow and brown stuff of the toilet ourself. We were in the room once when the cleaning lady was about to clean the room. She took the same towel which she had cleaned the toilet with to dust the tables in the room. 

The hotel random had clean water. Most of the time the water was light yellow to dark brown. The staff tried to explain that it was because the neighbore was drilling a well... Really? We didn't really care for why the water was brown, but when it had been going on for many days, one expects that the hotel should had fixed it. We just wanted to have our showers and  to wash our hands. 

The electicity was randomly cutted and wouldn't be back for many hours. Ever tried to be in a hot room with two tired children in totally darkness and not being able to take showers? The towels were yellow as well because they were washed in the pulluted water.

By the way, think twice before dinning in their restuarant. They cock the food with the pulluted water. The prices in the restaurant are more like a robbery anyway. 

The only positive thing about the hotel, was that the girls working there were always smiling and friendly. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Issapigen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear friend,

Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry for the experience you met. I understand your feeling, but allow me to explain something:
For the electricity, unforturnitely it's just an accidence a few days ago due to the thunder in summer. We finally fixed. For the pulluted water, our neighbour digged the well those day, we tried our best to prevent, however, they need water to drink, so...Now they finished. Actually, we did offer the pured water in our lobby and restaurant, we made the food with the pured water too, no worry about the food. For the price, if you compare with other places, you won't say it's too high. I understand your feeling, wish we could do something for compensations. We are improving... We will offer a much better stay next time.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.1 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
5.4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Dragon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dragon Villa

Property: Hidden Dragon Villa
Address: Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone | Big Banyan Tree Scnry Zone Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#12 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dragon Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
elegant Yangshuo hotel with Beautiful Legend, Perfect Location, Elegant Architecture in the style of Ming and Qing Dynasties and Great Roof Garden Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Dragon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dragon Villa Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing