We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water, very smelly, bad heating & mould in bathrooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Dragon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Dragon Villa
Ranked #16 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No hot water, very smelly, bad heating & mould in bathrooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Avoid this hotel if you can. While the staff are friendly, you have leave the water running for 45 mins before it gets luke warm. The bathroom was mouldy - clearly have never been introduced to Exit Mould.

We arrived off season during winter and also found the heating didn't really heat up the room.

There was a consistent bad smell in the court yard, apparently due to pigs being kept in the back. The bedsheets also smelt bad - probably from being dried in the open near the pigs.

We had a latte on the rooftop cafe and found remnants of a piece of cardboard.

I was extremely disappointed by this hotel because the pictures and view looks amazing. The clear ponds in the photos are actually, in fact, sludge ponds of a murky green.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taani312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragonvilla, Owner at Hidden Dragon Villa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear friends,

Thanks a lot for your comments. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing stay here.

We have 2 sets of hot water equipment to provide hot water in our hotel. There are 3 rooms’ hot water pipes is further than other rooms. But I did check the hot water in these three rooms, the longest time for hot water come out took about 15 MIN if the switch towards the hot side. By the way, all the taps in our rooms have obvious hot and cold marks.

For the latte on the rooftop restaurant,I also regret with what has happened to you. I had check with our staffs, no this problem. Every cup of coffee in our restaurant has been strictly controlled by our staffs. And all our coffee is from coffee machine directly. There will be no cardboard inside as you said. And the most important is, if such a situation really happens, you should tell our waiter immediately, we'll solve it.
We really care of your precious advice.

Yes, one of our neighbors does raise some pigs. We also very upset about this. But our boss had negotiated with the pigs’ owner many times. He has agreed that he won’t raise pigs any more and he will clean up the yard. And there is no bad smell in our hotel now.

And we do appreciate your efforts for improving our hotel again. We will do our best in the future. Thanks a lot!

Hope to see you next time, and have a new good experience here.

Best wishes,
John & Hidden Dragon Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    47
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Its a nice old house in a good location' outside the city. The service is really good, friendly people, they even had a welcoming board with our names at the entrance... However, we a got a room near the street, we were told its better since the back rooms were noisy due to the pigs in the neighboring compound. we could only go to bed late (23:00) after all the villagers had rode home and wake up so early (05:00) when the villagers began riding to the city...motor bike noise through out the day till late night, and early morning.

One could get a good view from the top restaurant/bar...although there were quite lots of mosquitoes..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had a nice and relaxing stay at the Hidden Dragon Villa. I spent a night here, after spending my first 2 nights in Yanshou on West St. It's was a great change of pace and I would definitely stay here again if I was back in Yangshou.

My room was large and comfortable. The view from my windows was outstanding. Unless you're looking for 5 star luxury, I think you'd be completely satisfied with your room. The only minus on the room was the shower - it sprayed all over the bathroom despite my best attempts to contain it.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My meal at the restaurant to be good and reasonably priced. It was also nice to enjoy the food and beer on their restaurant balcony.

It's in a good location a bit outside of town. As other reviewers state, it's quite close to many of the attractions in the area. Outside of Moon Hill though, I did not find the other attractions particularly appealing. That being said, the Hidden Dragon is a great starting/ending point of your bike rides, as it's close to a couple of the nice loops.

Finally, on proximity to the town - although it is reasonably close to town, I don't think you'd want to make that bike ride multiple times a day. So if being in the hustle & bustle is important to you, you may want to split your time in Yangshou and spend a couple nights on West St.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a month's travels across China. When we arrived in Yangshou we were really tired. We were met at the door by a lovely young woman who spoke English. She served us tea and homemade chocolates while she checked us in. There was a sign by the door welcoming us by name. Our room was exactly as shown on their website, but the view is too wonderful to capture in a photo! It is quiet, and a place of peace. The staff is thoughtful and kind.
As a reviewer stated, it does take a long time to get hot water for showering, but we knew this in advance so it wasn't an issue.
The hotel is a good two hours from the airport and you must have arrangements for transportation. The hotel took care of that for us. The round trip taxi ride is about $100.00 for two people which is very little considering the distance. The ride to town is $5.00, and is worth it.
After you've been to town, you'll be so glad you are staying at The Hidden Dragon!
We didn't arrange for a tour or a guide, for the hotel did everything for us.
Have fun!

Room Tip: Be sure you ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LetaFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel if you want some peace and quiet, located in a little village away from the busy main road. If you like to be in the center of the action, you will most likely be bored; in this case, you are better off in Yangshuo town.

Super friendly service (my guide said they had also been nice to her, whereas in a neighboring hotel, staff had been rather rude), nice restaurant with great views and pretty good food. Comprehensive area information available in the rooms. The hotel rents bikes and can arrange a whole variety of tours.

The rooms are nice although they look better on the website - but then again, why spend a lot of time in your room when you can go and explore Yangshuo?

Room Tip: I had a superior room, which faces not only the Yulong river, but also the little street that can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afternoonnap_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents and boyfriend. It is away from the city center so you do need to get a taxi to it (it is tucked down a side road quite hard to find). When we arrived the staff were really friendly, they offered us ginger tea and biscuits before showing us our room. The rooms are very nice, heater and/or air con, kettle or tea or coffee, and hair dyer. The hot water showers takes a few minutes to heat up but it always did! Close to the beautiful landscape of yangshou (moon mountain and caves). You can catch a bus to the city center but we found it over touristy and loud, and much preferred staying away from it all. There are some restaurants a short walk away an the hotel rents out bikes.
My dad unfortunately was sick on his visit and they took extra care of him, giving him tea and giving him a late check out of 5pm (for a night flight) so he could stay in the heated room free of charge! They even allowed my boyfriend and I do the same a few days later so we could shower etc.
The hotel was peaceful and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great stay and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was great experience! Rooms are big and clean and fantastic view! Hotel manage very nice couple! They are very helpful and taking care! You can rent bike there. Taxi takes 5-7 min to center. Best place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.1 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
7.3 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
5.4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#5 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 434 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#10 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Dragon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dragon Villa

Property: Hidden Dragon Villa
Address: Ji Wo Du Village, Big Banyan Tree Scenery Zone, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#12 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dragon Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
elegant Yangshuo hotel with Beautiful Legend, Perfect Location, Elegant Architecture in the style of Ming and Qing Dynasties and Great Roof Garden Dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hidden Dragon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dragon Villa Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing