We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 450 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming and Quiet”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Had we known how beautiful this place was we would have spent 1 night in Guilin and extra time here.

The mountain retreat is a calm oasis. From the minute you walk through the grounds you hear silence which is difficult to find in China.

The staff were lovely, they made us feel very welcome and sat us down to a welcome orange juice and cookies before we even checked in.

After 3.5 weeks of local cuisine (with the odd western meal) their cheeseburger was very welcome for lunch and really tasty. Also recommend the spring rolls. After check in we did nothing but sit around, read, enjoy the view and listen to the river meandering along. Enjoyed breakfast both mornings. Cheese and mushroom omelettes were really nice. French toast and fruit. Also really good coffee. For dinner I had Wiener schnitzel day 1 and Lemon Chicken day 2. After I finished I regretted not ordering the Chicken day 1 and then again day 2 it was that good.

They also make a great Gin and Tonic!

If you're Western be prepared to be waved at and occasionally photographed from the passing bamboo rafts. This is all part of the charm though.

I would highly recommend the Mountain Retreat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 77JAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    223
    43
    14
    1
See reviews for
339
442
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I thought I should book a room in the town of Yangshuo for a night or two while visiting Guangxi province but I am SOOO glad that I didn't. Instead we stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat for all 4 nights in Yangshuo. This hotel is in a drop-dead gorgeous setting on the Yulong River with lovely accommodations, terrific staff, and a great menu. We had room 101, just 2 doors down from the main lobby. It was quiet, we had a patio and a view of the river from our bed and we were never bothered by noise. The staff got us tickets and arranged a car to take us to the Sanjie Liu show and also a bamboo ride on the Yulong River. We also walked to the sister retreat to enjoy a meal at the Luna Cafe and climb Moon Hill - definitely worth the view. The walk was a highlight of our trip but we got lost on the way back to the retreat and had to eventually go back to the Luna cafe to ask for a ride - a bit embarrassed but not surprising given the map provided. (It was a blast and we would do it again!) On our last day we wanted to visit the rice terraces. The staff were excellent - they arranged a pickup at 5:30 am, had a breakfast made for us for the ride, we got to the terraces early, and then to the airport in Guilin with time to spare. I know they accept children here but I don't recommend bringing young children because it seems like more of a place for people to 'get away' and relax in the serenity of the place. That being said, my 17 year old really appreciated being here, taking long walks, rafting, reading, and simply relishing in the moment and the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We had room 101 that has a queen (king?) and a separate room with a bunk bed (double on the bottom/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has a beautiful situation on the Yulong River, surrounded by the dramatic karst scenery of the area. Our room, furnished in bamboo, was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the river. Note that the area, including the Li River cruise, is often covered in mist in spring and early summer. This looks atmospheric, but does prevent the most spectacular views.

We had a comfortable double bed and the bathroom had a good shower. The wifi was easy to access. The whole area was quiet at night, but there was some traffic noise during the day from the local road just behind our room.

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. One or two reception staff were a little unhelpful over simple matters like providing tissues (we both had colds). And this was the only hotel we stayed that didn’t supply bottled water; you have to fill metal flasks (provided by the hotel) from a big bottle in reception.

The hotel organised full body oil massages for us. These were done in our room and were very good. Cost 260 Yuan (26GBP) for the two of us.

Breakfast and dinner were all good; we had some excellent Chinese dishes for dinner, though breakfast was basically only Western.

It is 15 minutes by car into Yangshuo. The hotel provides a free taxi twice a day, but not at the most convenient times; otherwise it is a 40 Yuan (4 GBP) taxi ride each way. There are a few local walks, but they all seem to involve, to some extent, walking on heavily trafficked roads with no pavements (sidewalks).

The Liu Sanjie light show in the town is amazing and a definite must-see for anyone staying in Yangshuo. The hotel will book the show and arrange transport.

Overall, this is a simple guesthouse in a spectacular location serving good food. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat in April and enjoyed it immensely. Pickup from the airport was arranged and the van took us right to the retreat - time is about 70 minutes, mostly on paved highway. We had pre-paid through arrangements made via email with Little Fish and when we arrived we were handed our keys and the room was ready right away.

For the first two nights we stayed in the older section where the restaurant is - and it was quite nice - bed was comfortable (on the hard side), great balcony with seating for two and a beautiful view, smallish bathroom but perfectly serviceable. The last night we moved - because of prior bookings from another party - to the new section. I would definitely recommend this as the rooms are nicer - more modern. Beautiful pine floors, bigger bathroom.

All arrangements were made through the hotel and very easy. We did the river raft (very mellow but fun!), Tai Chi, and a hike. My wife also arranged a bike tour for the last day in town. The hotel also arranged for in room massage - very easy, cheap and good - 100RMB for an hour!

Food at the restaurant was quite good and very reasonably priced. For every meal we had the sautéed broccoli and the string beans with pork - very tasty. Breakfast was terrific - both western and eastern available.

Don't expect a luxurious resort here. This is more like a mountain lodge in the Adirondacks. You will enjoy your stay here - great place to relax, unwind and take in the beautiful scenery. English is good as well from the staff.

I would not hesitate to recommend Yangshuo Mountain Retreat!

Room Tip: Stay in the new section and get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in April for three nights, just before beginning our adoption adventure all over China. It was THE perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still feel all the comforts of home. For first time travelers to China looking for something "remote" but not "on the edge" ... the Mountain Retreat is a wonderful balance. The staff is world-class friendly, especially Little Fish (with excellent English spoken all around). The grounds are impeccable. The view is breathtaking. The rooms are uniquely quant (not "upscale" by American standards, but very clean). And the food is pretty good too (nothing exceptional, but a wide variety of choices at a good price and it all felt "safe"). Plus, we loved the eco-friendly approach to the property. The only heads up I'd give is for folks looking for a room that's isolated from other people, the style of this hotel doesn't allow for that, as all rooms are right next to and on top of each other, and it's a fairly small place so you see from your balcony everything below. But that's just China; it's packed everywhere, and again... being "home" at the retreat felt comfortable unlike anything else we experienced in our two weeks in country, even at five-star hotels. Raving review over... do yourself a favor and book a stay. It's memorable for a lifetime!

Room Tip: Make sure to clarify in your booking whether it's a terrace (first floor) or balcony room (secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KtotheB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the family room with a balcony viewing the river and mountains. Staff very helpful and aimed to please. Huge bonus that they all spoke English very well! Recommend fan painting in a near by town that the staff arranged for us. Easy to set up a hike to moon hill with a guide for an amazing price! Restaurant at the retreat had good food and good service. Definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I loved everything this hotel is about. Environmentally conscience and well-trained staff. If you are going in expecting a five star hotel that is not what you are going to get, but if you are looking for a warm, inviting, and mental retreat this is exactly the place to stay. The staff is so friendly and speaks excellent English. The breakfast was awesome and we enjoyed dinner one evening and it was fantastic. Imagine an upscale cabin with an amazing view. Bikes are available to rent and you should take a trip through the surrounding area. They even gave us a gift at the end of our stay. I cannot speak more highly of this hotel because I think their attention to detail is amazing and they are really thinking about the experience people are going to have at their establishment. I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
3.8 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#6 of 450 in Yangshuo County
454 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 450 in Yangshuo County
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 450 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#5 of 450 in Yangshuo County
240 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 450 in Yangshuo County
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 450 in Yangshuo County
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Property: Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#4 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing