We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River View Inn
Ranked #22 of 434 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

After spending two nights somewhere a little out of town it was good to stay somewhere much more convenient. The location is great, alongside the river as the name suggests and just around the corner from all the hustle and bustle of the town. The staff where very helpful and spoke very good english. We also hired bikes from the hotel to explore a bit of the surrounding countryside at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungSnooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    147
    46
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
130
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is in an ideal position when staying in Yangshuo. It is directly opposite the river and close the the shopping area of West Street. The hotel is a little tired. I must say that it one of the few hotels that we stayed in during our trip to China that had "soft Western style beds". The morning breakfast were adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here two nights. Room was underwhelming. Front door got stuck on the ground, bed seemed to have permanent soft spot (or broken spring), and there was no separate space for the shower in the bathroom.

That being said, I did book the cheapest room - so your mileage may vary. Some of the other rooms appeared to be nicer in the other reviews.

Location was very good. Hotel is just off west street, so you're literally steps away from the hustle and bustle but far enough to avoid the noise. Staff was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

After having read the great reviews here and going to the Riverview after staying in a 5-star hotel in Guilin, the room came as quite a shock. No doubt one gets what one pays for but it didn't appear that well maintained or clean. Perhaps it was our luck but our bathroom was rather dimly lit and damp. The shower curtain was a bit moldy and there gaps around the bathtub. It looked scary under the basin / vanity top. Worst of all, both our toilets got blocked once during our 3 day stay.The list goes on......damp patch on bedroom wall, mosquitoes, lights and in-room telephones that didn't work......

The positives include the good location and great views when you are outside by the river. (There were many interesting activities going on and my pics try to show that and the surroundings). The reception staff spoke English and it was easy and convenient booking tours and activities. They gave a discount for the Liu San Jie sound and light show and we also arranged a guided cycling tour to Liugong ancient village with them which was the highlight of our stay. Had the "super breakfast" there one morning - it was good and very reasonably priced. Slept well too, surprisingly.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a riverside room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malaysiantraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located across the street from the riverfront promenade and a couple blocks away from the bustle of West Street, this hotel is quiet and convenient. Even the cheap rooms in the back have views of the limestone pinnacles that tower over the town. The front rooms on the upper floors are very nice and overlook the river through leafy trees. The staff speaks good English and the restaurant offers one of the most comprehensive Chinese menus in town. Great food, excellent prices. Try the Guilin style steamed bun for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a really pleasant stay in River View Hotel. Yangshuo is quite a small city but I really liked the location! Very charming place with a very nice balcony just in front of the Li River. Next to the hotel there is a small local market where you can buy souvenirs and stuff and it is also 5 min walk to animated streets with bars and restaurants. It is though a calm place to sleep!
I stayed there 3 days and they helped me organize the visits I wanted to do with the time I had (if you want to fully enjoy the city, the area you should stay more). Also, I recommend you to do bamboo raft on Yulong River, it is gorgeous (better than the Li River I think)! Otherwise the staff is really nice and helpful especially Angela who is such a wonderful person and she can speak a perfect english! We had a chance to do a day trip with her and it was one of the best day of our week of vacation over China. I highly recommend this place and hope you will have the same experience as we had! Anaïs

Room Tip: I took a room in front of the Li River with a balcony and I was really satisfied. There is a good w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Its located i a very nice place, a 15 minute walk from "west street" and belive me you do not want stay close the that loud street .

The food at the place is great!! It serves nice breakfast and yami dumplings

There is also a very big Manu for vegetarians .
You can also book all kinds of trips to the area and rent e-bike/bikes.

We stayed in a standard double room ( not the big one with a river view) and it was not very big but dissent and clean.

The staff is very helpful and speak english

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.5 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#14 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#24 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#16 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Morning Sun Hotel
Morning Sun Hotel
#25 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucy's Hotel
Lucy's Hotel
#15 of 434 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Inn

Property: River View Inn
Address: No.25 Binjiang Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has a prime location, only meters from the Li River. Some English speaking staff who could not have been more helpful. Superior service from all concerned.The usual tourist type shops are only 5 minutes away. This is the place seen on TV where cormorants dive for fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ctrip TA so you can book your River View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel River View
River View Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing