We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay”
Review of The Giggling Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Giggling Tree
Ranked #2 of 451 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Truly a highlight of our trip to China. The Giggling Tree provided us with a warm and friendly atmosphere amidst an exhilarating view. As others have mentioned, the food was excellent.
The staff was very knowledgeable and always willing to assist in any way possible. It was a pleasure to get to know them, and we would like to thank all of them for adding so much to our visit to unique location. Special thanks to Mark and Paula, Katy, Jenny, Lucy and Sailing who took such good care of us.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karst D, Manager at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guests,

We highly appreciate your beautiful comments and are very happy you enjoyed it so much. We passed your regards on to our staff and they had smiles from ear to ear!!! Please be welcome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

In between the busy cities of Beijing and Shanghai this wonderfull place was oasis of rest and comfort. Excellent hospitality, great food en a fantastic service made it already superb and the beautifull landscape made it perfect. Clean and large rooms, a wonderfull yard to relax, a nice pool. The possibility to do cycling tours, walking tours and river experiences. It was all there.
The next level of feeling as a welcome guest, is feeling at home! This is the Giggling Tree!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Giggling Tree, the location is so scenic and the atmosphere very relaxing and welcoming. The food at the hostel was fantastic, and available from early morning til evening. It is family friendly, we stayed with our young son and there was plenty of nature for him to play around in, as well as the pool. There was a massive storm while we were there and electricity was intermittent; it didn't impact greatly on our stay, the main issue was not having air con to dry out the room due to high humidity (a fan was offered). Staff were helpful and tried to fix problems as they came up. If you stay here you don't need a guide. The staff were very informative about the local area and can book you tickets (e.g. light show, cooking course, river cruises) or provide discount vouchers for different activities in the area. The location is ideal for cycling, a variety of bikes are available, all in good condition. Although we had mosquito nets over our beds, it would have been helpful to have gauze on all windows (just the bathroom had gauze and not the main room). I would recommend friends stay here, definitely great value for money.

Room Tip: Downstairs room good with toddler - staircase not ideal with young ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandaorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have a fantastic trip to china and stayed also for 6 days at the Giggling Tree. It feels like coming home. The people over there are very helpfull and attentive, even when we had to visit a hospital. They are kind and always in for a little talk. They can help you to arrange some nice trips, you can rent a bike or go by taxi to Yangshuo. There is a lot of information at the reception like maps. The food is good, the room is comfortable and big enough. We have also used the swimmingpool! Our daughters liked it a lot! The new lounge and relax garden is also very nice and relaxed! It's a nice view on the mountains and see all the traffic coming by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEIY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karst D, Owner at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear guests,

It was a pleasure having you staying with us. Thank you for posting those beautiful pictures.
Always welcome again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been visiting The Giggling Tree in Yangshuo and the beautiful area around there this May. We loved the area because we were coming from Beijing with a lot of trafic, bad air and noice and found the contrast we wanted. Nature, fresh air, bikeing, hikeing, rafting... The Gold Cave with it's mud bath and the hot spring... and a lot of rain too, what we always miss in Beijing. The team is wonderful, always helpful and warm hearted. We found perfect food and we highly recommend the Giggling Tree cake with chocolate and cookies inside with some "lecker" Ice-cream. We enjoyed the fresh water swimming pool, what you will not always find in China and swimming, the unique scenery around. The room is fine, the mattress was absolut perfect for us, not to soft. We would always choose The Giggling Tree again, fabulous location if you like to find a place surrounded by nature. :))

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigglingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karst D, Owner at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for this beautiful words.
Our team is pleased to hear you enjoyed it greatly.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The moment we arrived in the giggling tree with its splendid views and courtyard, we felt as if we arrived in paradise!
The couple in charge and the staff is very friendly and above all very helpful! Not only for organising trips but also helping out with some personal problems that we faced, like needing to go to a hospital and with our next accommodation.
The food was great and the rooms comfortable
We really recommend this place when visiting the mountains in Yangshuo area!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karst D, Owner at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Our staff was very pleased to be able to help out. And they highly appreciate your appreciation!!!
Please be welcome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We reached very late at Giggling tree and could barely make out the location (there was a thunderstorm brewing and we could only make out the karst silhouettes in the lightning).

It was clear the next day however that this place had a fabulous location, among the best in the area, and we were very happy we chose to stay here.

I would give this a 4.5 if possible - 0.5 docking because we wanted authentic Chinese food nearby but because of the location that was not possible. The restaurant has good food but more oriented towards European food, which is understandable as the owners are Dutch and a lot of the people who stay here are from Europe.

The owners are rely friendly and helpful and make sure that you have everything you need in terms of information around the area. Good maps/tips/takeaway directions are available at the reception and all the staff are attentive and helpful too.
You can see that the owners have put their heart into this place and it really makes a difference.

The bicycles for rent are in top condition and worth the Y20 per day - they are cleaned every day at the end of the day.

The room we had on the first floor was very spacious and comfortable. Happy with the bathroom too.

With such a great location, it's was easy to do bike trips to Dragon Bridge or Moon hill or just wander around the nearby areas.

Recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaitdesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karst D, Owner at The Giggling Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.
As for the authentic Chinese food I can tell you though that there are several farmer restaurants around and a bit further away you can find more Chinese food as well.

Hope to meet again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
2 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 487 in Yangshuo County
1,138 reviews
1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 487 in Yangshuo County
629 reviews
2.4 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 487 in Yangshuo County
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 487 in Yangshuo County
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 487 in Yangshuo County
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 487 in Yangshuo County
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giggling Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giggling Tree

Address: Mainstreet Aishanmen village, 5 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: £30 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tiny village Aishanmen, close to the scenic Yulong river only 5 km west from tourist hotspot Yangshuo, we renovated traditional yellow brick farmer houses into a beautiful inn. The courtyard is breathtaking. Our atmospheric restaurant and terrace with scenic views give travelers the chance to breathe fresh air again. In April 2013 we have opened our outdoor swimmingpool. Why stay in the city, when the countryside is so amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Giggling Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giggling Tree Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing