We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Miao Village
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
21
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews festival miao hairstyle village guizhou
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

The trip from Kaili to Miao Village took about one hour through windy mountain road. RMB30 each on a shared taxi. Entrance fee is RMB120 and senior above 60 yrs old half price. This include the ride from entrance to village n a ride to the view platform of whole village. Miao Village had been opened to tourism in 2008 and thus very touristic. Lots of construction of new buildings going on. No hotels here. Only guest houses priced from RMB120-300+. We stayed at Ah Wang GH for RMB120. Very basic but clean and friendly n helpful owner. Night performance of Miao cultural dance and songs at 2030hr. Priced at RMB168, 128, n 98. Miao Village worth a two days visit.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Unseonsinable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We visited Qingman Miao Village on the way to Guiyang. We were so overwhelmed by the locals' warm hospitality and got drunk at the welcoming ceremony! The food was great, too! Happy (and drunk) memories!

Date of experience: December 2014
3  Thank PeggieFearless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This seems to be a catch-all for all Miao villages around Kaili so I will discuss the 2 that we visited.
On the first day we took a bus to Xijiang. It is probably the most popular and biggest one. It was somewhat of a disappointment due to the over development and commercialization of the place. Very much like Lijiang in Yunnan. New paved streets and shops everywhere. To see anything interesting you need to try and find the narrow streets in the back. We also escaped the crowds by climbing the rice terraces. I'd give this one 3 dots.
On the next day we went to Langde. The bus dropped us right in the heart of the very small village. This was much better with a few local selling handicrafts but no shops. Very rare places to stay and no real restaurant. You basically eat in someone's home. Some locals also rent rooms. Very well preserved and natural. You can then go hiking along the reserve. This place definitely deserves 5 dots. We spend the rest of out stay in Guizhou looking for this kind of places. It also had no entry fee unlike the high entry fee at Xijiang.

Date of experience: April 2014
13  Thank JPDM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved the view of the Miao dwelling on the hill and the unique building style. The food was very tasty and spicy. The people were extremely friendly and warm. The local customs means we drank more home made rice wine than we could manage! If the RMB100 entry fee could help the Miao people stay in the village farming the land and looking after the tourists, then more people should go. However, I also fear the tourists will eventually kill the authentic Miao village atmosphere and life style....

Date of experience: October 2013
2  Thank Martian172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We went to Shidong to see the Sisters'meal festival: kind of St Valentine.

The festival was amazing. Thousands of girls and women go down from the villages to sing and dance wezring traditional costumes.

A must do!!!

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank snaessens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews