We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tianhua (Flower Dance) Festival”
Review of Miao Village

Miao Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$190.00*
and up
2-Day Private Guizhou Kaili Ethnic Minority...
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Kaili
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 April 2018

The Tiaohua or Flower Dance Festival, is celebrated by the Miao people in Gaoxing village in Guizhou. The most distinguishing feature besides the colorful costumes and accessories are the horned-shaped hairstyles of the women, supported by two 60cm long combs, one on each side with their “hairs” wound in coils around them. A festival where boy meets girl, a marriage proposal follows suit after their parents’ blessings.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank allansakhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"festival"
in 3 reviews
"miao"
in 13 reviews
"hairstyle"
in 2 reviews
"village"
in 15 reviews
"guizhou"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

I enjoyed our brief visit tothe village. Good selection of local handicrafts availalbe and interesting architecture. We were rushed through to maintain schedule for the tour, but it is worth a half day to wander around the shopd and see the village.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

I cannot remember the name of the village, as we went to several of them. We visited a mother and daughter, wearing traditional Miao dress, who showed us their home and provided us with lunch cooked by themselves. The lunch was very tasty, with soup, vegetables, different kinds of meat and rice. They showed us their very old loom, still used for making cloth to sell. The house was very much in the old style, but was relatively new. In the village, there was a brand new, low-rise apartment block, maybe 8 to 10 units, not in the style of the rest of the village, next to a school. We were told by one of the locals that this was built to entice teachers to their village, most of whom wanted modern conveniences, new toilets, full kitchens, etc. Graduating teachers generally prefer to teach in the big cities, so sometimes incentives are a must!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The Miao is an ethnic group recognized by the government of China as one of the 55 official minority groups.
Most Miao reside in hills or on mountains, such as
Wuling Mountain by the Qianxiang River
Miao Mountain , Qiandongnan
Yueliang Mountain , Qiandongnan
Greater and Lesser Ma Mountain , Qiannan
Greater Miao Mountain , Guangxi
This place is a must visit if one visit Guiyang .

People are humble.Learn Chinese before you visit this part of China

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Saptadeep R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

My wife and I had thoroughly enjoyed our visit to just one of many Miao Villages in the KaiLi China area. The specific village that we had visited is the Qingman Miao Village near the city of Guiyang. Some of the Miao village people gave us the traditional Miao welcome - rice wine before entering the village, Great!

We had the opportunity to have lunch in one of the Miao villager's home that was simply delicious! The village itself is surrounded by farm area where the residents grow fresh vegetables for themselves and to market. The surrounding area is very picturesque with the green hills, farms, and buildings. Very nice area to visit.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miao Village also viewed

 

Been to Miao Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing