We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than Satisfactory” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Dragon Hotel (Teng Long Kai Yue)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaili
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Dragon Hotel (Teng Long Kai Yue)
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Kaili
Haslemere
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“More Than Satisfactory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel is also called the Heaven-sent Dragon Hotel - it says so on their headed writing paper. It is a really good hotel and you will be more than happy with your stay here. It is in a central location and a couple of minutes from the square where you are provided with free entertainment every night and morning! At night especially, hundreds of people gather to take part in free Chinese line dancing (2 varieties) and ballroom dancing. You are more than welcome to join in. It has a real community atmosphere. Listening to three lots of music belting out at the same time is incredible on its own! Anyway back to the hotel! The food we had was excellent both in the evening and for breakfast. The staff were all extremely polite and friendly and always spoke to you in the lifts and public palces. the hotel itself was spotless although as i found in most Chinese hotels, the carpets were looking rather tired. There was not only free internet available in the bedrooms but also your own computer! The bathroom was good but did have a little black mould on the grouting - nothing serious and nothing out of the ordinary for hotels generally in my experience. There are western toilets, a definate plus feature in my wife's opinion. Finally, every evening there were two cartons of fresh milk delivered to the room in a small basket together with a small card on which was the next day's weather forecast. You won't be disappointed if you stop here. It is a very safe bet and I would go back there like a shot. I have stopped there twice now and both times were just as good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bracken3Haslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Nice, standard, clean hotel. Character less but there arent other choices in Kaili. Chinese breakfast was decent and free wi fi and computer in the room to use!

There is a beautiful boutique hotel in nearby (45min drive) Xijiang (the beautiful Miao minority village that is a must see) called "Hotel in the Clouds"- see photos here http://www.xcar.com.cn/bbs/viewthread.php?tid=12163203&page=4
but I have no idea how to get in touch with them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maokelan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

A little difficult to rate this hotel. For the previous week we had been staying in small villages with shower and squat toilet combined in a small cubicle and a hard wooden bed. Therefore, when seeing the Grand Dragon for the first time you think it is luxury - a bathroom with white towels and soft beds! However, by the next day you get to see beneath the surface and while still ok, it's basically just an average Chinese Hotel.

The room comes with TV with one English channel - CTV9, a computer with quite fast internet, and a kettle with some coffee and tea. No fridge though. Breakfast was included but isn't great. There is toast, and bacon and eggs - but they were a little cold. Also the coffee was cold - if it stands on the heater long enough it might get hot.

There is an English menu in the restaurant,and food there for lunch / dinner is quite good and reasonably priced, although the Chinese menu has more choices. Opposite the hotel are a couple of places - we went to the yellow coloured one and had some quite good food.

The staff at the hotel did not make much effort to communicate to me in English, instead using Chinese to talk to my partner. Rate was ok when booked through elong compared to the official room rate.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

Kaili is an amazing place to visit, and the Grand Dragon is currently your best choice for lodging in this city. The Grand Dragon rates about two-and-a-half stars from a western mindset. The hotel itself is rather old, but the staff works hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I usually found at least one person on duty who could speak English well enough to carry out whatever I needed to do.
They offer a sort-of western-style breakfast to guests, and have outstanding Guizhou-style cuisine for main meals. During my last visit, I spotted a few roaches around the buffet, but no more than expected considering the age of the hotel.
Located about 1kM from the city center, you're bound to see and hear things that can only be described as surreal if you've never been here before. The first morning, I woke to the sound of Disney's "It's a Small World" being played from a truck hosing-down the streets and gutters. Later I looked out my window to see a water buffalo being guided across the street at a crosswalk.
I highly recommend Kaili as a destination, and of the two hotels in town, recommend the Grand Dragon as the superior accomodations.


  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank potterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaili hotels
0.0 mi away
Zongheng Hotel
Zongheng Hotel
#3 of 105 in Kaili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Mill Hotel
New Mill Hotel
#31 of 105 in Kaili
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaili Longdu Jingyi International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Baijia Hotel
Baijia Hotel
#52 of 105 in Kaili
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Haolaiwu Hotel
#41 of 105 in Kaili
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dragon Hotel (Teng Long Kai Yue)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dragon Hotel (Teng Long Kai Yue)

Property: Grand Dragon Hotel (Teng Long Kai Yue)
Address: No.8 Ningbo East Road, Kaili 556000, China
Region: China > Guizhou > Kaili
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Kaili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing