We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable basic hotel”
Review of Jingcheng Hotel

Jingcheng Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jingcheng Hotel
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Chengde
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was here for one night as part of a tour of Chengde. The basic were all there. A clean comfortable bed and bathroom. A basic but adequate western breakfast. I did not eat in the restaurant. The lobby area is vast and cold as the heating was not on despite the weather outside. The staff tried to help but had virtually no knowledge of English. No it does not compare with the luxurious hotels in Beijing and elsewhere in China. But Chengde is an industrial/commercial town and is not a major tourist attraction for foreigners. The hotel looked better than others in the city. If you come with expectations of luxurious treatment you will be disappointed but you will not be if your sights are lowered. Chengde itself was fascinating with really interesting sights . In October it was not busy and not too cold.. Well worth the trip from Beijing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

From the outside and the main foyer this hotel looks great. . . . . . Even the size of the rooms isn't that bad . . . . .That is where the good part ends. Our room was an end room, so we had ample space. We had twin beds, and after being in Beijing, we not surprised to find them like sleeping on rock. Once again, you cannot drink or even use the tap water for anything! We had bottled water to use and had taken instant coffee along from home, so we could enjoy a good cup of coffee. Our whole group was thankful for the instant coffee when the next morning, after watching them try to make coffee, we saw the syrup that they produced. We simply got boiling water and everyone made a cup of instant. The carpets in the room are a disaster, so be sure to wear slippers while you are in the room. One good tip is to always keep your suitcase up on something and to not leave it on the floor of a hotel room. This would be such a place. Breakfast was a disaster - not something you could enjoy at all. We had taken some granola bars from home (another good tip for travel abroad) and were thankful as this was our backup breakfast. We arrived to this hotel late in the evening, and were looking for a good cold beverage - we were told there was a bar on the 4th floor. When we arrived, we found the only thing worth purchasing (prices very high on hard liquor) was the luke warm beer. (We found in our travels that about the only liquor worth drinking in China is their beer - anything else doesn't tast right or just plain awful.) After a glass and a good laugh, we headed to bed. We headed out early the next morning, so were quite thankful that we only had to endure one night in this hotel. Truly the best part was that they had free wifi - well only if you were quick to get logged on :-) If visiting Chengde in late March - wear winter jackets and mitts as it is a colder region.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katey2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 12 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 19 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 24 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 21 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chengde hotels
0.0 mi away
Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Si Hai International Hotel
Si Hai International Hotel
#84 of 202 in Chengde
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chengde City Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sailawei Hotel
Sailawei Hotel
#69 of 202 in Chengde
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Chengde Railway Station
0.0 mi away
Yunshe Inn
Yunshe Inn
#5 of 43 in Chengde
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jingcheng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jingcheng Hotel

Address: No.12 Banbishan Road, Shuangqiao District, Chengde 067000, China
Region: China > Hebei > Chengde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 202 Hotels in Chengde
Price Range: £35 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jingcheng Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Jingcheng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing