We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep on driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“keep on driving”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was the worst Holiday Inn Express stay my family has ever
had. The room (especially the bathroom) was in need of an upgrade and the
bathroom was filthy. Not sure the bathtub had ever been touched with Comet. Room had a musty smell. The elevator was extremely slow and would not open unless you pushed the
button when it got to your floor. To top it all off, when we got back to
our room the 2nd night of our stay, the room had not been cleaned by the
maids so we did not have fresh sheets or towels and had to go to the front
desk to get more towels. Despite being a big fan of HIE in the past, this
may have been my last stay EVER in a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Bring your cleaning supplies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear S G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
30
7
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Booneville, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived to check into our suite after paying and we got to our room to find it was a regular SMALL room,we went to ask the receptionist if there was a mistake,by the way she was a very rude receptionist from the start she acted like she hated to be there,but we were informed we just requested a suite didn't nessisarily mean we would get it they couldn't kick them out I said I understood but she could have told us before just assuming that anything would be fine and charging us full price like we wouldn't notice ,but our card was charged 350.00,the pool was small the water was cold,and the air did not work in our room I would suggest that no one stay at this motel,this was the worse expirience I have ever had at a hotel,they have not tried to make anything right!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Jodie P,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bessemer hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

fairly clean but carpet had faint musty odor. Nice HD TV. Suite did not have separate area for the hideaway like Country Inn. Decent room service and breakfast had bacon..nice touch. Plenty of hotels at this exit so I'll try another brand next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YELLOWJASMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear YELLOWJASMINE,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found the breakfast served to be adequate for your needs. Kindly be assured that your additional comments have been noted and will be used to consider further enhancements needed at our facility.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stated in a Holiday Inn Express in Bessemer Alabama and the experience was terrible. I arrived at the hotel a little bit after 6pm. I checked in and paid for the rooms in cash when I arrived. I got my keys and went to my room, only to find that the bathroom was dirty and not cleaned. I got another room for the night. Then when I got to the pool with my children the pool was cold where my children could not get in. I talked to the front desk clerk about the pool and it was stated that the maintenance man would be in, in the morning to look at the pool. The next morning I called about the pool and it was stated to me that the maintenance man had looked at it and everything was fine. i got down to the pool and it was still cold. Then when I got home, I found out that my card had been charged after paying in cash for the room. I called and the lady told me that they authorize all the cards at 6pm of the arrival which was never mentioned to me. I will never go back to that Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Anne W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the condition of the hotel amenities, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessie, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I used the hotel's meeting room for an all-day seminar. The room, and the hotel, were both beautiful, clean, well furnished and maintained, and modern in their colors and furnishings. I was surprised when the manager came into the room after my meeting to take measurements--they were planning to remodel and upgrade to granite counter tops and comparable finishes! I thought everything was perfect as it was! It shows ownership and management dedication to continual improvements to meet their customers needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was large, with a huge screen. The acoustics and lighting were excellent. I was thrilled to discover this hotel, and plan to have all my local seminars at this there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn, and were very satisfied!! Room ( king room) was spacious and very clean. Lobby and breakfast area were clean and updated. Breakfast was great!! Large selection of food!! They even had french toast!! This hotel Does have smoking rooms ( another plus for us), so room did smell like smoke. Windows do not open (and even tho' we smoke, we do like to open windows to help clear smoke out of room). Was told that they were doing some remodeling, so maybe fixing the windows where they will open ( at least 3 or 4 inches) may help to reduce the smoke smell. Beds were a little soft, but not real uncomfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and we will stay there again if we are in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel because of the location and that it was fairly new. Be warned the rooms are small and bathrooms are nothing special. I was surprised as I have stayed at other hie before and expected more for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwf7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Bessemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer
Address: 5001 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-5250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic in the Magic City and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer, AL. This elegantly decorated hotel provides a modern fresh clean and upscale atmosphere. Our 63 room hotel features high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, meeting room, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, free local calls, free USA Today newspaper, and a complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast featuring our world famous cinnamon roll and Smart Roast coffees.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-20/59 at exit 108. You will find we are convenient to many local companies and attractions such as Alabama Adventure. Companies include Mercedes Benz, UAB Medical West, Harcross Chemicals and Bessemer Water Works. Also convenient to the hotel are several restaurant choices, they include Cracker Barrel, Ruby Tuesday, Applebee s, and many fast food selections. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bessemer
Holiday Inn Bessemer
Bessemer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing