We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Greek dishes at this Greek restaurant!”

Bright Star Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 94 Restaurants in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$25
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bright Star has a long history of serving good food in the Birmingham/Bessemer, but our recent visit was a disappointment. It advertises that Greek is served, but Greek salads were the only thing Greek on the
Menu. I asked our waitress if they had spanakopita and she said she didn’t know what I was talking about. I got a salad advertised as having shrimp and raw oysters and was disappointed that there were only THREE of each! This was a Sunday noon meal and I don’t know if they have traditional Greek dishes at other times. I would hope so. Setting was comfortable, decor included some historical information. Easy to find.

Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia C, Owner at Bright Star Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Drmomma,
We're sorry to hear your disappointment. The Bright Star is better described as Southern with Greek Flair! We certainly have some delicious Greek style dishes, but not the traditional Greek food. We apologize for your disappointment and hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch on Father’s Day at the Bright Star and it was wonderful, seated quickly, the food was outstanding, and the staff was very friendly and helpful..the service was very prompt. It was a great meal.if anyone is in the are of The Bright Star you need to stop and enjoy this wonderful food and atmosphere.

Thank Paula2221956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia C, Owner at Bright Star Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Paula,
Thank you for joining us for Father's Day! It's terrific to hear that our food was outstanding and our staff was friendly and attentive. Thank you for your terrific comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The restaurant is historic and interesting to see inside. Lots of beautiful wood paneling, wood trim, and painted murals. Celebrities have eaten here, especially U of Alabama football greats. Could use a few more local craft beers on the menu. Salads are fantastic. Red snapper was a bit dry. Service was prompt and attentive. Prices were on the high side relative to Ohio restaurants.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seepalebluedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia C, Owner at Bright Star Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi Seepalebluedot,
Thank you for visiting and your kind words. We're glad to hear that our salads were fantastic and our interior was great for you, but disappointed to hear our red snapper wasn't the best. Our staff is always ready to take the best care of our guests and we're glad to hear that they took great care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

I filled up on bread instead of my seafood platter($28.95 not $21.95). Butter individually wrapped in a bowl. Baked potato in aluminum. Their prices are $7 higher on their menu then what it says online. And I have no idea how they get away with these prices and stay in business(people actually pay this). I felt like I ate at a long John Silvers. Please don’t waste your money at this place. My server was very friendly and my makers Mark on the rocks was well priced($7.50), but those are the only positives from this place. The food is awful. I hope this helps

Thank Tecobb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia C, Owner at Bright Star Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hello Tecobb,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.We apologize that we had an old menu on the site that you had visited. We certainly take responsibility for that error, and wanted to let you know that our website always has the most up to date menu. We have went through and double checked our review sites as well to ensure that our menus are correct online.
We’re sorry to hear that your meal with us wasn’t as delicious as it should have been. We assure you that our dishes are prepared with only the freshest ingredients, with all of our seafood coming directly from the Gulf of Mexico and being hand cut on the premises. Our seafood platter is one of our most loved dishes and it is typically raved about from our guests. We would have been more than happy to replace your meal if we had known about your disappointment as we always want our guests to have the best experience with us. We would like to get more information about your visit. Please contact us at info@thebrightstar.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Although it is a bit of a trip for us, we try to make it to the Bright Star several times a year. Some things remain the same, great friendly greetings from the Koikos family, a great wait staff, etc. But something has changed in the kitchen, particularly with the fried seafood dishes. They seem overly battered on our last two visits, almost to the point where there is no taste to the fish, or shrimp, and thus do not look very appetizing on the plate when delivered. We still love the Greek snapper specialty and the Sampler plate was fabulous, but doubt we will make the trip back out there just for the fried shrimp and snapper throats like we used to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia C, Owner at Bright Star Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Hi Mjnmb,
We're happy to hear that you would make the trip in and enjoyed our specialties. It's great that our friend service is always terrific for you, but it's disappointing to hear that our dishes don't have the same flair for you. We are always happy to replace a dish if our guest isn't satisfied with it and we wish we would have had the opportunity to make your last trip in better for you. We hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bright Star Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bright Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing