We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting family in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Visiting family in Birmingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed two nights at the hotel. This is a very nice facility. Rooms are clean and close to restaurants and stores. Easy access to highway. Breakfast was a little boring, but satisfied our need. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Anna S,

Thanks for staying with us here at the Best Western Plus Bessemer. Our guests do have extremely easy access to many different restaurants near the property. I am glad that you gave our breakfast a try. We try and change our breakfast offerings from time to time. So next time you are in the area, drop by and see in the changes are to your liking.

Thanks again for staying with us and giving us a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Best Western Plus Bessemer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    71
    11
    18
    6
See reviews for
138
53
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

clean, courteous, great value. we were stuck when our vehicle broke down, and this property was one of our choices. it was a very good one. breakfast is hot and there is plenty of it. you can stay here with confidence that you will be glad that you did. and there are plenty of restaurants right around the hotel proerty

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Ralph S,

Thank you for taking the time out and reviewing our property. We are glad that you decided to stay with us, during your unfortunate circumstances. However, I am glad to see that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again next time your in town.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My friends and I were traveling through Birmingham on the way back from New Orleans, and weren't looking to be too close to the city, but somewhere close to the highway and a nice area, as well as trying to see the best we could get for our budget. This ended up being great. The outside was really cute with a nice pond with fish in it, and in a nice area surrounded by other hotels and restaurants. The rooms were definitely upgraded from the Best Western we had stayed at previously with small touches like granite and bathroom updates, but things we definitely noticed. The staff was very welcoming with us and their wi-fi worked great. The breakfast room was absolutely beautiful in the morning, and in any other circumstance breakfast would have been over kind of early, but we had to get driving anyway so it worked out. The breakfast was sort of intriguing, there was like an interesting chocolate cake and some oreo crumbles out but the biscuits and gravy were fantastic! All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiersten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Kiersten W,

Thanks for your awesome review!! We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bessemer. I'm glad that our property was exactly what you were looking for and that you noticed the finer details about our hotel. Its the small touches, that our team here, feels makes all the difference in our guests' overall experience. Hope you had a safe trip, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

By the smell of fresh paint and a supply of doors, it appears as though management is working to keep up the appearance of their property. All was in good order with our spacious, pet-friendly room and reservation. Weekday breakfast ends early if you've been on the road until late, so we did not check out the options. WiFi worked fine, and parking was well-lit and a snap. A brief walk across the parking lot will get you to an Applebee's, Cracker Barrel, and a couple of non-chain dinner choices.

As a light sleeper, I travel with earplugs. This was handy since our air unit could not be run all night to mask background noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Thrall,

On behalf of the entire Best Western Plus Bessemer team, I would like to thank you for your review. It not only helps us so see where we can improve our product, (hence the smell of fresh paint and new room doors we are putting up), but your review also helps fellow travelers decide which hotel would suit their needs most. Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you again when you are traveling to the Bessemer area.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

When my dear Brother died unexpectedly April 27th, 2014 I needed to get to Bessemer quickly. I searched the internet for a hotel in Bessemer. I narrowed my search to 3 properties. I called the 800 number listed to obtain further information and spoke to a very nice person who gave me the lowest rates he could. He told me the Best Western had the best reviews of the 3 I chose. I thanked him and then called the Best Western in Bessemer, AL directly. I spoke to Brian, who was kind and voiced sympathy for the loss of my brother. He told me he could give me a bereavement discount, which was considerably less than the rates on the internet. I made reservations with the understanding that I might need to stay an extra day or two. I was told that would be not be a problem. Upon arrival that evening (April 28th, 2014), Ben was on duty to check me and my husband in. He greeted us with kindness and compassion. I told him my stepmother would be coming the next day and asked what arrangements could be made for her. Ben told us she would be quite welcome to stay in our room on the pull out sofa. We appreciated that so very much as she is on a fixed income. The hotel lobby was decorated very tastefully and the carpet in the halls was a joy to walk on - very cushy! Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We usually stay at Marriott or Hyatt properties so I was a little skeptical about staying at a Best Western. My skepticism disappeared immediately. I have never stayed in a hotel in which the entire staff was eager to please. I did not encounter one single employee with a bad attitude or lack of desire to help. Every one went out of their way to ensure our comfort and address our needs. This made such a difference to me because I was there to attend my brother's funeral and my emotions were on my sleeve. My little grandnieces loved being able to feed the fish in the coy fish pond outside the front door of the hotel when they visited. I was able to use the hotel guest computers and printer to write and print what I was going to say at my Brother's funeral. Also, I don't know what I would have done without the wonderful complimentary breakfast served each morning to get me through the difficult and emotional days. I am going to write a letter directly to the hotel naming the employees that helped to make a difference during my stay there. I will recommend Best Western in Bessemer, AL to anyone going there. I will also be more apt to choose Best Western in other cities I visit. Also, it was walking distance to the Cracker Barrel, Applebees and the Waffle House.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and it was perfect. I could not hear any noise from the hall or any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Debbie C.

Firstly, I would like to express my condolences once again for the loss of your family member. I would like to thank you for taking time out of this emotional time for you, to leave such kind words about our property and the team we have working here. We try to take care of all of our guests needs, however if there is a unique situation like yours, with try and go the extra mile to make sure you are well taken care off during this difficult time. I remember running into you on more than a few occasions and was surprised to see you trying to make the best of the situation. I am glad that your grandnieces loved feeding the fish in our coy fish pond. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Best Western Plus Bessemer, and we look forward to your next stay.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our family rented 2 rooms on 4/29/14 and we all agreed this was a great hotel with good prices. Very clean, great beds, updated rooms and plenty of good options at their free breakfast. Inside entry to rooms and an elevator for upper floors. Not one thing to complain about and no hesitation recommending this place and we'll stay here again if passing through!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dkatx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us here at the Best Western Plus Bessemer. We try and be competitive with our prices and try our very best to give our guests the best hotel experience that they have encountered. We feel that if a guest has an excellent experience with us, then we have done our job well. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks,

Anup Gill
Best Western Plus Bessemer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Was headed to Jackson MS and got late and used my phone App to find closest location. Location came up and I called the 800 number and had a reservation in minutes....Very quick... Arrived at property and was checked in in just a matter of minutes ....Room was very nicely appointed with huge flat screen TV and super comfortable bed....was very tired and went right to sleep....next morning had great shower and went down for breakfast.....and at 6:15 they already had eggs, biscuits and gravy and sausage already waiting.....everything was good....checked out and back on the road.....just the way I like it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pindergill, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Tony S,

Thanks for your great review!! We take great pride in our hotel, and its nice when we get a review like yours, showing that our teams hard work is beneficial to our guests. We do our best to have our guests checked in to their room in the most friendly and efficient way. We know most guests are tired from their travels, and want to get into our comfortable beds and relax. Ms. Cindy does a great job during breakfast and enjoys starting our guests days off on the right foot. We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Best Western Plus Bessemer.

Anup Gill
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bessemer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Bessemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 12 in Bessemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Birmingham Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
Address: 5041 Academy Ln, Bessemer, AL 35022-5250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bessemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at this cozy Bessemer hotel and have easy access to Alabama Adventure Amusement Park, Birmingham's attractions and Lawson State.Choose from a spacious standard room or one of our luxurious suites, all offering divine pillow top beds, cable or satellite television, a coffeemaker, a microwave, a refrigerator, a desk and high-speed Internet access. Get a wonderful night's sleep and wake up feeling refreshed to a complimentary full breakfast each day at this Bessemer hotel.The convenience and comfort won't stop at your room - our property also offers a sparkling outdoor pool, relaxing hot tub, state-of-the-art exercise facility and a beneficial business center.Located near Birmingham, you can either slow down for a bit and enjoy this charming small town or drive just 20 miles and take in the big city attractions. Nearby, many guests delight in spending a day at Alabama Adventure Amusement Park or visiting students and faculty at Lawson State Community College. Take a short trip to Birmingham and enjoy visiting the McWane Science Center, Civil Rights Institute, University of Alabama, Legion Field, Birmingham Race Course, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and Birmingham Zoo.Outdoor enthusiasts will have convenient access to Cahaba River, Oak Mountain State Park, Ruffner Mountain and championship golf at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail while staying at this hotel near Birmingham. Indulge in retail therapy at Five Points South, offering unique shops and restaurants in a distinctive historic district.Those traveling for work can make the most of their stay, as this Alabama hotel is near many of the area's businesses and organizations. University of Alabama Birmingham Medical, US Pipe, Vulcan Materials, US Steel, St. Vincent's Hospital and the Marine Base are all close by. Birmingham International Airport is also just 35 miles away from this Bessemer hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel Bessemer
Best Western Plus Bessemer Hotel And Suites
Best Western Bessemer
Bessemer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing