We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoy this stop in Bessemer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant

Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Bessemer
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
305 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Always enjoy this stop in Bessemer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

When passing through the area we always stop at Los Sombreros...never been disappointed! The food is great, the service is excellent, and prices are very good. The restaurant is in the center of a small strip mall.....don't be fooled by this location. If in the area, give it a try as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David_2013834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who knew ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Tucked away behind the Texaco station @ exit 108 off rt 20 (5031 Ford pkwy )
is a wonderful Mexican cafe . The food was authentic & great . Nice staff, good value on food & margarita's It was suggested to me by Stacy @ the near by Hampton Inn . What a great find.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Frozen Margarita”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Although this restaurant is hidden away in a little strip mall behind a service station, don't judge a book by it's cover. Stepping inside I found it to be very authentic (not that I have been to mexico) and was greeted and seated in a friendly manner. My butt had barely hit the seat when I was given a large basket of corn chips and a bowl of salsa. great stuff as I was feeling hungry. The menu had a lot of choices and there was a good range of specials. They had a special on for margaritas at $2.95 so I decided to try one of those and apart from getting brain freeze a few times it was delicious. I ordered the half roast chicken with special sauce (the waiter couldn't tell me what is was) and it came with tortillas, rice and beens, It arrived on a sizzling plate with some roasted capsicum (peppers) and coriander. The chicken was tender and tasty and went well with the rice and beans. I really enjoyed the meal and my only complaint would be that they used a bot more mexican spice in it. My half roast chicken with rice, beans and tortillas plus frozen margarita set me back about $12.75. The service was fast, friendly and the place seemed pretty clean. There were a few families with kids and they did have a kids menu. All in all I would recommend this place without hesitation. ps: they also did a steady stream of take away (out) orders.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alisterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another good Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Friendly staff, good food, great price. No tamales though :(

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kjinright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessemer, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food-excellent customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The customer service is excellent and the food is always fresh, hot and great tasting. Prices are reasonable and we always have enough left over for lunch the next day. Family friendly, non smoking and a great margarita are all great selling points for this locally owned restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing