We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room good - hotel OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 461 Hotels in Luoyang
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The rooms are large and modern - all was clean and looked new. But build quality is poor as the windows didn't shut properly.

The hotel has no bar area and it feels rather unwelcoming as the reception is huge with no atmosphere.

Restaurant food was passable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairew18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Better than 3 but not quite 4. Agree with other reviewer; not a 5star hotel - but relative to other Chinese hotels does well. Don't be too worried to stay, but don't be disappointed if is 'rough around the edges'. (...and I'm picky about hotels) Food & service is acceptable-to-enjoyable for western tastes. Even has Brasilian Churrascaria-style evening dinner option! <fun/funny> Had room 1822. RMB408/nite special company rate. Bedding was clean & fresh. Free wired broadband internet was solid. Room A/C was poor; use spare room key to keep electricity it running when you're out. MiniFridge also shuts down without card! Good shopping mall with grocery store [& McDnlds(sorry)] is across road in front. Get bottled water & keep in fridge. Room safe & all worked. Wallpaper marked-up & stained. Great park is behind hotel; if your room facing backside is fun to watch people do their morning & evening routines!

Room Tip: Get two room keys to keep A/C & fridge working while you're out. Great park viewable by back...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, I thought it was grand and the staff was very helpfull, but when the doors of the elevator opened on the 11th floor I was shocked! The carpets are stained and dirty. The rooms are not clean, not to talk about the bathrooms! After the first day, I've realised that they don't clean your room, they just make the bed. Towels are old and washed out and so is the linen, not what you expect from a 5 star hotel, especially when you pay 780RMB per night! The food in the cafe cafe is poor. This was a bad experience!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This is in response to someone's question if there were any other decent hotels in Luoyang, not a review of the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel, sorry. It may be futile in that my wife and I don't remember the name of the hotel, but it was something to the affect of Aviation Business Hotel in the heart of the city at one end of the main city plaza. It's about a 30 story building. It's a more typical Chinese businessman's hotel and I'm not into all the super attention to details but this hotel was much nicer than the reviews I'm reading about the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel. I'm giving this tip so as not to discourage anyone from going to Luoyang. Worst case, book a hotel elsewhere for a night and when you get there, ask around, someone will know where this hotel is. It's also walking distance to a really good American/Western style restaurant with good, inexpinsive food and real coffee.
As for the Hotel, everything was as you might expect for a Holiday Inn. TV with English Cable (CNN, SKY, and some others I don't remember and a multitude of Chinese stations), hot shower, clean carpeted rooms, nice comfortable bed, room service (though I didn't use it), in-room phone, A/C, electrical outlets that don't blow the whole building's electical circuit when you plug in your blow dryer (unlike in Madrid), western toilet, sizable towels, complimentary things you may have forgotten like a toothbrush, tooth paste, razor, shaving cream, hair comb, shoe polish, shoe horn, clean linens, radio, alarm, etc... There's also a decent Chinese restaurant on the second floor with good local cuisine including the really good flower soup that's a local specialty.
The only negative things I can say is their gift shop isn't open 24/7, their bar was closed for construction when I was there and they don't have good coffee at all (not many places in Luoyang do but there's a good restaurant up the street that does) and I don't think they take American Express but everything else was great. I think they even exchaned USD for RMB at a reasonable rate, sorry it's been 3 years but I've been there twice and for about 5 days each time.
Hope this is of help to someone thinking of traveling to Luoyang. It's no Xi'an, Shanghai or Beijing but there is a lot of history in Luoyang. How could it not? It was the capitol of China and the second largest city on Earth in the year 100 AD.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prinzchas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed there for 5 months. The design of the hotel is grand, the construction was done poorly: shower leaking because of bad installation of shower door, hallway carpet rippling making it difficult to roll the suitcases,etc. The staff tries very hard to be helpful and they are. I loved them. There is no lounge where one could sit and chat with friends or guests with a coffee/tea/beer and finger food. That would be a great improvement! The massage service is great. Where it falls apart is at the CaféCafé. Not very western, breakfast is blah! so is dinner, both buffet style. Dinner also has a menu. We were turned away from lunch twice because the whole room had been reserved for a convention of some sort and we had to go eat somewhere else. Valet service also not up to par. On the whole it was quite acceptable, but it is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wandering_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

A new five star hotel opened within the last year with a vast reception area and apparently nearly 1000 rooms. Desk staff are pleasant and speak some English as also in the dining room.

Décor is modern but that is where the similarity ends with a five star expectation. Build quality is quite poor and there is a complete lack of attention to detail with many snagging type problems in rooms and corridors not attended to.

In the rooms there is a hair dryer, safe and all the usual but the mini bar isn't stocked beyond a couple of beers and a coke. However, we asked for a non smoking room and unlike many Chinese hotels we did get what it said on the tin and our room smelt quite fresh.

We arrived at the hotel about 8:00pm and went straight to the CafeCafe restaurant only to find that over half the food on the menu was off. only Chinese wines were on the menu and we chose the 'best' which proved to be almost undrinkable. The food we did have was disappointing as well. You also can not put anything on your bill and must pay cash at your table.

The CafeCafe is also the location for the buffet breakfast. By even four star Chinese hotel standards the Western breakfast was poor, and if they ever do fill their 1000 rooms then I would suggest you breakfast elsewhere, as this restaurant is quite small.

Although we wouldn't rate the Hua Yang highly, we did go to the Peony Plaza for dinner on our second night and believe me that is far worse.

This hotel does have potential as the staff seem good and helpful and probably a management overhaul will sort it out. So don't write it off.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinarog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I stayed at this hotel in 2005 when it first opened, and had some bad experiances, but put it down to the fact it was new. Oct 2006 stayed again and actually it is worse, their are no one to speak English, they couldn't manually enter my credit card number, as the strip had a problem, the staff are always playing with each other and not serious. I wanted a Taxi from the front, there were 3 staff standing there, but all ignored me and I had to get my own. When I had other problems I asked to speak to the manager, and was told that there was not one!!! My advice Peony Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 2muchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
2.0 mi away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 461 in Luoyang
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Luoyang
Hyatt Place Luoyang
#2 of 461 in Luoyang
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Friendship Hotel
New Friendship Hotel
#3 of 461 in Luoyang
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
1.1 mi away
Luoyang Companionship Hotel
2.1 mi away
Cygnus International Hotel
Cygnus International Hotel
#30 of 461 in Luoyang
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Yang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Yang Plaza Hotel

Address: No.88 Kaixuan West Road, Jianxi District, Luoyang 471003, China
Region: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luoyang
#4 Best Value Hotel in Luoyang
Price Range: £54 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hua Yang Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hua Yang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Yang Plaza Luoyang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing