We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 451 Hotels in Luoyang
Versailles, France
2 reviews
“fine but not great”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

rooms are ok with enough space
But only 2 internationnal channels on TV
no pool.
moreover they dont stop working and there is a lot of construction all around that means that even if there is double glazing it is noisy so ask for a room that overlooks the park.

Room Tip: room that overlooks the park should be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    70
    35
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
9
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tortoli, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Shared an AC room with my Partner, incuding Buffet Breakfast for 50 pounds sterling per night, Food in Hotel good, price range good, eating out and Taxis very cheap.
Wanda Shopping Mall across the street, sells everything with Good Shopping, Snack Bars, Restaurants even KFC and Mac D's nearby and small Bars with live Music on the 3rd Floor.
2 Train Stations with Sleeper Bullet Trains to all parts of China, Beijing 8 hours away.
Black And White Bar under 2 quid for a Corona, Lily Bar same, others bit more expensive.
Hotel has a small Gymnasium 6th Floor and also a NightClub at the side.
Hotel lacks atmosphere but prefer out and about anyway, so no problem.
Old Street is 2 quid in a Taxi and good for Bargains and Snacking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankokeefe_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
172 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

When you see the huge building, you may think that they built a 5 star hotel but not. The hotel is almost outdated and old fashioned but clean to meet your short term touristic needs.
The check in and out speed was satisfactory even though we arrived during a very busy time. The lobby has free wifi where it is also smoking free area.
The rooms were large, clean and with adequate amenities but old fashioned already. Due to the construction outside the hotel, we could not sleep properly.
The breakfast menu can be rated as a 2 star hotel were the hotel is looking for 4 star rating. I can recommend for short term family stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The rooms are large and modern - all was clean and looked new. But build quality is poor as the windows didn't shut properly.

The hotel has no bar area and it feels rather unwelcoming as the reception is huge with no atmosphere.

Restaurant food was passable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairew18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Better than 3 but not quite 4. Agree with other reviewer; not a 5star hotel - but relative to other Chinese hotels does well. Don't be too worried to stay, but don't be disappointed if is 'rough around the edges'. (...and I'm picky about hotels) Food & service is acceptable-to-enjoyable for western tastes. Even has Brasilian Churrascaria-style evening dinner option! <fun/funny> Had room 1822. RMB408/nite special company rate. Bedding was clean & fresh. Free wired broadband internet was solid. Room A/C was poor; use spare room key to keep electricity it running when you're out. MiniFridge also shuts down without card! Good shopping mall with grocery store [& McDnlds(sorry)] is across road in front. Get bottled water & keep in fridge. Room safe & all worked. Wallpaper marked-up & stained. Great park is behind hotel; if your room facing backside is fun to watch people do their morning & evening routines!

Room Tip: Get two room keys to keep A/C & fridge working while you're out. Great park viewable by back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, I thought it was grand and the staff was very helpfull, but when the doors of the elevator opened on the 11th floor I was shocked! The carpets are stained and dirty. The rooms are not clean, not to talk about the bathrooms! After the first day, I've realised that they don't clean your room, they just make the bed. Towels are old and washed out and so is the linen, not what you expect from a 5 star hotel, especially when you pay 780RMB per night! The food in the cafe cafe is poor. This was a bad experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This is in response to someone's question if there were any other decent hotels in Luoyang, not a review of the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel, sorry. It may be futile in that my wife and I don't remember the name of the hotel, but it was something to the affect of Aviation Business Hotel in the heart of the city at one end of the main city plaza. It's about a 30 story building. It's a more typical Chinese businessman's hotel and I'm not into all the super attention to details but this hotel was much nicer than the reviews I'm reading about the Hua Yang Plaza Hotel. I'm giving this tip so as not to discourage anyone from going to Luoyang. Worst case, book a hotel elsewhere for a night and when you get there, ask around, someone will know where this hotel is. It's also walking distance to a really good American/Western style restaurant with good, inexpinsive food and real coffee.
As for the Hotel, everything was as you might expect for a Holiday Inn. TV with English Cable (CNN, SKY, and some others I don't remember and a multitude of Chinese stations), hot shower, clean carpeted rooms, nice comfortable bed, room service (though I didn't use it), in-room phone, A/C, electrical outlets that don't blow the whole building's electical circuit when you plug in your blow dryer (unlike in Madrid), western toilet, sizable towels, complimentary things you may have forgotten like a toothbrush, tooth paste, razor, shaving cream, hair comb, shoe polish, shoe horn, clean linens, radio, alarm, etc... There's also a decent Chinese restaurant on the second floor with good local cuisine including the really good flower soup that's a local specialty.
The only negative things I can say is their gift shop isn't open 24/7, their bar was closed for construction when I was there and they don't have good coffee at all (not many places in Luoyang do but there's a good restaurant up the street that does) and I don't think they take American Express but everything else was great. I think they even exchaned USD for RMB at a reasonable rate, sorry it's been 3 years but I've been there twice and for about 5 days each time.
Hope this is of help to someone thinking of traveling to Luoyang. It's no Xi'an, Shanghai or Beijing but there is a lot of history in Luoyang. How could it not? It was the capitol of China and the second largest city on Earth in the year 100 AD.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prinzchas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luoyang hotels
2.0 mi away
Christian's Hotel
Christian's Hotel
#1 of 451 in Luoyang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Friendship Hotel
New Friendship Hotel
#2 of 451 in Luoyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Luoyang
Hyatt Place Luoyang
#5 of 451 in Luoyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luoyang City Center
1.1 mi away
Luoyang Companionship Hotel
2.7 mi away
Yaxiang Jinling Hotel Luoyang
Yaxiang Jinling Hotel Luoyang
#138 of 451 in Luoyang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Yang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Yang Plaza Hotel

Property: Hua Yang Plaza Hotel
Address: No.88 Kaixuan West Road, Jianxi District, Luoyang 471003, China
Region: China > Henan > Luoyang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luoyang
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luoyang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hua Yang Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hua Yang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hua Yang Plaza Luoyang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing