We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip to see The Eagle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Breeze, United States
2 reviews
“Fun trip to see The Eagle”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Check-in Check-out was great. Valet service was prompt and friendly. Room was excellent - clean and comfortable. First level bar/restaurant not so good. Average food, high prices, and extremely slow and unattentive service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I would like to firstly thank you for the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that liked the friendliness of the staff and that your room was clean and comfortable to your liking. I apologize that the service in the restaurant could not fulfill your expectations and we hope that this will not deter you to visit the hotel in the future. Thank you again for visit the Tutwiler Hotel and kind regards for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    279
    64
    30
    15
See reviews for
284
254
47
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DOTHAN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I chose this hotel due to the location in relation to the BJCC. It is within walking distance and is a very nice place to stay. The beds are amazing and the staff was accomodating. This is the second time that I have stayed here and will do so in the furutre. The hampton line of hotels have always been good to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the room amenities and our Southern hospitality. Thank you for choosing the Tutwiler Hotel as your preferred accommodation during your business trip we look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

...It got a lot better very quickly. After my girlfriend and I checked in, we began to settle into our standard king room when the smoke detector began beeping as though it needed service. I called the desk and they didn't know what to do because their maintenance staff had all left for the day so they offered us another room. It was somewhat annoying to pack everything back up, but not as annoying as the regular beeping. I went down to exchange the keys and the attendant at the desk informed me that she had given us a complimentary upgrade to make up for the trouble. The upgrade was to an amazing king suite. I didn't even ask for an upgrade but they provided one anyway! The staff were courteous and everything was in excellent working order. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in downtown Birmingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArsenalF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for telling us about your recent trip with your girlfriend. I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the smoke detector disturbing you. I am so happy that you and you enjoyed your upgraded room. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. I will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing good feedback about their service. Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchwood, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel is very inviting and staff is great. Location is good, we walked to a few restaurants during our 3 night stay. Breakfast area was great as was the breakfast selections. Fitness is state of the art. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 59706DavidH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! It makes us happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us! We greatly appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s courteous staff, great service, fitness room, complimentary breakfast spread and the wide variety of restaurants in the area and also the convenience of the location.

Thank you for recommending the Tutwiler Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A great place poorly executed. We arrived at a very busy time and sat in the driveway behind a line of cars to valet park our car (you can park on the street until 8 am - otherwise you pay $18 + 10% tax). Charming older, well maintained property - a real treat. Rooms spacious and comfortable. The little things got me - crappy bath towels - two per room - I had to get my wife a towel so she could dry her hair - granted the front desk cheerfully provided it but for $160 + $28 in various taxes (not the hotels fault) I expected more. I rank my experience no better than a very average Hampton - a pity because this property has great potential.

Room Tip: Try someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. The points you make regarding the towels and the valet parking are duly noted and acknowledged and this is something we will certainly be reviewing as part of the hotel’s ongoing improvement .Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location, and the staff was very nice. The location was great for business. I look forward to my next trip and would recommend the hotel to others. The hotel is a historic property in the downtown area, with a number of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites. Every member of our staff aims to deliver genuine and excellence service to each of our guests. I am delighted to hear you satisfied with our convenient location and that you would recommend our hotel to others. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you upon your return to Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great place to stay! Couldn't have been any happier with me stay. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room service - Top Notch! Breakfast had many more selections than your typical hotel breakfast and the car service was prompt. Never had to wait for them to pull my car around, they had there when promised.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites. We are happy to know that you had such a wonderful time during your stay, and you were able to enjoy the amenities our hotel has to offer and the top notch staff. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#14 of 80 in Birmingham
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham by viewing the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing