We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel with a Great Tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ, United States
1 review
“Historic Hotel with a Great Tradition”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel is ideally located; is intimate with regards to rooms, bar, and restaurant; I consider this to be a very upscale Hampton Inn property. The customer service is above average and the experience for my 6th stay here was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Reginald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks Reginald G for your recent review of the Tutwiler ! It is definitely nice to hear that we have exceeded your expectations on each one of your stays with us. Thank you for pointing out our bar, rooms and the restaurants located on the first floor. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    271
    64
    30
    14
See reviews for
281
253
46
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautiful hotel in lovely part of city. Excellent service from hotel staff . Room was lovely, breakfast provided was very adequate. Ate at restaurant in hotel and found lunch and dinner foods were excellently prepared.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 565cherylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is one of the finest hotels I have stayed at and it is so convenient to anywhere you need to be in downtown Birmingham. I had a dozen meetings in town and was able to walk to all of them. The Century Bar and Grill in the hotel serves up excellent food with great service, and the entire staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel room was very quiet (I suppose it had to be as it is across from the Birmingham Library!). To top it off, the hotel has the look and feel of what one would expect of a traditional Southern lodging.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Tutwiler is beautiful, clean, walking distance to several amenities, and features a lovely restaurant with excellent cuisine. Breakfast is standard complimentary fare, but the fitness center is a step above.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose this hotel based on other reviews and we were not let down.
We upgraded to the double suite, that is a little over rated but the room was very nice and comfortable. We had two queen beds and a pull out sofa. We were in 422. The room was very quiet which was really nice. The beds and bedding very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking can be a little bit of an issue, you can valet which is $19 per day, or park on the street, the meters are off from 6pm-8am so overnight parking not a problem, you just have to get out there before 8 am and feed the meter! They do offer a free continental breakfast. There is also free wifi, very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanvanoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hilton is doing a nice job of taking older hotel properties in downtown settings and converting them to beautifully restored versions. This is an example of that work similar to Montgomery, AL and St Louis, MO to name a couple of other similar settings. This is very attractive hotel with all the convenances that you have come to expect in a Hilton (Hampton Inn). Nice bar area and the food was pretty good in the restaurant as well, it was great place to spend a romantic evening (V-Day) and a great old hotel in the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

“This hotel has character.” I overheard another guest say that. It’s true; the Tutwiler truly does have character. I love the historical charm. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again. I only had one minor maintenance issue but that was promptly resolved. My only “complaint,” if you will, is that there should be clear signage in the lobby directing guests to the complimentary hot breakfast. Still I will be happy to stay at the Tutwiler again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpookyTbna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#16 of 79 in Birmingham
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham by viewing the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing