We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Gulf Shores, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful and clean. Within walking distance to the Boutwell or BJCC (if it's still light out). The parking lot is tiny I guess that is why they feel they need valet parking but $19 for someone to walk 3 steps to my car, or in the case when we left for dinner, hand me the keys, seems a little excessive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Jennifer D we really appreciate you taking the time to share their experiences, so thanks for taking the time to review The Tutwiler Hotel! We hope our convenient location and friendly staff made your stay enjoyable. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    264
    63
    29
    14
See reviews for
275
246
43
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This 100 year old property has been completely renovated and is extremely comfortable and quiet. Easy proximity to various attractions - Art Museum, Jazz Museum etc. Free airport shuttle. Shuttle also available, if free, to aid guests to get around town. On site restaurant is good, especially when you arrive late and too tired to find somewhere outside. Free wifi.

Staff are welcoming and friendly and incredibly helpful.

Would highly recommend this to all comers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you balticbash for such a positive review! I am glad that you enjoyed the staff, rooms, and location. I am glad that you got to experience what a great downtown property is like! We hope you will be able to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family of four - two teenagers plus my husband and myself - really enjoyed the luxury of a one bedroom suite. It allowed us to spread out comfortably.We loved the free wifi (for Hilton Honors members, I think) and room service was a nice treat for a road weary group.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Leslie G we are delighted to know that you had a relaxing stay with us. It is our goal to provide each of our valued guests a wonderful experience and we are glad to know we succeeded with you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel, located in a renovated historic property, has more character than the average Hampton, but still what you'd expect from a Hampton - clean room, good value, reliable breakfast. I appreciated the valet parking, but parking for someone who doesn't want to pay the extra $20/night might be inconvenient. Hotel wasn't particularly close to anywhere I had meetings, but it's easy to get around Birmingham so that wasn't an issue. Will definitely stay here again - maybe on a trip with the family. The kids would feel like we're staying in a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you, Joan C very much for your wonderful review. We value each and every single comment we get and we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location was well suited for your visit here in Birmingham.

We hope that your enjoyed your trip to our wonderful city and hope to serve you again very soon!
Thank you so very much for choosing the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent for business; easy access to airport; boutique intimate hotel with historical significance and nice elegant architectural features. Great breakfast. Easy valet parking. Comfortable beds. Southern hospitality - upscale bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 800edwardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you 800edwardp for staying with us and for writing such a great review. It is our goal to provide a home away from home with our spacious clean rooms and Southern hospitality. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time visiting.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a unique Hampton, since it's located in a historic building. The room and hallway renovations are very well done, while at the same time preserving some of the architectural features in the lobby and exterior.

Parking is valet or on the street, but although street parking is free nightly until 8am, the front desk warned me that the meter maids are vigilant. I chose not to take the chance

*** I gave the hotel 4 stars, but I would give their restaurant only 1 star... It is apparently affiliated with a culinary school, but our dinner was definitely NOT chef quality, nor was it worth anywhere near the expensive price. My guess is that there were no instructors on site this night.

The wine list is very simple, and our server was friendly, but not knowledgeable about the food.

Our meal was amateur-ish and uninspired. My original entree was the pork shoulder, which came out so overcooked that it was a grey color, and so dry it was inedible. After checking with the kitchen, our server recommended ordering something else, since they apparently didn't think they could improve on the pork.

My second entree was the sesame crusted seared tuna, which was okay at best, but had way too many sesame seeds

Overall, a VERY disappointing meal for $100.... I don't recommend eating here

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked our breakfast and friendly service. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise from other guests had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the way the situation was handled. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just left the Tutwiler and was compelled to write a review because our stay was so pleasant, from arrival to departure! This was our first time in Birmingham and the Tutwiler truly contributed to our satisfaction with the experience. It's located within 10 minutes driving of most things in Birmingham and the valet parking was friendly and expeditious whenever we needed our car (and very reasonably priced at $19 a night!) Also walking distance to lots of attractions including the Civil Rights Institute. Everyone at the hotel was happy and eager to help with any question we came up with. Plus the complimentary breakfast was epic. And most of all the rooms and hotel itself are stunning - it was lovely to be both centrally located and in a beautifully renovated historic building. If we ever come back to B'ham we will surely choose the Tutwiler - highly highly recommend it!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Alanna K we appreciate your recognition of our staff and efforts to make your stay enjoyable. We are glad that you enjoy our complimentary breakfast, convenient location and you found our staff friendly. Our Tutwiler Team prides itself on our clean rooms and friendly service, so thank you for acknowledging that as well. We are glad you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#14 of 79 in Birmingham
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing