We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful historic downtown hotel. Easy walk to downtown businesses and restaurants. The breakfast was relaxed and very good, ambiance of the hotel reflected the southern hospitality of Birmingham.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Hotel. We truly appreciate them. We are always working hard to preserve our history while providing the modern amenities of today. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

887 - 893 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had meetings in downtown Birmingham. Excellent old, restored building. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Staff was outstanding - very friendly and helpful. And then you're only a 10 minute drive from the airport. Don't stay at the airport - stay in town!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of your stay at the Tutwiler Hotel. As you mentioned in the review, it sounds like you took advantage of our excellent location during your stay our hotel is very centrally located for exploring and business needs.
I am overjoyed that our clean and comfortable room met your standard. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful and clean. Within walking distance to the Boutwell or BJCC (if it's still light out). The parking lot is tiny I guess that is why they feel they need valet parking but $19 for someone to walk 3 steps to my car, or in the case when we left for dinner, hand me the keys, seems a little excessive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Jennifer D we really appreciate you taking the time to share their experiences, so thanks for taking the time to review The Tutwiler Hotel! We hope our convenient location and friendly staff made your stay enjoyable. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This 100 year old property has been completely renovated and is extremely comfortable and quiet. Easy proximity to various attractions - Art Museum, Jazz Museum etc. Free airport shuttle. Shuttle also available, if free, to aid guests to get around town. On site restaurant is good, especially when you arrive late and too tired to find somewhere outside. Free wifi.

Staff are welcoming and friendly and incredibly helpful.

Would highly recommend this to all comers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you balticbash for such a positive review! I am glad that you enjoyed the staff, rooms, and location. I am glad that you got to experience what a great downtown property is like! We hope you will be able to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My family of four - two teenagers plus my husband and myself - really enjoyed the luxury of a one bedroom suite. It allowed us to spread out comfortably.We loved the free wifi (for Hilton Honors members, I think) and room service was a nice treat for a road weary group.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Leslie G we are delighted to know that you had a relaxing stay with us. It is our goal to provide each of our valued guests a wonderful experience and we are glad to know we succeeded with you. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel, located in a renovated historic property, has more character than the average Hampton, but still what you'd expect from a Hampton - clean room, good value, reliable breakfast. I appreciated the valet parking, but parking for someone who doesn't want to pay the extra $20/night might be inconvenient. Hotel wasn't particularly close to anywhere I had meetings, but it's easy to get around Birmingham so that wasn't an issue. Will definitely stay here again - maybe on a trip with the family. The kids would feel like we're staying in a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you, Joan C very much for your wonderful review. We value each and every single comment we get and we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location was well suited for your visit here in Birmingham.

We hope that your enjoyed your trip to our wonderful city and hope to serve you again very soon!
Thank you so very much for choosing the Tutwiler Hampton Inn & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent for business; easy access to airport; boutique intimate hotel with historical significance and nice elegant architectural features. Great breakfast. Easy valet parking. Comfortable beds. Southern hospitality - upscale bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 800edwardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxanne O, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you 800edwardp for staying with us and for writing such a great review. It is our goal to provide a home away from home with our spacious clean rooms and Southern hospitality. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time visiting.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#17 of 80 in Birmingham
448 reviews
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £97 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham by viewing the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing