We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Find another bar”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, but if there are more than 3 people you won't get a drink. Rooms are spacious and in good shape. Parking was easy. I just can't express how hard it was to get a drink here. Making one drink at a time doesn't get it sometimes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy t, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear David R,
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Tutwiler. Your observations at the bar are noted and be assured we have discussed this with the staff. It is our hope that you will allow us to have the oppertunity to WOW you with perfect service in the near future. We hope you had the time to visit the Birmingham Museum of Art or caught a Birmingham Barons game.
Please allow me to help you in the future with your guest room needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    264
    63
    29
    13
See reviews for
274
246
43
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a historic hotel, and it was packed to the gills with business people, youth groups, and wedding attendees but outside of breakfast I didn't hear the other travelers. Which suited me just fine. I found this hotel beautiful, especially the openess of our bathroom - lots of natural light from the plantation shuttered windows. The beds were comfy, and the women who worked the front desk were helpful and welcoming. it was hard to leave after only one day.

Room Tip: Corner room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy t, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Allison A,

We are so happy to share this awesome Historic property with guests like yourself! From the beautiful Tutwiler 100 year old marble details to the Hampton Cloud nine bedding and Serta perfect sleeper mattresses you are guarenteed a perfect stay. Those corner suites are amazing! We hope you had time to visit the Civil Rights Museum or possibly dine at one of Frank Stitt resturants. Should you need assistance with future reervation, please feel free top contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Loved staying at this amazing historical Inn. Hampton was brillant to partner with this facility! Being in downtown Birmingham, Al it was very easy to get out and walk to many venues and there is a wonderful 10 acre park across the street that was delightful to walk around and check out. We had a great time looking at many historical photos in the lobby and everyone was amazingly helpful and not to mention delightful in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy t, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Kathy A,
Thank you for your lovely observations! We pride ourselves on our outstanding coustomer service and are delighted at your response. This Tutwiler is such a hidden gem right here in the financial district downtown. We can't wait till your next visit with us here. Just a thought, we have a new resturant opening in the next couple of weeks in the revitalized "Uptown Downtown" district Cantina Laredo. You should come and check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Tutweiler is a fabulous hotel, especially for the price. It has an old-world charm about it, but with all the nice amenities that Hampton Inns provide. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. If I return to Birmingham, I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy t, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Debora T,
How awesome to hear from you with such a truly fabulous review! Celebrating this Centennial year for the Tutwiler is a joy- One hundred years rich in Southern history- and flying that great Hampton flag! We hope you were able to visit the McWane Science Center, or possibly catch a MiLB Birmingham Barons baseball game? Truly this Tutwiler is an experience of its own. Should you need assistance with any future hotels needs,please don't hesitate to call your hotel partners here at The Tutwiler Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent business trip, I booked this hotel unaware of the history of the building. LOVE that they kept the character while still giving travelers the conveniences of a modern hotel. Not your typical "chain" but the Hampton Inn brand is still very present. I would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelly_Daul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We chose this hotel because we were in town for a concert and didn't want to drive back home after the show. Turned out to be a good choice. If you cut through the park, the BJCC (concert hall) is only a couple of blocks away. The hotel is nice, quiet and convenient. I think $19 for valet parking (the cars are parked right in front of the hotel) is a bit high. If you are visiting over a weekend, it's probably a lot cheaper to park curbside, since you don't have to feed the meter from Saturday afternoon to Monday morning.

Room Tip: The suite was worth it. It's actually a sitting room with a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostwriter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is an older historic type building but has been really made nice. The facilities, restaurant, rooms are really well done. The staff is helpful and the price was very reasonable. I would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.4 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#15 of 79 in Birmingham
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Address: 2021 Park Pl, Birmingham, AL 35203-2705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traditional southern elegance with up-to-date convenience in the heart of downtown Birmingham at the Hampton Inn and Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler. The Tutwiler has hosted dignitaries visiting Birmingham since 1914. Start your tour of Birmingham with an audio-tour of the lobby's historic photographs. The elegant lobby greets guests with original marble and decorative ceilings. Birmingham's banking and legal offices are steps from the hotel. Explore Birmingham's culinary scene from four-star restaurants to the popular Southern meal known as "meat and three." Century Restaurant and Lounge located in the hotel lobby serves southern and gourmet classics. Tour the Civil Rights Institute and the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, a central landmark of the Civil Rights movement. See sweeping views of the city from ten-acre Vulcan Park which features the world's largest cast iron statue. Visit the McWane Science Center, a four-story interactive museum with IMAX theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-Downtown-Tutwiler
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing