We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-inspiring and Informative”

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
Ranked #2 of 90 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic museum traces the journey of the civil rights advocates of the 1950s and 60s, who changed the course of American history. The struggle for equality for Black Americans is chronicled here, from the Jim Crow laws in the 1800s to the freedom rides, sit-ins and demonstrations of the 1960s.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring and Informative”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I loved this museum. I was familiar with several of the events of this time but the museum introduced me to many more that
i was unaware of. Birmingham was central to the struggle. What set it apart from the civil Rights Museum in Memphis (which is a must visit) was the number of actual articles donated to the museum. The eeriest section of the museum houses a fire-bombed bus that carried protestors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueloci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    147
    20
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent musuem”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This musuem gives a detailed accounting of the civil rights movement and how Birmingham played a role in the movement. Exhibits are well done and provide a real sense of the times during the 60's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLCSOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Understated, under appreciated”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

There are no words I could write that accurately summarize my visit to the civil rights museum.

What a tragic truth that writes itself on the pages of our history. A history that is quite evident many people still refuse to acknowledge. I spent 3+ hours in the museum reading/watching every artifact.

My utmost respect goes out to those that literally put their lives on the line, daily, to fight for something that should have been theirs to begin with.

What a tremendous exhibit. Real, interactive, impactive. The thing that saddened me the most was that in those 3 hours I was the only white person in the entire building. I hope this museum can help educate future generations.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Birmingham's Best Museum”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I've been to Birmingham several times, and have visited other local museums. But nothing's better than the Civil Rights Institute. It's nearly entirely interactive, with an enormous scope. In fact, there's so much on display, there's not enough--maybe not possibly enough--copy to explain what you're seeing. Afterwards, cross the street and take some time to walk through the sculptures at Kelly Ingram Park: they add an additional layer of meaning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NolaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this museum as I am more into art than history, but I was blown away. This is the best history museum I have ever been to. Absolutely amazing and inspiring. Go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birmingham Civil Rights Institute also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Civil Rights Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing