We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small but good”

Birmingham Museum of Art
Ranked #4 of 88 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-story museum houses an eclectic selection of art, including Wedgewood pottery, the largest collection of Asian art in the Southeast, Native American and African art, impressionism, contemporary art and American landscapes.
ft myers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“small but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

lovely peaceful museum... nice gift shop... beautiful grounds.. enjoyed using phones to hear about art

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tz1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    111
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots of variety of art. Great educational experience for kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I haven't been to the Birmingham Museum or Art in about 20 years and I was pleasantly surprised with how nice it is. They have a good representation of art from around the world. And it is free except for the visiting exhibits!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pizzalover245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Steele city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Wow...this world class museum is FREE?! Take advantage of the culture available to the citizens of Birmingham and beyond! Donations are always welcome and I was more than happy to contribute a little. From the spacious facility to the outdoor garden to the amazing full Samurai battle dress and beautiful Wedgewood collection, you'd be a fool to pass this up on your visit here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great galleries, welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed downtown near the conference center for an event, and the Birmingham Museum of Art is a short walk across the street. We were not disappointed. The BMA's collection on display is diverse and engaging - from a strong Asian gallery, so some amazing 18th & 19th cen European and American furniture. They even have a small hands-on children's area, which was empty when we strolled by. There's a great museum store, which had some collection and exhibition related items, in addition to some other nice decorative arts and jewelry. Highlight: noting that there were meditation stations throughout the galleries, to encourage museum visitors to reflect and relax in the galleries. There were also some hands-on opportunities throughout, besides the children's gallery, including an ancient marble stone. Very fun. Free admission, with a donation box nearby.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank greenkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moody
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have had several opportunities to visit the Birmingham Museum of Art over the years. It never fails to interest and intrigue me. Frequently there are special events such as one I attended on Pompeii. No admission charge daily, except for special events, but a donation is suggested.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birmingham Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing