We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really GREAT room. I guess that's why they charge for wifi????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

First the room. Very tasteful and elegant with some neat features I really appreciate. The bathroom had two sets of lights, the primary and what I would call secondary, which were much more dim and useful for leaving on as a sort of night light if you want. There is also another cleaver motion sensor light at the base of the nightstand, so no tripping over anything on a midnight run to the bathroom. Also, no electronics on the floor in the corner of the room to be forgotten because that's where the electrical outlets are. There were two outlets built in on each side of the nightstand for charging your phone/tablet or whatever. Also very handy for anyone who needs to use a C-pap for sleeping or requires some other electrical service for health or comfort. Negative aspects of the room: the refrigerator was cool but not cold, and there was no microwave.

Staff were all friendly. I was given extra toiletries upon my request without any hesitation. Friendly and competent all around.

So...why not a review of Excellent? The room was almost $200, and was a discounted rate for state employees, so that wasn't even full price. And even at above-average pricing, the Winfrey has the audacity to charge $10 a day for in-room wifi service. Why I find this amazing is that in 2013 you can get free wifi at every McDonald's, Krystal, library, mall, Home Depot, truck stop, etc. And in the hotel world, you can get free wifi at any Days Inn, Holiday Inn and Express, or No-tell Motel in America. Gratis. But at the Winfrey, it's $10 a day. In fairness, wifi is free in the lobby, but I think most guests would certainly prefer (and expect) to have privacy when using the internet or checking email, and certainly privacy to safeguard their passwords.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoxieDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

To our guest from New Orleans;

Thank you for the nice comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham Wynfrey Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed all the elements of the renovated guest room. Yes, we do charge for internet in the guest rooms as do all the larger hotels in the Birmingham area. This is to help offset the high costs of maintaining the sytem, bringing in a 100 meg line for the many users that might be on it as well as the support. We do offer a 2 hour complimentary set up in our lobby and restaurants.

Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Andy Peters,
GM and the team members of the Wynfrey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

my niece had her wedding at this location, wedding was beautiful, facilities were fantastic. no issues in this department.
lets talk rooms, hairs from previous guests stuck to ceiling of shower, manager came and removed.
asked front desk to print boarding passes and reserve place on shuttle to airport. timing was during wedding so anticipated we would not be available for sw air 24 hour restrictions. the front desk dropped the ball on boarding passes and shuttle reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Michael from Houston, Texas;

Thank you for taking time to write your comments. I would like to apologize for the issues that you bring up in your review and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests like you enables us to address the problem areas and take necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the wedding that you attended.

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency Wynfrey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for three nights - my first visit since a major overhaul and takeover by Hyatt. This rooms here, which previously were in dire need of help, have been completely renovated and upgraded. A tremendous improvement as they appear (with the exception of the bathrooms) totally new. The bathrooms seem slightly upgraded (and weren't the big problem before anyway). My only nitpitck with the rooms is that the bar in the closet is too low for longer dresses, which will drag some on the floor (note: I'm only 5-4). They also have added a club level - hooray! Though the staff and check-in process were acceptable in the past, both also seem improved. Hooray for the Hyatt renovations! This area also seems to be getting more restaurants and so forth - another plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Ellen;

Thank you for recognizing all of the improvements after our renovation of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham Wynfrey Hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to post the nice comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that the bar was a little lower in the closet in your guest room and appreciate you letting us know so that we can check the height in the closets.

We look forward to greeting you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Hoover, Alabama. Enjoy the rest of the summertime season.

Andy Peters, GM
and the team members of the Hyat Regency Wynfrey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful hotel. Top-notch value and customer service. Staff went the extra mile, and everyone was very personable and always totally professional. This hotel adjoins the Galleria Mall, which was great. It's right across the street from The Library Theater, a wonderful facility. Other city attractions were close by. This was a short family get-away, and we were pampered and able to relax and have fun, too. Our room was large, had a huge flat screen tv, and plenty of convenient outlets. Great beds and pillows, made you want to take them home with us. There was some minor construction, but all was quiet. Roof- top pool and hot tub spa will be done in August, and we will be return customers. And did I mention that the food was delicious?

Room Tip: Concirge Level included complimentary breakfast and evening delicious snacks in a beautiful two-stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doroty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Ms. D. from Montgomery, Alabama;

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel on Trip Advisor.com. We appreciate your kind comments on your review. Our pool is open and the Stay Fit fitness exercise room is ready for your work out. We look forward to your return stay and appreciate your business.

Andy Peters, General Manager
and the team members of the Hyatt Regency Wynfrey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Hyatt Regency-Wynfrey Hotel is "looking good" with its new renovations. We should know - for we have come to the hotel for almost twenty years. But more than the new look is the exceptional service.

From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed back by Chris, assisted to our room by Marques and left the next morning smiling and waving back to Louis. This time we were on our way to a medical appointment. Thank you, Gentlemen of the Hyatt Regency-Wynfrey, for making a difficult trip better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

To our guest from Jackson, Ms.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your experience with the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. On behalf of all the team members we appreciate your kind comments regarding your service experience. We are very proud of our service and hospitality. I have passed on your nice comments to Chris, Marques and Louis and recognized them in our daily newsletter with a copy of your nice review.

We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to our city. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,

Andy Peters
and the team members of the Hyatt Regency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel shortly after it re -opened after a refurb. It was like new, it is attached to the riverchase mall and is within walking distance of 5 or 6 restaurants. The rooms are large and have plenty of plugs for all your electronics. WiFi was a bit spotty during my stay, it was slow at times and would drop signal, I could email, and surf the web but streaming netflix was out if the question. I liked the motion sensitive nightlights that are hidden in the nightstands. The club lounge is very nice as well, it is two floors tall with a big staircase and a great view. I tried to book another stay at this hotel because I had such a great stay, but they were sold out.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teammcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

To our guest, Teammcwilliams;

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments regarding the hotel on www.tripadvisor.com. On behalf of the team members of the hotel we are pleased to know you enjoyed the newly renovated guest rooms, we have received many nice comments regarding the on and off night lite built into the night stand as well as each room having a mini refrigerator and safe. I do apologize that you had a spotty reception with the wi fi. We asked our provider to do an analysis and check it, that has seemed to help with this.

I am sorry that you couldn't get a reservation for your return visit, we still have 3 floors out of order to complete the renovation but will have all rooms up and running on August 1 when the renovation is complete. Please let me know should you return via email.

Thanks again for staying with us, we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

When reservation was made, we were told we had a double queen room. At check-in we were given two double beds. The beds were awful, the room smelled as if they were trying to cover up smke smell. Our son broke out w/horrible hives, which he's never had. My hisband had to go out foe Benadryl at 3:30. During that same son's shower the water stopped so he couldn't fonish & my hisband didn't get a shower. After an awful night and complaining we still had to pay the $10 parking fee & were given Hyatt points? Gee, thanks...Never Again!!! This place is the poorest excuse for a so-called upscale hotel. Thanks for adding points to our rewards cards for the miserable night, and for ripping us off for $170!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KansasWildcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPeters, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Kansas Wildcat;

We appreciate your comments and apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. I apologize that you room had issues with past smoke smell from cigarettes and that the water pressure had an issue during your stay. I worked both the 4th and 5th of July and am sorry that you didn't get a chance to meet me in person to discuss your issues and allow us an opportunity to fix them while you were here. As we were very slow over the 4th of July we asked our Pest company to inspect all the rooms occupied on this date and could not find any problems that would have caused hives, I can only summize they had some type of allergic reaction to the detergents we use.

Again, our sincere apology.

Andy Peters
General Manager and the team members of the Hyatt Regency

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#24 of 80 in Birmingham
463 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel

Address: 1000 Riverchase Galleria, Birmingham, AL 35244-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £79 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Wynfrey Hotel; a $20 million dollar renovation with untouched southern hospitality. The transformation includes all guestrooms, meeting space, Regency Club Lounge, public space, and food & beverage outlets. The hotel now offers 329 modern guestrooms with features and amenities that allow for a convenient and comfortable stay. Each guest room has the Hyatt Grand bed, an in-room safe, 42" flat panel TV and a mini fridge. All 32,000 square feet of meeting and event space, including the Wynfrey Ballroom and over 22 meeting rooms, have been elegantly appointed with contemporary updates. A revitalized sense of arrival with an updated lobby coupled with a new restaurant, Merk’s Tavern and Kitchen, and a Hyatt StayFit fitness center, will complement the time-honored southern hospitality that awaits you at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynfrey Hotel Birmingham Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing