We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you need to be downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you need to be downtown”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Large, clean rooms. Nice complimentary breakfast. Restaurants within walking distance. Enjoyed our one night stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chkirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    109
    48
    21
    19
See reviews for
99
53
19
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I have never stayed at a Hyatt Place Hotel. I have stayed at similar big name chains but never this particular one. However, after staying at this hotel I am sold. The customer service was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. After checking into the hotel, I was too tired to go out to grab a bite to eat. Room service was very reasonable and quite prompt. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was very quiet and provided the perfect place for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tprater23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I would like to express my deepest and sincere appreciation for this hotel and the exceptional staff at the Hyatt Place / UAB location.
Due to the proximity of hotel - I am sure you have many that utilize your convenience in order to be close to loved ones in the hospital.
Our family recently suffered the loss of our precious granddaughter and during our stay the staff was so much more than helpful, they were geniunely concerned and constantly offered their assistance, but most of all, I was so impressed with their compassion and human touch that so many places of business forget, a personal touch is priceless.
The beautiful outside patio area was a theraputic spot each evening after being inside the hospital for so many hours. The employees (no matter what shift) were always very positive, kind and really seemed to be happy at work ! I thank everyone at the Hyatt Place for taking care of us and always, always going above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyofSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our first stay at a Hyatt Place hotel and we loved it. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, central to most attractions, and is only two years old. Everything was modern and clean. The room was large and well appointed, and the breakfast buffet was above average (although still nothing to write home about). We paid about one-half the posted rate and considered it a tremendous bargain at that price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiguy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I've probably stayed here 6-8 times in the last few months. The hotel has a new feel, is close to UAB and the rest of downtown and is reasonably priced. Breakfast is a decent continental style and service is above average. Rooms are clean and really spacious. Flat screen TV's with an actual HD signal make watching a game in your room enjoyable. Free WiFi, pillows are a little too soft, but nice shower. Nothing to do nearby, but you can drive quickly to some nice restaurants in the area. Overall I'm really pleased with the experience every time I go there and will continue to make this my first choice when I'm in B-ham on business.

Room Tip: Call the hotel specifically and don't deal with their 1-800 booking number. The hotel employees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here one night for business, the overnight parking was $2 at the adjacent lot. The hotel is quite a walk to the center of downtown where all the restaurants are. However it makes up for it in the room size and a nice indoor pool. Overall I may try a hotel closer to the city next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJL395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this place. The room was clean and comfortable with an updated Oriental feel to the room. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the downtown area! I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 2024 4th Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35233-2046
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, free high-speed Internet access, large work desk, microwave, mini-fridge and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and pool and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. We are conveniently located in downtown Birmingham blocks from UAB, as well as restaurants/bars owned and run by world renowned chefs for your dining enjoyment and entertainment. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler, at the beautiful SpringHill Suites by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing