We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My NEW favorite Birmingham hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Alabama (LA)
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“My NEW favorite Birmingham hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I travel periodically to UAB in Birmingham and recently changed my hotel choice to the Residence Inn. I was so pleased with the facilities, location, and services that I've been back twice and plan on returning next month. It is my NEW favorite Birmingham hotel.

The small apartment features a comfortable bed, small living room, and handy kitchen. The latter has been very useful when we order take-out food (I recommend the nearby Rocky's Pizza & Italian Foods and the New China Town Restaurant). If you feel like dining in, it's a short walk to several excellent restaurants in the Five Points area (I recommend the Highlands Bar & Grill and Chez Fon Fon).

This Residence Inn has a nice fitness room, an outdoor pool, great front desk service, a good free breakfast, and free Internet. My only complaint is having to pay for parking and sometimes having to walk a block to find an empty parking slot. Overall, however, I still rate this a Tripadvisor five-star property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curb_jumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    92
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
65
58
12
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

When an unexpected maintenance problem occurred the staff was immediate in responding. Due to the severity this staff made sure we were immediately placed in another room and sending staff to help us move our luggage. The rooms were very clean and we were afforded all amenities. The location was excellent and close to the places we needed to go. Even after leaving an item was accidentally left behind and it was awaiting me shortly after discovery secured by staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Overall I had a great stay. The hotel was clean, modern, and the rooms were very spacious. The staff gave us a rollaway bed at no charge when we had an additional person crash for the night. the rooms come fully furnished with plates, silverware, and cooking pots and skillets. There's a full fridge, dishwasher and 2-burner stove. The location is within walking distance (5-10 min) of the Five Points, which is the bar district in downtown Birmingham. Parking was $10/night, but no valet. The price is a bit high b/c its basically a small apartment, not a resort, and that may turn off some people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Traveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My room was very large, spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was very good. The hotel gym was larger than an average hotel gym. The WiFi speed was very good. I was very pleased with this property and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Cost us £250 for 2 nights so i have to admit i had high expectations. Room overall was nice, v spacious with a kitchen, sofas etc. Maybe im just being picky because of the price but the room wasnt amazingly clean...we had dried noodles from the last guests on the counter, big black hand prints on the back of the bathroom door (which my husband cleaned up) and worst of all we had blood stains on the duvet and a pillow. For this price i do expect a bit more so i am sat in the room now feeling a bit disappointed to be honest. To end on a positive, the hotel is v close to five points south and they gave us a "free" dinner of bbq food which was nice. Staff were ok but when i asked for a map they couldnt get me one!? Overall ok but not the standard i expected for what we paid. Shame.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My room August 2014 was generous in space, good layout, even had a fireplace! Staff was very helpful and the breakfast had a decent selection including eggs, sausage, waffle iron, etc. Easy walking access to Five Points area with lots of dining options.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rear of hotel and away from street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_from_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn downtown Birmingham for a business trip. The room was like an apartment with microwave, stove, dishwasher and refrigerator. Staff is always very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious, clean and updated. They have a decent sized pool and a decent gym.
Breakfast was free and full of variety including some healthy options for calorie conscious. Check out their event calendar in the room. They have BBQ nights and some other options almost thrice a week between 6 to 7.30 PM.
Everything met my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalpaniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing