We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in nice neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Got a good deal online where they tell you the name after you submit the offer. Fist time at Extended Stay America so I didnt know what to expect. The reviews were mixed.
It is located in a nice area so thats a plus. The lawns are well manicured and the parking area is clean. The doors open outdoor more like a motel. The exterior is painted well.
The room was clean, nothing special. The furniture was basic knotted pine with LCD TV. WIfi was good. There were many electrical points well located where you can access them, unlike many hotels where they are behind furniture. Front desk staff was freindly.
They have a different model here more like an appartment concept. The rooms are equipped with Refrigerator, Microwave, Cooking Range. They will provide cutlery, crockery, coffee marker on request.
They dont have daily house-cleaning, only when you leave or if you stay for more than a week. if you want a change of linen or towels you take them to the front desk and they will provide you fresh ones.
The lobby is very small and does not include a breakfast area to sit down. The breakfast(called to-go breakfast) consists of Coffee, granola bars, muffins, apples/oranges and oatmeal packets.
Date travelled - June 27-30, 2014.
OVerall It was worth the price and a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DG9452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

For the budget minded and folks not picky about where they stay... yuk. personally I thought the place was dingy. Curtain rod falling down. The closet doors were broken, mildew in the tub and surround. Smelled bad, uncomfortable bed, poor fitting sheets, dirty carpet and grout in tile is nasty. Stairwell stinks from garbage. Not what the commercials show at all!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharnell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We will be reviewing your feedback with our staff to make sure our rooms are cleaned thoroughly and meet our standards prior to our guest's arrival. We will also have our maintenance engineer address the issues in your room.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so we really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to us at hw2@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel stay on Expedia. The hotel appears to have gone through some updating, but could stand to go through a little more. The room looked pretty clean, but we did think it was odd that the fitted sheet was on inside out...just weird. The bathtub was old and dingy and I felt like I should've had shower shoes on. The towels were very thin and I think probably need to be replaced. The beds were very firm, but I slept like a rock. I may have just been really tired, though. There's a kitchenette which was clean and would be useful for a long stay. It wasn't the most aesthetically pleasing, but it was certainly functional. Overall we had a decent one night stay. If you're looking for a quick stay, it's worth the price. However, if you are concerned with the beauty and finishes of a hotel, you should skip this option.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ladycheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are glad that you found us to be a good value; however we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the middle of a renovation to improve our hotel and to address many of the issues you experienced.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again once our renovation is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For the money, this is a bargain, with that said, the rooms linens are just marginal. The towels smelled of oil and the bed linens are very low end. We got the rooms from a push add from one of the hotel bid spots for $47/night. So price was great. The room was clean and had a nice kitchenette. I would have to bring my own linen if I stayed any length of time. Again for the mobney is a good bargain.

Room Tip: Only stayed one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbeeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review of our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your kitchen and your clean room; however, I do apologize that our linens and bedding did not meet your expectations. However, please know that we did just upgrade our towels and linens through another company. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at hw2@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay America location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My room was functional and comfortable, but not particularly clean. I found a long hair on the bed sheets, and a strange smell in the room - maybe from cooking - kept me awake for a while. The furnishings, fixtures, grout etc. are getting somewhat shabby and need an upgrade.

On the positive side, the staff was extremely friendly and responsive. The "grab and go" breakfast concept (coffee, packaged muffins, breakfast bars, and fruit) may turn some people off but frankly it was better than the artificial eggs and Cheerios you get at the other places.

The other positive of course is the low price, especially for long stays. But I'm not sure that will be enough to convince me to stay there next time.

Room Tip: Lobby closes at 11:00 p.m. Not sure what you should do if you arrive late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Earl - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to read that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and low rates. However, we are disappointed to hear about the condition of your room. We are currently in the process of being renovated, so hopefully that will improve your stay the next time you are here.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Picture this, Front desk does her job and hands you keys. Promises to call in 15 min to check on you (she did).
The awe comes when you open the door, very clean room, beddings were fresh, nice shower, amenities were in place. Carpet was clean and my stay was worth it. Location is just good for the no-drama ppl and perfect place to continue writing a book on my travels. I tore your shower curtain, maybe we need a good grab bar by the shower.

Room Tip: First floor was my perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. We are proud of our staff for providing you with efficient and friendly service. We are glad that you enjoyed your comfortable room and were able to continue writing your book.

Thank you again for your review. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed one night.Our first room stank so bad we changed. The second room was dirty. Beds, bathroom, tub toilets. Front desk was helpful in giving us clean sheets we installed ourselves. The hotel was close to numerous othrr choices. We moved iver to Spring Hill Suites and had a hreat time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfbosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Inverness
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Birmingham-Hoover, AL
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#46 of 80 in Birmingham
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South

Address: 12 Perimeter Park S, Birmingham, AL 35243-2326 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £40 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Birmingham / Perimeter Park South Hotel Birmingham
Extended Stay America Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing