We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very comfortable stay for a decent price. Breakfast next morning was really good and filling. You have your toast, bagels, cereals (hot and cold), pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juices. It was filling. Beds were comfortable. Front desk was very friendly.

Room Tip: If we did not have a GPS, I think this place would have been a little difficult to locate. Not visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My boyfriend and I were making a long relocation trip from Texas to Connecticut (approx. 25 hours) with two cars, one carrying our dog.

After doing some research we decided to stop at three pet-friendly hotels that didn't charge a deposit/extra. The La Quinta Inn in Birmingham was our first stop.

We had driven 10 hours that day, so needless to say this was simply a place to sleep before the next day's drive, which would also be around 10 hours.

So here are the good things:

1. It was easy to check-in and get to our room on the first floor. This is definitely helpful when you have a 50-lbs. lab/terrier mix who can be a handful when you also need to bring in her bed and crate.

2. It's close to a Burger King. While the food was actually kind of gross, at that point we just needed something to eat after a long day.

3. The room, while not completely clean (we did not use the shower), had enough space for our dog, her crate, her food bowls, and for us to relax, eat and fall asleep. The bed was also actually extremely comfortable and didn't have noticeable stains or anything.

And here are the bad things:

1. Security was an issue. There is a side door that guests can access with their room keys, but there was always a rock being used to prop it open. I know this was the case because I went in and out of this door multiple times and each time I kicked the rock out and locked the door, I would find the rock there the next time. It creeped me out.

2. There was not a lot of green space for our dog to use the restroom. Just seems like a no-brainer to have a spot for pets, especially from a cleanliness standpoint, when I saw plenty of people bringing their pets in for the night.

From our perspective, the stay satisfied what we were looking for. Our dog was happy, we felt well-rested for the next day, and the breakfast was adequate, so we can't complain. Also, we were able to get a discount on the price (approx. $70 w/taxes) through a pet travel website.

I would not stay at this hotel for multiple nights, but for one night with a dog, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS_DB_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The front desk staff were very friendly. Check in/out was quick. They are pet friendly so it is good if you have any pet with you. The area is safe, the room was clean, and pretty big (King size bed) but the hotel definitely needs some maintenance. This is not a luxury hotel, but for the price - I had a great stay and I will go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Other than the condition of the hotel my stay was very good. The front desk staff were great and friendly. Check in was quick/easy. I stay a La Quintas mainly because they are pet friendly and this one was no exception. That wasn't a problem either. My only complaint was the somewhat run down condition of the hotel. The room was clean, the bedding, etc., but the hotel definitely needs some TLC and maintenance. The bathroom was a little moldy and there were cracks in the walls. AC was dirty and toilet handle was broken. Not up to my previous La Quinta stays. I know they are not a luxury hotel, nor is that expected. I just felt this one could be much nicer. The room/hallway was quiet and overall I felt safe in the area. I probably would not stay at this hotel again only because of the condition of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
11
Reviewed 20 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Small parking lot, but not to worry just park in the back lot and use the back door.
No complaints from me. Nice quiet easy to find location with a decent price which includes a very clean room and a breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallowite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
1
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Inverness
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South

Address: 513 Cahaba Park Circle, Birmingham, AL 35242-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Birmingham
La Quinta Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing