We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience Always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay. They go above and beyond to be helpful, it is always spotless, the food is great, many places to eat close by, and the staff are wonderful. We will be continuing to use their services on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tawnya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Tawnya N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We are happy to hear that you had another wonderful experience! Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel! We are located right off interstate 65 making us convenient to several restaurants as well as shopping. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, regardless of their budget. February 2014 was the 2nd time a group of us travelled to Birmingham for a college conference championship weekend. Both times we have stayed in this hotel and both times it has been excellent. It is convenient, clean, perfectly up to date and run extremely well. The (free) breakfast is great. The (free) happy hour is great. The rooms are great and they have a good fitness room for a hotel this size. What makes this hotel truly special though is their personnel, from the manager on down. The manager seems to be on-site 24/7, always friendly, always accomodating, actually treating you as if you were a guest in his home. All the other employees follow his lead and are excellent. We were arriving late on a difficult travel day (ice storm). We actually got a call from the front desk to check on our status and to assure us that if we decided to pull over we wouldn't be charged for the room. They wanted us to be safe - - incredible. I could not recommend this hotel more highly and I travel quite frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Kevin K,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Thank you for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate you choosing to come back and stay with us again! We do serve a free, hot buffet breakfast every morning as well as a Manager’s Reception Monday through Thursday evenings. We truly appreciate your kind compliments about our management and staff. We have a great team full of friendly, compassionate people that work well together. It’s an honor to have our guests recognize their hard work. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Carlton Suites of Birmingham is under top notch management. The manager is at the front desk during most normal business hours and is very hands on. He was sold out and only had one room he wasn't utilizing because it had a small water damaged area on the roof. The elderly couple did not know what to do as surrounding hotels were also booked. The GM told them about the room, showed it to them and even discounted the room after they said it was acceptable. He is constantly striving to provide an excellent value to his clientele. The rooms and interior had recently been painted as the property is always to BW standards and deserving of the "Plus" rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 855travisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Travis K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We all work together to make sure our guests have a satisfying experience. Rony, our general manager, is truly a hands-on guy at the hotel. We hope that your trip to Alabama was successful. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in Birmingham! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went up for a Doctors visit and we usually always stay here because it is clean and quiet. They have a nice indoor pool and Weight room which we always request a room close to the pool. The beds are very comfortable. The people are nice and helpful. The breakfast bar is very good. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Debbie M,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! We hope that your doctor’s visit went well. We offer clean, spacious suites for our guests to relax in after a busy day. I'm very happy to hear that your visit was peaceful! Our fitness center and pool are located on the same floor. We appreciate your kind compliments about our staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Was absolutely needing this excursion from everyday life and was not disappointed. The staff was awesome and the manager was extremely courteous and helpful. The in-room whirlpool for two was beyond amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Christopher H,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are happy to know that we could be a temporary paradise from everyday life! Thank you so much for your kind compliments about our hotel and staff! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your whirlpool suite! Thank you again for taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community know about your stay!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff and service was very pleasant. My father and I were in town for the weekend for the Bassmaster Classic and a little "Father/son get away." We couldn't have asked for a better hotel. Great seafood across the street at Landry's as well. Breakfast was also top notch. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

James W,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay. Thank you so much for your kind compliments about our staff. I hope that you enjoyed your time at the Bassmaster Classic as well as your father/son getaway! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you for your review!!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel manager was great, very friendly and helpful. A nice clean room. Convenient to things we wanted to do in the area. Enjoyed the whirlpool tub in the room. There is a nice shopping center across the road with a Wal-Mart, Sams, Dollar Tree, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Carl M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! Thank you for your kind compliments about our General Manager, Rony! We offer clean, spacious suites. We are located right off of Interstate 65 making us convenient to many restaurants and shopping. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi suite! It’s a wonderful room to relax in after a long day. We appreciate you taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community know about your experience. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing