We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMEND!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked two rooms ahead of time through a 3rd party budget website. We were a little nervous due to the price, but most of the reviews were great, so we booked. Upon arrival, an extremely friendly staff member greeted us and informed us of the managers reception. She went over all of the available entrances and breakfast times. She also gave us a list of local restaurants and explained where the pool and vending machines were . The pool area is super clean and they keep the towels warm by the pool. They had fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoons too. The breakfast was fantastic. With four picky children, there was something for everyone. We had a wonderful experience here and feel it is an exceptional value. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor experience less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Crystal E,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Thank you for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are glad to hear that our front desk representative provided you great service. We do host a Manager’s Reception every Monday through Thursday evening. We serve complimentary drinks and appetizers. We are located right off Interstate 65 making us convenient to many restaurants and shopping. We are happy to hear that our breakfast options were able to accommodate your children. We thank you again for letting us know about your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very pleased with our stay at this Best Western! Wonderful staff. The rooms were very large and spacious! The beds were very comfortable, and there were 2 nice TV's. The breakfast was one of the best I have had! Will definitely stay there again when we come to Birmingham!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jmmiller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Jmmiller56,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We offer 42” flat screen televisions in every room. We serve a full hot buffet breakfast every morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here while attending a tournament. The location was conveniently located to the interstate and restaurants. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, the beds comfortable and the breakfast adequate. I would have been very happy if it had not been for the noise level in the hotel. We were on the second floor and could hear every word being said in the room next to us. We could hear every step taken in the room above us and the hallway was very noisy. We had to run the ac and listen to music to drown out all of the noise and to get to sleep. I did not complain to management because the hotel was full and I didn't see anything that the management could have done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Jen706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Jen706,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel! We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not completely enjoyable due to the noise from other guests. I do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. Our second floor is a noisier floor because the pool is located on that floor. We do wish that you would have mentioned it to the front desk or management during your stay. Although we cannot control the noise completely, we would be happy to make a courtesy call to any disturbing neighbors next door or upstairs. Other than the issue with the noise, we hope that your stay was enjoyable. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with great care. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your stay!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

From the admission in the lobby to the checking-out, this was a very pleasant stay. It has been many years since I stayed in a hotel suite and it was very nice. I would plan to stay there whenever I have occasion to stay in a hotel in Birmingham. Next time I'll bring my bathing suit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Annette D,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We desire for each of our guests to have a satisfying experience. We would love for you to visit us again and try our indoor heated pool! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The owner always treats us like family. The whole staff makes sure we are pleased with our accommodations going above and beyond. We enjoyed the beautiful indoor pool area this trip and found it very relaxing. To us, there is just no other choice. Thank you all at Best Western Plus!

Room Tip: We like to get the whirl pool tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvinIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

MarvinIII,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are happy to hear that our staff has treated you well. We’re glad you took the opportunity to swim in our indoor heated pool. We hope you enjoyed our “dolphins”. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you again for taking the time to review us!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is our 2nd visit to this property over the last 12 months and our overriding impression is how very well maintained it is. They were giving outside areas a fresh coat of paint the day we arrived. Our king size room was freshly updated with great lighting to read in bed (something we really appreciate) as well as plenty of pillows. The rooms are actually small suites with an under counter refrigerator, small kitchen sink, a table that can be used for eating or as a desk, and a sofa. So you feel like you can stretch out. The hotel is also located next to an office park that has nice trees and provides a good place to take a walk after a day of driving. The breakfast consists of large selection of warm entrees, fruit, cereal, rolls, etc. Great attention to keeping area picked up and clean. Owner/manager lives on the property and it shows. Several restaurants in easy walking distance. An issue to be aware of is that if you have a lot of luggage to bring in you want to use either the front entrance or the very back entrance which have flat floors or ramps (versus the midway entrances which have stairs).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank winksHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

winksHouston,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you choosing to come back and stay with us again! We do our best to keep our hotel looking neat and clean. We have refreshed our rooms with new furniture. We offer clean, spacious suites for our guest to enjoy and relax. We serve a full, hot buffet breakfast every morning with sausage, eggs, grits, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles, fruit, pastries, and more! Our building is on a slight hill. We have three ground level entrances that our guests can use to access the interior of the building as well as two entrances that require descending a few steps to return back to ground level. We thank you again for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed with this hotel 3 times in the last year and will continue to stay here anytime I visit B-ham. First the rooms are very large and come with couches, desks, and a large sink/cabinet area with fridge. The beds are VERY comfortable and the room is very clean. The pool area is inside with large bay doors that can open up for a breeze when the weather is great. A large breakfast buffet every morning helps out tremendously, free I might add. Location wise it's great. It took a 9 minute cab ride to get downtown for a Barons game but the Hotel itself is outside the hustle and bustle and is surrounded by lots of great restaurants and stores. Also from 5pm-7pm there is a manager’s reception for guests where they provide good finger foods and complimentary drinks. (beer, mixed drinks, wine) The general manager, Rony Naik, would come around and shoot the stuff with us and was very nice. ALL employees are very friendly and take pride in their jobs through interaction. Very rarely does a Hotel get a great review from me but this one earned every point of the 5 out of 5. You will not regret this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseManwhosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

WiseManwhosay,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again! We appreciate your kind comments about staff and hotel. We have an awesome team that works hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Rony, our manager, is a wonderful team leader! We appreciate you recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We are happy to know that we earned 5 out of 5 points from you. Thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing