We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed over night at this Best Western and it was the most comfortable hotel stay in quite a while. Only thing that was a little inconvenient was the breakfast area was so crowded and they have so few tables that we had to wait on seating, but staff were doing their best to accommodate. Also, the WIFI signal was very poor in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emstravels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

emstravels84 ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We apologize for your inconvenience with breakfast sitting area and also wifi. We really appreciate your compliments for our hotel and our staff. Come back and see us again!!!

Jigisha Patel and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Service is above reproach Management and staff are very very professional and helpful. Rooms are exceptionally clean. Location is the best kept secret for the money in Birmingham. Hotel is centerally located, safe for families with kids, food and shopping. Nice pool area. A must Try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Carl J,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip. We appreciate your kind compliments regarding our hotel and staff. We are convenient to many restaurants and shopping in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to review us!
Jigisha Patel and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very Clean, well located and surrounded by a lot of eating establishment. We had been on the road for almost nine hours and this hotel was a pleasant site. The hotel was very clean, the staff very pleasant and the room was very comfortable. We were within walking distance to a number of eating establishments which made it that much more convenient. Only drawback was the A/C unit. We had a little trouble getting it to stay at a constant and comfortable temp. I'm sure that could have been easily taken care of but did not cause us any terrible inconvience. Wel slept well and were ready to hit the road for home after a good breakfast there.

Room Tip: Because of its location, I don't think there was a bad room location. Ours certainly was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trojanguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

trojanguy88,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to let others know about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We want to go above and beyond and not only meet your expectations but exceed them. We apologize for your incontinence with AC unit but anytime do not hesitate to contact front desk during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Jigisha Patel and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Best Western PLUS Carlton Suites in Birmingham, AL. Our son is a new college student in Birmingham. We had a prior visit and stayed at this hotel; it was a very nice place to stay and we came back when it was time for my son to start his college experience. We stayed at the Best Western during the Parent Orientation and dorm move-in process. The hotel served as a nice base because it was near stores, restaurants, and the freeway. We plan to stay here again when we return to visit with my son.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Robert F,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are convenient to many restaurants and shopping as well as universities in the area. This is perfect location for all your need. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Jigisha and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. The breakfast was delicious. The pool area and the pool itself were clean and well maintained. The fitness area, although we did not use it, looked great and was fairly busy. Our only complaint would be that the television reception was terrible. But that was because they were upgrading the cable to HD, which means it should be exceptional reception the next time we visit! Overall an excellent experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Elizabeth G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff and hotel. We do apologize for your inconvenience with cable but we really appreciate your understanding and definitely next time when you visit us it 's been taken care.We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for your review!

Jigisha and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friendly hosts, handicapped suite was quite a surprise and met all of our needs. The breakfast buffet was one of the best hotel buffets we have encountered. There were a number of hot choices professionally presented on a hot bar and other cold choices available in a well kept, spacious room with ample seating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Linda N,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and breakfast buffet. We serve a full, hot buffet breakfast daily consisting of sausage, eggs, grits, bacon, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, waffles and more! We are pleased to know that we are just like home! Thank you reviewing us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was nice but it was not anything spectacular. It was nice that it had a fridge and microwave and a couch but I wouldn't necessarily call it a suite because there is no real distinction between the bedroom and couch area. And there is only one tv in between the two. So you don't get a good view of the tv from the bed or couch.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Joseph M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We are an all-suite hotel. We offer King, Double, Executive, and Jacuzzi Suites. The double, executive and Jacuzzi suites are larger suites and have two televisions in those rooms. All rooms come with microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron, ironing board and a full, hot buffet breakfast served daily. We hope that you will try us again in the future! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay!

Jocelyn and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £70 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing