We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did anybody else encounter this?!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Did anybody else encounter this?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I was charged for 2 rooms instead of one, who books 2 rooms when they're by themselves? My tv only recieved one channel and they told me in these exact words " Bang on it a few times but if you break you will have to leave the hotel or pay a $120 dollar repair or new one service" are you that lazy or do you care about money as much as guests? My dog wouldn't eat the breakfast I had because I would not touch that stuff. Never again NEVER!!!!!!!

Room Tip: dont choose any room, all the sheets are so skinny and not comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashur_K475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    130
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
234
151
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
286 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

When traveling we always stay a Drury properties when possible. They are always so clean, the staff is outstanding and so helpful with anything you might need! Convenient, right off the expressway so after your breakfast in the morning you can just hit the road again! You won't be disappointed in any of the Drury properties

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imagination
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

When a close relative was admitted to the Birmingham hospital for surgery, my family and I needed a place to stay. This Drury Inn was average. We did a search on the internet of area hotels. I will give you a breakdown of the Drury Inn. I booked the room online for a discounted rate of $85.00. Upon arrival after the young lady finally got off a personal call, I was told the total bill was over $100.00 (due to taxes and fees). What fees? I haven't even checked into the room yet? She was kind enough to give us the original rate. Strike One! How is it possible to charge one rate and then when the customer arrives charge another... Anyway, we arrived as the "kickback" happy hour was ending. Luckily, she saved us a couple of cold hotdogs, mac n cheese, and a bake potato. Strike two and three according to my husband! When we arrived in the room the television did not work. It took them about an hour (for the same young lady on the telephone, not maintenance like she stated) to come to our room. The breakfast was the average hot continental breakfast served at many establishments especially the LaQuinta. It consisted of eggs, shredded cheese, yogurt, cereal, waffle machine, beverages, a couple of rotten apples, re-heated too many times sausage, and biscuits. The bedding was exactly as expressed by MSA1231. And oh yea, the popcorn is mixed with old and fresh. They did not throw away the stale popcorn, just popped more and stirred it around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Your_Opinion_Counts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We sincerely apologize that you had a concern during your stay at our hotel. We value your business and sincerely regret that the level of service and food quality was not what you expected and deserved.

I have address the confusion caused by or Desk Agent regarding the explanation of your room rate. We should have done a much better job of explaining our local tax rate and additional county occupancy tax.

We are committed to providing a great food and beverage experience and I am sorry we did not deliver on that promise.

Your comments will help us address the issues you brought to our attention so we can improve our service.

We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.



David Galvan
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites - Birmingham Southeast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

If only he bedding was better, this would have been a perfect hotel experience. The rooms were clean, and spacious. The bathroom was updated and immaculate. But no way around it: the bedding was skimpy. Skimpy sheets, skimpy pillows, skimpy spreads. Guess the Hampton Inn bedding has me spoiled.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MSA1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We sincerely apologize that you had a concern during your stay at our hotel. We value your business and sincerely regret that the level of service and food quality was not what you expected and deserved.

I have addressed the confusion caused by or Desk Agent regarding the explanation of your room rate. We should have done a much better job of explaining our local tax rate and additional county occupancy tax.

We are committed to providing a great food and beverage experience and I am sorry we did not deliver on that promise.

Your comments will help us address the issues you brought to our attention so we can improve our service.

We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

David Galvan
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites - Birmingham Southeast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Thanks to Nessa for the wonderful service she provided to our family of eight. Rooms were spacious enough for all of us have a bed; light dinner buffet and breakfast were wonderful for a family on a budget. Kids loved the hot dogs, mac and cheese and chicken fingers. Adults like the beer and wine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Drury Southeast in Birmingham has all of the "extras that aren't extra" like its sister properties. There was a "kickback" happy hour with plentiful food like chicken wings, hotdogs, baked potatoes, nacho fixings, salad, and beverages. Popcorn and soda are constantly available. The continental breakfast was very ample - scrambled eggs, sausage, gravy/biscuits, oatmeal, cereals, waffles, toast/bagels, juice, coffee. The pool was great - it had an indoor portion and an outdoor portion. The room was clean and comfortable. It is amazing how much more you get for your money at a Drury hotel than other chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

i stayed here for the weekend and it is a dump i am not sure if dogs are really allowed here but i know the weekend i was there i saw at least 4-5. walking down the halls you could also smell dog! i am for sure i will never beback and i strongly suggest that you also dont make the mistake i did my staying here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iluvcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your comments and more importantly, for being our guest. I apologize that you were disturbed by dogs in the hotel.

Pets are allowed at our hotels with the expectation that the owners keep them under control at all times. Pets are not allowed in the public gathering areas of the hotel, including the breakfast area and pool. Pets are not to be left unattended for more than 30 minutes and there is a limit of two pets per room. Guests are asked to read and sign a "Pet Owner Letter" at check in, which details these guidelines and others.

Our housekeeping staff has special cleaning procedures for servicing a room where a pet has stayed before it is rented to others. This special cleaning includes stripping all linens, bedspreads, mattress pads and pillows from the room. The shower curtain is replaced. The windows are opened, if applicable. The walls are wiped down with cleaning solution and the air conditioning filter is replaced. The carpet is checked for any stains and should be treated, as necessary.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your business.

David Galvan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Address: 3510 Grandview Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35243-1929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast is located near I-459 and Highway 280 in Colonnade Corporate Center, a quiet suburb only 17 minutes from downtown. Free breakfast is served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). South Birmingham offers upscale shopping, dining and destination golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Se
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Se Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham
Birmingham Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing