We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud Teenagers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We arrived after a long day on the road and really just wanted to sleep. We have stayed in this area of Birmingham before and knew the mall and a lot of restaurants were in the area already. We normally go to the Hyatt Place down the road, but since I am towing a trailer, we decided to stay here since it was closer to the interstate.

There was a large group of teenagers staying at the property this night and some were in the room next to us. My first call to the front desk was at 11:30pm to tell the clerk they were running up and down the hallways. My second call was at 12:30am to tell the clerk that they were now beating on the wall. The noise lasted until 1:00am.

In the morning, I went to complain to the front desk and got a lukewarm "sorry" from the desk clerk. Needless to say, this is my second Drury Inn stay in the past week with the same issue of loud kids (call it bad luck) and I will probably not be using this chain again.

The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Parking a vehicle with a trailer at this one is kind of limited if the hotel is full, they only have single rows of parking lining the perimeter of the property and I had to occupy four spots to park my truck and trailer.

Room Tip: Ask to get one with no teenagers from a large group next to you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmyFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

I've never stayed at a Drury Inn, and I wasn't blown away. I selected the Drury based on a couple of factors: ranking on Trip Advisor and morning/evening food offerings. First, let me say that I am surprised that this hotel is ranked #9 out of all the hotels in Birmingham. I found this hotel to be very average. While the staff was nice, I didn't find them overly helpful and the young lady who checked me in, didn't know what "incidentals" were. The food offerings were just average, the same thing every morning and basically the same choices each night. I was staying for one week and found the standard king room to be rather small, especially the bathroom. Although the location is convenient to I-459, hwy 280 is nightmarishly busy and it takes forever to get to restaurants (nothing the hotel can control just a comment). It's hard to say that I wasn't satisfied, because I really didn't have any problems, just found everything to be "so-so, average". Overall, not a bad experience, but not one that I will remember.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for providing your feedback and for being our guest. We know you have a choice when it comes to lodging and we truly appreciate the opportunity to meet your needs.

We’re always interested in what our guests have to say and how we might improve our customer service.

Again, thank you for staying with Drury Hotels. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We came to this hotel after a 8+ hour drive and found it very welcoming and a very accommodating staff. Our room had somehow been booked as a king size smoking (I don't know if that was our fault or theirs), but they had no problem switching it for us at no extra cost. We arrived about 15 minutes before the manager's reception was due to close, and we wanted to get our free drinks in. I mentioned to the waiter that we'd been driving all day, and he personally made sure we got our third drink to save for later. The receptions were great; the evening meal was hot dogs, chips & salsa, potato chips, etc, and breakfast was eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, and so forth. Our daughter has food allergies and we always need to check if the eggs were made with milk or butter. The server again had no problem checking for us what the ingredients were. Overall, a very pleasant hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites in Birmingham on a corporate trip for training as it was close to the training facility.

The room was clean, and the front desk was couteous. The location is great because it is right off US Hwy 280, where there are tons of restaurants and shopping.

The breakfast buffet and evening hot snacks are free.

The exercise room is small but adequate (there are no weights just treadmill, bike and stair stepper).

My only con is that there is no safe in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerchasanAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was more than I expected. First of all at check in they upgraded us for no reason to a suite!!! The food they served during kickback in the afternoon was absolutely wonderful for my kids and they enjoyed it so much. It was more kid friendly food, but it saved me as a single mom from taking the kids out and I was able to enjoy it for our dinner also. The free drinks were great and we ate popcorn and drank soda till bedtime. The breakfast was also wonderful and that saved us again. The pool was clean and cool that half was inside and the other half outside. It was a very nice elegant hotel, extremely clean and just overall the best place I've ever stayed. I was able to get an internet rate that was a FABULOUS deal!!!! Some of the other locations are higher priced but this one was perfectly fine with me. As a single mother of 2 it was nice to have everything inside the hotel so once we were there we didn't have to leave until check out. Can't say enough about the guy at the front desk,,,,,Glenn Phillips (if I remember correctly) was his name and was extremely nice. We've been visiting Birmingham taking my son to Children's Hospital for 18 years now and have made more trips than I can count. Wish I had known about this hotel when it was first built. We'll never stay anywhere else when we go back which is often.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, I can't remember the room number but I'm sure they are all nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a fairly nice hotel located right off of the Interstate - easy access. My check-in experience was "so-so." The clerk seemed to be in a rush to get me checked in and to get back to whatever she was doing before I appeared. Parking lot is well lighted and I liked the security of accessing other doors besides the main entrance. Our room was decent (although I still do not understand why the bathroom is not connected to the bedroom- one has to pass through the living room area to get to the bathroom. The room was clean and I really liked the recliner - very comfortable after a long drive. The hotel was quiet - never heard a sound and was able to sleep quite peacefully. All in all, a nice, decent stay. One more note- there are a number a very good dining choices located very close to the hotel should one choose to not eat at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CajunKimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at this property while driving through town for one night. We chose it based on its close proximity to the Summit (one street light away) and the fact that the hotel sits directly off of I280. I'm a big Drury fan but I have to say that this property let me down. The constant door slams, toilets flushing and hearing other's conversations through the walls made sleep almost impossible. The mattress was extremely hard. The front desk staff was really polite and helpful upon check in. We felt safe and the parking lot was well lit. I think that we'd probably pick another property when staying in the area next time. If you do stay here, be sure to visit the Summit and dine at the Cheesecake factory. Like most Cheesecake Factory's, this one gets really crowded after 6pm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SpeakUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize that you had a concern during your stay at our hotel regarding the noise in your room. We value your business and sincerely regret that the level of service was not what you expected and deserved.

Your comments will help us address the issues you brought to our attention so we can improve our service.

We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Stephanie West
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.5 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview

Address: 3510 Grandview Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35243-1929 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview is located near I-459 and Highway 280 in Colonnade Corporate Center, a quiet suburb only 17 minutes from downtown. Free breakfast is served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). South Birmingham offers upscale shopping, dining and destination golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Se
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Se Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham
Birmingham Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing