We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Birmingham
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to Florida. After checking in to our "non-smoking" room we found burn holes in the carpet, the room smelled of smoke, and we even hard burn holes in the blankets. We've stayed at budget hotels for a night on the road in the past but have never stayed in a more disgusting room. A portion of the first day on vacation was washing our clothes from the night before because they wreaked of smoke. We were also awakened at 4 AM with someone yelling on their cell phone. Dirty room and shady guests!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nadianewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I checked into the hotel early in the evening. I was given a high room at the furthest end of the hotel away from the reception. The noise from the freeway was awful. I asked for and received a quieter room near the reception. The staff were fine about this. apart from the noise a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: As near the reception as possible or you'll go deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We weren't expecting a luxury hotel seeings how this was a Motel 6, so we weren't too disappointing with what it was. The beds were fine. No bedbugs and they were comfortable enough for the three nights we stayed there, which is the main thing I look for in a hotel. The water pressure was fine. The rooms could use some updating. The walls and ceilings need a new paint job and the carpets could use some updating. The room also had a smell to it. Not a smoke smell, but more so a smell that you would expect in an older room. Just take some glade, and you'll be fine. The tv was outdated (though not a problem) and you don't have a big selection of tv channels. The Internet connection wasn't the best during mid day when many people were using it. You had to reconnect every couple of minutes. We didn't need assistance, so I can't really comment on the management and employees. We did appear to be in the minority when it came to race, but we never felt threatened nor worried that we would be robbed or have our cars broken into. All in all, it was our cheapest option, so we were satisfied with what we got for the price. If you're looking for a cheap option for an expensive vacation, I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't expect something fancy. Keep in mind, this is a Motel 6.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at this crappy hotel and our car was broken into and everything was stolen. Motel and room were not in good shape. The beds were not comfortable. Move on to another hotel. It would be best not to stay in the Birmingham AL area. Try to stay away from motels off I65 in big cities.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MarieManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, extremely courteous friendly staff, first pleasant experience with a Motel Six after three disasters. I was driving from New Jersey to Houston and simply wanted a clean safe room with a decent functioning bathroom and a TV on which I could watch the Packers playoff game. (The game was the only disappointment of the evening.) Highly recommend for travelers seeking good value on the road for a night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was robbed at gunpoint at this motel by a man who, according to the police, had been robbing a lot of people at locations which don't have any security cameras. This must be the last remaining motel in the world with no security whatsoever. The door to my room had clearly been broken down previously, and the deadbolt sloppily nailed back onto the doorframe. The area has a lot of violent crime, but the management at this motel hasn't taken even the simplest, cheapest, most common sense precautions for either its guests or its staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Zachary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Zachary E - We sincerely apologize for your very unpleasant experience and the security issues you encountered during your stay with us. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience and address the issues you encountered: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Yes it needs updating BUT if you need a good inexpensive night stay with a comfy bed and clean room and good water pressure this is a great choice. When we pulled up we thought we had made a mistake but we took a chance that the reviews were right "cheap but clean" and they were. Oh yeah and the staff was very friendly. Not bad for 39.99 we got a single person rate as our "hospital" discount. Since this was our third trip to Birmingham in a month we tried to save a little money and it was a good choice. Bring your on toiletries and blowdryer there aren't any frills but that was ok with me because I take them anyway. No weird smells in the room either and the air was very cold. No noise issues from outside or other rooms.Only had a full size bed, wish it had been a larger bed but we didn't mind for one night.

Room Tip: We had an end, ground floor "handicapped' room. Easy access was great and the bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#59 of 80 in Birmingham
435 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham Inn & Suites
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#53 of 80 in Birmingham
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#50 of 80 in Birmingham
105 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#45 of 80 in Birmingham
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Birmingham

Address: 151 Vulcan Rd, Birmingham, AL 35209-4701
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Birmingham 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Birmingham is conveniently located off Interstate 65. Birmingham Zoo, Botanical Gardens, and Alabama State Fairgrounds are within 6 miles. We offer a pet friendly environment and WiFi available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Motel Six Birmingham
Birmingham Motel 6
Birmingham Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing