We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The little train that could”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Barrio

El Barrio
Ranked #2 of 939 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/45/1641255/restaurant/Downtown/El-Barrio-Birmingham
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The little train that could”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stopped in for both lunch and dinner on a recent business trip. El Barrio is a comfortable, woody, casual place. Servers in jeans and t-shirt - friendly. They have a very limited menu and seem to execute fairly well. At lunch I had the soup and salad. For $9 the portion was very small. Soup was good though not real hot. The salad was very plain - lettuce, radish, not much else. At dinner I tried the Tacos al Carbon. The meat was in small cubes and quick cooked on a flat top - as opposed to stips of steak cooked on a grill which I prefer - but had good flavor. Decent tortillas and ok guacamole. The grapefruit margarita was good, though small.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    61
    22
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always crowded for a reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Great food, environment, prices and service. I've never had a negative experience here. I go at least once a month. The wait is never as long as they say it will be.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Packed but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you are trying to find it at night it is easy to miss. Parking & tables were limited. On a Saturday at 6ish people were lined up waiting for a table. The food here was described to us as tex-mex with a touch of carribean. Many items on the small menu had fruit elements (which we avoided). For appetizers we had the queso dip and our dinner partners shared their guacamole, both were great! I had the chorizo meatloaf. We agreed that everything we ordered was good, but mine was the best. The quesadilla, black beans and tostada were also yummy. I would happily go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamacacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I are in Birmingham several times a year on business. This is our place to go for Mexican food in downtown. I'm not a big "Mexican" food fan but my husband is. I have to say, this place has won me over. As mentioned in other reviews, the noise level is alittle high but that I attribute to the very high ceiling.
The food is wonderful and the staff very attentive !!

We love these guys. Please try their other restaurant, Trattoria Centrale, formerly ZAZA'S. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrific flavor, good margaritas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived from California and was surprised that my friends would choose a Mexican restaurant for our dinner. Mexican in Alabama? Well, I can say I really enjoy the enchiladas, the drinks and terrific service. The noise level is pretty high but a great place for a fun night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nana5California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Barrio also viewed

 

Been to El Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing