We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our room was very clean as was the hotel, while we were there they were renovating the first 2 floors and part of the lobby. We were able to have both dinner & breakfast, both had plenty of food and they kept bringing out more so that it wasn't empty which was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stopped here overnight on our way to Panama City. Hotel undergoing renovation and lobby looks nice. Room smells brand new. We always stay at a Drury Inn when we can because of the amenities such as the 5:30 kickback and the breakfast. Wasn`t disappointed it was clean, food was plentiful and good. The manager was walking around everywhere and was very friendly toward us every time she saw us.

We were a little shocked as we were checking in to see pets coming into the hotel. I went on the website and toward the bottom it says pet friendly. This may have changed our mind of staying here if we would have known. One major reason is after asking the receptionist if there were pet designated rooms and she said no. So be sure you know this hotel allows pets in any room so if you have allergies you'll want to stay somewhere else. We don't have any allergies but were a little disturbed that we could have stayed in a room that previously had pets in it. I am not a pet person and don't feel that a person should be put in a room where pets previously were possibly unless I specifically wanted a pet friendly room. I think this should be reconsidered and make certain rooms pet friendly and leave others for non-pet people. All the renovations and making these rooms look so nice why ruin it with allowing pets in the rooms? Don't get me wrong this hotel is nice but me not being a pet person kind of turned me off seeing the dogs come and go and knowing that there isnt room designations for pets vs non-pet people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed the night before Thanksgiving and were fairly pleased with the experience. Our room was one of the new renovated rooms. Although it had that new furnishings smell, it was nice to have something clean and new. We were given a small goody bag for staying during the reconstruction process. The only problem involved a toilet that liked to randomly add water to the tank, not a problem when you closed the bathroom door. The staff said they would replace it after we checked out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Displaced-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests, as we use your comments to improve our product and services. As noted, your room was clean and new as we are renovating our hotel. The toilet issue was corrected. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Rick Seegert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We always stay here when in Birmingham. The suites are large, clean and comfortable. The staff is outstanding. Proctia checked us in with a large smile and assurance the room was as we needed (no feathers). The breakfast and dinners are delicious and plentiful. The housekeeping staff keeps the rooms in tip top condition.

Artie took our reservations and helped us select the type of room we needed and it was ready for us when we arrived.

There's no place we would rather stay than here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose the Drury to stay in on our way to Florida because of the great experience we had at the one in St. Louis. This hotel was very lacking in comparison. The room and hotel were clean. However, our room had a very damp feel and a very odd smell. We were put on the first floor next to the pool so that may be the reason for the dampness and odor. From about 10:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. it sounded like a marching band above us. There was constant stomping and music. We were then woke up around 6:00 a.m. by slamming doors several times. We got up, got ready, stopped by the free breakfast for some coffee and departed at 7:00 a.m. Not the restful night we had hoped for before beginning our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisvilleLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the hotel. Your comments regarding the noise and odd smell are certainly not the norm and have been reviewed and communicated. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Rick Seegert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to Texas. We enjoyed it so much, we stayed here again on our way home! The staff was so very friendly! 5:30 kickback and breakfast was good both times! Our dog was made to feel welcomed also.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

but poor housekeeping. Stayed at this hotel for leisure for a week. Enjoyed the popcorn and coke machine late afternoon. Meals were good, the two free drinks were served in small cups. Enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub. This is a convenient location to downtown area, the Summit, and Galleria. However, the only reason I won't stay here again is the lack of housekeeping. It appears that if were out of the room early in the morning you're room would be cleaned. However, if you had the do not disturn sign on your door (as in my case) and left the room at 10:00, you could forget housekeeping. One afternoon when I returned to the room (I had called complaining for housekeeping services; 30 min after waiting still no service so went and got clean towels. The next evening I asked for housekeeping again and after getting tired of waiting I called to compain. Management did offer a free night for the inconvenience. Four nights at this hotel and no housekeeping. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashspa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel. When a Do Not Disturb sign is on a guest room door, we do not enter the room. Your comments have been shared with housekeeping as it is our mission that all our guests enjoy a comfortable and clean stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Free Hot Food, cold beverages and our indoor/ outdoor pool. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Richard Seegert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Lakeshore Drive is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing