We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!!! Can't Say Enough About It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 7 April 2007

The King Suite was wonderful and the hotel, about 2 1/2 years old as of this writing, was immaculate and overflowing with extras. We paid about $150 a night for the Suite however it was very large with a tiled bathroom with a jacuzzi, a stand up shower, and two sinks. The King bed was very, very comfortable and our son loved the sofa bed. He also liked that we had two TV's so he could watch cartoons while we watched what we wanted.

The lobby is large and pretty with a fireplace and lots of room to eat breakfast. Wonderful smelling and tasting popcorn was served every afternoon. The ice machine was new and functional.

The services or free extras (though I suppose you really are paying for them with the hefty room price) are:

*Free hot breakfast with sausage, eggs and waffles. Also had bagels and cereal as well.
*Free high speed internet in all rooms.
*FREE long distance for one hour every night.
*Free high speed internet in the lobby.
*Though we are not drinkers and didn't particularly care for the evening beverages being served, free beverages are served from 5:30 to 7:00 if that is what you are into.

Furthermore, this hotel has a heated indoor/outdoor pool that is very nice. Also has a hot tub.

Need to eat out? Lone Star Restaurant is adjacent with O'Charley's next to it. Many other eating joints are close by. Why, there's even a Wal-Mart across the road! What more could anyone want?

The hotel is located just off Interstate I-65 and is about 10 miles or so from Hoover where the Barons play. I think the SEC Baseball tournament is to be played there in 2007.

For the business traveler (Wachovia is withing walking distance), there was a Kinko's across the street and the lobby has a decent business area with the aforementioned internet and copying machines.

I tried to come up with a negative about this hotel and I suppose the only thing I can say is that it was unseasonably cold while we were there. Okay, okay, so they can't control the weather. They do a good job with everything else, though.

Well, it just hit me that one elevator was not working the day we left. So there's your con. Anyway, if you need to be in this area, this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andrew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 442 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2006

We stayed at the Drury Inn as a midpoint on our drive to New Orleans. We have a family with four young children, and the Drury was a great place to call it a night. The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived during the daily manager's reception - it was great. Lots of guests were hanging out in the reception area, eating munchies and enjoying free drinks at the bar. Kids could help themselves to juices, popcorn, sodas or milk. The hotel definitely has a clean, good vibe. There is a very nice indoor outdoor pool. The area is safe and newly developed. In walking or very short driving distance is an Outback Steakhouse, Landry's Seafood, Taco Cabana, Books-A-Million (with a coffee bar...the coffee at the Drury is horrible), an Old Navy, and many other stores. A hot breakfast and wireless interent are included in your stay. The hot breakfast includes fresh belgian waffles, fruit, yogurt, hot and cold cereals and breads, eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage - there's something for everyone. Our room paid for itself with all of the free food and drink! There is also free internet - but it's not wireless in the rooms. (It is wireless in the business center though.) The rooms are fine. The bathrooms are new, clean, and there is cable television. My only complaint about the hotel are the beds. We slept at the Drury for two different nights - on out way down and on the way back, and both beds were awful. The matresses were new, and had the support of a wet pile of cotton balls. The sheets were raw and scratchy, and the velux blanket was flimsy. Just bring a sleeping bag and your own pillow, and you'll have a great stay at the Birmingham Drury!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank uptownnolagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

My family stumbled upon this hotel by accident. We were in Birmingham for 2 nights for a class reunion. We spent the first night at a different place but it was dirty and disgusting so we checked out early. We had never stayed at a Drury Inn before but the location was good and we were desperate so we decided to give it a try. We LOVED it!! The lobby was huge and beautifully decorated. The room was clean, spacious, and attractive. They offered free popcorn and soft drinks from 3-10pm. Breakfast was included with the room and it was a delicious hot meal, not just stale donuts and juice like some hotels offer. If I had to sum up the hotel in a word it would be "classy." The most amazing part: it was $10 per night cheaper than the dump we stayed in the night before!! I'm already looking forward to our next trip to Birmingham and I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KentuckyWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2005

My family stayed at this Drury Inn in May 2005 and we loved it. This was our first time staying in a Drury Inn and we will be looking forward to staying with them again in our future travels. The staff and service was great. The afternoon happy hour and breakfast were all good. We also appreciated the free long distance, pool area, and the very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tjlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2005

I stay at this hotel every 2 or 3 months for business. It is wonderful, free high speed internet in your room, free soft drinks and popcorn and free long distance. They also have a great happy hour every afternoon with appetizers and drinks. The staff goes out of the way to make sure you have everything you need. They even let me check out one day at 4 p.m. and did not charge me even though I was supposed to stay another night. My meeting had ended early and I wanted to go home. They even helped me get all my things to my car. I cannot say enough about the hotel and great staff. The hotel is mainly business travelers so it is quite and you do not deal much with familys.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank abby_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airliner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Lakeshore Drive is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing