We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French food in Birmingham”
Review of Chez FON FON

Chez FON FON
Ranked #3 of 960 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great French food in Birmingham”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Who would have thought of such a great French food in Birmingham ! Small restaurant old setup but great friendly southern hospitality. Service is friendly and prompt. Soup de jour is excellent. Bread is good. Lamb dinner dish is so good and reasonable price. 7 layers coconut cakes is sweet and great with coffee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CVictorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    80
    25
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ratings do not lie! This is a great one!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I can't believe we waited so long to visit Chez Fon Fon. We loved the Charcuterie platter and cheese selections. We've also had the Moules-Frites, Croque Madam and my husbands favorite, the Hamburger FonFon. That burger is craveable! Casual, comfortable atmosphere. Great food and great portions!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique fresh food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This is a small but wonderful place with a great menu and very attentive service. The dishes are fresh and unique and you are made to feel at home. This place should be high on your list. Go early or wait to eat.....it is worth the wait and price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visited for the first time, and they did not disappoint. Our server Brent was fantastic. He made several wonderful recommendations and was attentive without hovering, a gift that so few waiters possess. All of our dishes were top notch (especially the Lamb Navarin) and the dessert was the perfect ending to a perfect lunch. Can't wait to try this place again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The perfect French bistro”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Service is impeccable, food is terrific. I last went for lunch, and the shrimp and avocado salad was perhaps the best salad I have ever had. I'm a bit of a Frank Stitt fangirl... all of his restaurants are amazing (Chez Fon Fon, Bottega, and Highland Bar and Grill). The best of Birmingham dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez FON FON also viewed

 

Been to Chez FON FON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing