We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Improvement to Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Birmingham
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Improvement to Birmingham”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Westin is definitely a nice improvement to the downtown area of Birmingham. The staff here is wonderful, and I must mention by name Logan, the valet manager. He took great care of my parents and I during our recent stay. I look forward to when the entertainment district opens up, they are working on it now but it should be fantastic. In the meantime Todd English is an excellent start.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the highway, but there's no real noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Andy L,

On behalf of everyone at The Westin Birmingham, thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are proud to be your preferred destination in downtown Birmingham. Our mission is to exceed our guests’ expectations and we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    119
    52
    16
    17
See reviews for
65
85
25
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My son treated himself and I to a stay at this hotel after our college football game on Saturday night, Sept. 21, 2013. We had a beautiful room on the top floor of the hotel (9th), overlooking the city. Although the room was beautiful and comfortable, we encountered an unexpected unpleasant surprise when we arrived in our room. Problem was, the hotel had allowed a booking of a pool party (on the 2nd floor of the hotel), with a deejay playing loud rock music with a heavy beat, and this went on until past midnight. It was like we had a disco on the floor right under us. Our room vibrated terribly and the noise was louder in our room than our TV with the volume turned way up. There was definitely no way to sleep until that party was done. My son called the desk around 11 PM about the incredible noise, and was told there was an "event" someone had booked and it would be over within 30 minutes. It was not. At almost midnight, I called the desk again, and got no satisfaction from the conversation I had with the desk clerk. A little after midnight, while we were still discussing the matter on the phone, the desk clerk told me that the deejay had just called and said he was done. Compensation for our "inconvenience" was refused. I was told the manager (night manager on duty) "could not do that." Upon checkout the next morning, I discussed it with the front desk manager, and was told my son would be given some points on his Starwood Preferred membership for our "inconvenience." I do not believe the hotel should have booked, or allowed a party like this with a loud deejay, at a hotel in this manner. This showed no consideration whatsoever for room guests, and showed selfish greed on the front end of booking an event (loud party) rather than considering hotel guests. Our room was not even in the vicinity of the pool party, and the noise was incredible. I cannot imagine what it was like in rooms closer to the party. Hopefully the people staying in those rooms were all part of the party itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Visiting Birmingham for the first time, I chose the Westin because of the brand's reputation. This hotel did not disappoint. The staff were all very friendly and check-in was a breeze. I stayed in a very well appointed room that was clean and well maintained. The hotel is ideally situated in town and is across from the convention center.

The only reason I didn't give the hotel a "5" was the downstairs pub. It was so loud that I could hear the music and other noise coming from it in my room several floors up. When you check in, ask for a room away from the bar and you will be fine. I would return to the Westin, just on the other end of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear jeffcat,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We recently have undergone an extensive renovation and we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After a week of attempts for prepayment for my reservation that I was gifting to my brother for his wedding night I had to call for a reciept - only to find that he was charged. Even after numerous calls - asking time, and time again to make sure he wasn't, and that my card was. I had to call 7 times to finally get an credit card authorization form, and had to fax it 4 times to 3 different fax numbers that their Sheraton/Westin associates had given. When I called the day of the reservation I was talked to as though I was a burden, and the young girl I spoke to on the morning of the 21st refused to help; stating that they couldn't do an advanced deposit for the room, and that they would have to wait until check in. Being a front desk employee of Starwood, and very knowledgeable when it comes to light speed I know that this is not true. Matter of fact, I could have walked her through it.

I cancelled at their sister property and moved my brothers reservation to this property in hopes of them being able to take care of things the Starwood way, but obviously I had been mistaken. Now, I have to transfer money from my own bank account to my brothers bank account due to their incompetence. What was supposed to be a great wedding gift to my only sibling has been nothing but a complete nightmare. I am both very disappointed, and disgusted with these teams.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ashley C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent occurrence. We are extremely disappointed to read of the inconvenience that you experienced during your effort to provide your sibling with a gift. I can understand how disappointing and frustrating this must have been. Your review will give us an opportunity to make sure that the appropriate departments are aware of our company's processes and that information is clearly and accurately communicated to our guests so situations like this are prevented.

On behalf of The Westin Birmingham team, please accept our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you; however, we do hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My Wife and I drove over for a concert and were treated to a room here at the Westin. Located just south of Downtown, it is ideally placed close to some of the city's best Restaurants. Very clean and the staff are extremely nice! We did not try their Pub but we were told (and read on Yelp) that it is really solid. Totally would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Eurorunner,

Thank you for staying with us at The Westin Birmingham. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments about room and our professional and friendly staff. We are thrilled that you will be a returning guest, and we look forward to your next visit!
Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was here for a single night for business. Parking was easy, check in was a breeze, the room brand new so spotless in all respects, and my run in the workout room was fine. The room service meal was better than expected and could not ask for better service. Was very convenient to downtown business center. Will stay again when I am in Birmingham. My only objection was that the shower (shower only, no tub) is one of those "half glass" arrangements you frequently see in western Europe. So that means that no matter how hard you try, water invariably gets in places you'd rather not have have it -- wall, floor, etc. I've always been curious why this is such a popular approach, and gaining ground in the US, and it just seems like it would create a maintenance issue more than anything for the hotel. So we'll see what it looks like in a year or so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurorunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the referral of SPG Reservations after having described our lodging preferences. This is a new facility completed in early 2013 and is located around the corner from the Sheraton property downtown. Hotel & our room was spacious and contemporary. The staff onsite was friendly, knowledgable and very helpful. The Todd English P.U.B. was awesome. Great food, service and plenty of tv's for college football.

We would highly recommend and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear mini6322,

Thank you for your 5-star rating! We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the amenities, and Todd English P.U.B. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#32 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Property: The Westin Birmingham
Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing