We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Property but poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Birmingham
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

New property but as other reviewers have indicated not well managed. Rooms are nice but the thumping of bass from bar on second deck could be heard on the 6th floor. This complaint has been registered before by other guests but management must not care.
Room service was incorrectly billed to my account. No one could handle as billing dept was closed on the weekend. Go figure. My advice. Go to Sheraton, might be a little bit older but better managed. Also stay clear of the Westin's pub. Horrible service and just ok food.

Room Tip: Have them guarantee a room where you will not pick up the base thump in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuler_dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hello Shuler_dennis,

Thank you for your feedback.Please accept our sincerest apologies for any aggravation or inconvenience experienced with the hotel. Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed those standards. Please be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined to avoid recurrence. We would like to invite you back so you may have the opportunity to regain the confidence in The Westin Birmingham.

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin and loved the downtown location within walking distance of restaurants and concert venues. The American Idol tour and Steely Dan were part of the the weekend activities at the BJCC just across the street. They upgraded us to a room on the 8th floor which was quieter than the lower floors. We did not have a good experience, however, at the Todd English PUB that is apparently the hotel restaurant. Servers and staff need some training in "enthusiasm".

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank almostavalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was average! There is tons of food and dinning in walking distance! The pool was not impressive for the HOT south! So it was just okay stay! So if you are looking for somewhere with an awesome pool this is not the place to stay!!!!!.......

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Lori H,

Thank you for your review. I apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. I would like to welcome you back to our hotel so you may enjoy the many other features The Westin Birmingham Hotel has to offer. We hope to see you in the near future.

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Westin. Clean and nice rooms, contemporary style. Big issue with being charged for wifi. One thing good to know. I found a cheaper price online than when I called to reserve. I mentioned that and they honored that price which was 40.00 dollars cheaper than the price quoted by the person taking the reservation. Also, I know picky but only 1 bathrobe in room. Small fight. At least 2 robes so no one has to argue.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sailing00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello sailing00,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Next time your with us feel free to call down and request another robe; it would be our pleasure. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked this hotel on Hotwire, unaware of what hotel I was going to receive until after the booking;when I saw I received the Westin I was ecstatic. The Westin has a good reputation with guest overall experience and this stay was nothing short of excellence.The front desk attendant Race was excellent in customer service as well as the lobby attendant Eugene ! I would defiantly recommend this hotel as well as stay again. Great location to restaurants too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyBeauti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hello LovelyBeauti,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in town as part of a wedding party... along with, it turns out, two other wedding parties! That. perhaps, was the problem, but for a hotel vying for the 2016 DNC convention, they should have done much better. Our gift from the family, to be presented at check-in, was found one day later after we inquired; there were far too few parking attendants and luggage carriers available at valet parking as we unloaded the car ourselves The following day the room wasn't cleaned until 5:30 that evening... and the excuse from the staff was that the hotel was serving two wedding parties, so we had to be patient. And then there was the radio in the neighboring room which went off max vol at 3:00 AM second night. Had to call security to shut it off.
The hotel is new and super clean. The Todd English Pub was fun and trendy, and you are centrally located within walking distance to many attractions. The room itself was clean with a shower which could fit a gathering of four (attn: DNC). We used valet parking since we were in and out during the three days... very easy. The lobby staff were very friendly, helpful and instantly produced maps and directions to our destinations. Location is user friendly from the various road systems leading into the area.
We will probably give this another shot due to the Westin name and the "unusual" circumstances surrounding our first visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marieandjefftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello marieanjefftravel,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for any incoveniences you encountered during your stay with us. I am happy to hear that our staff were able to provide you with quality service. We would like to welcome you back to The Westin Birmingham so we may have the opportunity to gain back your trust in The Westin brand. Hope to see you soon!

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First impressions: heck-in was easy, lobby was beautiful, all common areas were clean. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and well-equipped (my husband was particularly fond of the shower).

We enjoyed a drink at the lobby bar one night and then snacks and drinks at Todd English Pub another night. TEP was busy (lots of locals like TEP apparently), so expect a wait. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, and of course you can walk right over to the BJCC.

We ordered room service our second night and both enjoyed our meals, which were delivered much faster than expected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MLFRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheswithstarwood, Marketing Coordinator at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello MaylarF,

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Angelica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#31 of 80 in Birmingham
983 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
8.1 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#27 of 80 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £142 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing