We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
254
138
63
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
138
63
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews todd english pub convention center front desk rain shower room service lobby bar rooftop pool nice hotel self parking guest rooms check in was a breeze enjoyed my stay business trip coffee maker staff was friendly valet bjcc
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Had a room with two double beds seemed a tad bit small. Nice bed linens and covers. Refrigerator and coffee pot available.No microwave, but when I asked if there was one available that guests could use, front desk personnel immediately told me where one was located. All personnel encounters were very pleasant and professional. Easy walk (about a block) to several different restaurant -- different very good ethnic foods.Was attending a conference in the Sheraton that is connected to the Westin by walkways so I didn't have time to check much else around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank inlovetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear inlovetraveler,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Birmingham and for posting such a positive review of our hotel and associates. We enjoy welcoming travelers with our spacious accommodations and thoughtful amenities, all in an inspired location here in the heart of the city. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Birmingham. 

Best Regards,
Steve Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

After having a bad experience at a different Birmingham Hotel we were a bit nervous with where we stayed this time. It was great. Rooms were big and clean. Lots of towels. Pool was clean. The only thing we weren't thrilled with was the room service options, but the hotel restaurant catered to things we wanted and we were able to do take out.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank patty0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear patty0424,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Birmingham and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and associates. We enjoy welcoming travelers with our spacious accommodations and enhancing amenities, all in an inspired location here in the heart of the city. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Birmingham. 

Best Regards,
Steve Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Stayed for the weekend while attending a concert at the Oak Mountain Amphitheatre. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Pool was a little small. Small coffee shop down stairs was very disappointing menus, and service wise. I would recommend if you can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear cad123,

Thank you for staying with us while attending a concert in our city. We love knowing you enjoyed our beautifully maintained guest rooms, all of which showcase the signature Westin Heavenly Bed®. Thank you for recommending Westin Birmingham to future guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Steve Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We stayed here during the recent Tiger Rock World Championship. We paid the price for convenience. The room was overpriced, Wi-Fi was NOT free, the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan & was hot, stuffy, & smelly. Self-parking in the garage was $10/night, with Valet parking $25/night. Prices were high & the menu limited at the PUB. The enclosed crossover to the convention center was 'out of order' making for a longer walk. Now for the positives: Room was clean & comfy, Staff was friendly,very accommodating, check-in & out was a breeze. Most important was being pet-friendly for our traveling dog, they even provided a doggie bed for him.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback! We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed your room and that your dog enjoyed his bed. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and with some of the fees. In the future, please know we offer free WiFi to all SPG members. If you are not a member, you are welcome to sign up at no charge during check-in, and you will automatically get complimentary access. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to be of service during your next visit to the Birmingham area.

Best Regards,
Steve Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

My husband & I always book our stays long before traveling but this time on our drive back home from Tennessee we decided to be spontaneous & stop at the Westin after dining at the nearby Texas de Brazil. The hotel is absolutely beautiful & very elegant. Everyone was amazing except for Mandy who checked us in. She was very rude & treated us as if we were bothering her because we didn’t have a reservation. I asked if she could match the rate which was less online & she very rudely said no that we would have to book it online. My husband was already annoyed by her & agreed to pay the rate that she quoted us. I completely understand policies but she could have been professional about it. I hope that Mandy was having a bad day and doesn’t treat guests this way on a regular basis. I would’ve given rave reviews if it weren’t for her attitude.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Danielle B,

We appreciate you choosing us and leaving your comments. Please accept our apologies for the encounter you had at check-in with our staff and that it spoiled your otherwise great experience. We have spoken with our associate and have taken proper action to keep this from being repeated. Thank you for your honest feedback, and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Best Regards,
Steve Miller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews