We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for airport food”

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #541 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good for airport food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Normally Jim 'n Nicks has very good BBQ, but I found the airport location a little lacking. I ordered the baked potato with pork BBQ. The entire dish was between cool and slightly warm. The cheese was melted, so the potato must not have been heated. It seemed over cooked. Maybe other items are better, I was just disappointed with what I ordered.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    14
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“so good”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I like to visit different barbeque places throughout the south to try to compare them against each other. This place is the best in Alabama so far!
Please, ask for some of the cheese biscuits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank defazeo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hooray for yummy food at Shuttlesworth!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Finally the beautiful, new Birmingham airport has a perfect place to grab some bbq! Jim 'N Nicks was quick, easy, friendly with great food too. The cheese biscuits were a treat, baked beans and pork sandwich were good too. Not badly priced for the airport and a to-go cup was provided when I asked. So happy to finally have a spot with good atmosphere to eat before a flight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ / Pricey”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I really like the BBQ at this restaurant. I have dined here several times during my visits to Birmingham. The brisket sandwich is very tasty. The Mac & Cheese is excellent. The only downside is that they really seem to be taking advantage of the airport location and charging a premium. The hostesses are not friendly. Service is slow. The food makes up for it though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuskokieinOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“is this Bar-B-Q in an Airport "Wow"”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I and my wife were in the Birmingham airport and we decided to try Jim N Nicks Bar-B-Q. Actually my wife dragged me to it as I am a firm believer that you can not get good food of any kind in an Airport. Bar-B-Q in an Airport come on it can not happen or so I thought. I have no idea where they get it, certainly not in the airport fires and airplanes don't mix. I had Brisket the true test of any Bar-B-Q restaurant. The Brisket came out moist full of flavor and actually had a smoke cap on the outer edge of the meat. That makes it far above average but the flavor I rate this among some of the best chain brisket I have had. French Fries were not as crisp as I like but looked to have been cut fresh and that requires additional time. Not big hunky fries either these were well cut but my standard being approximately 1/4 inch to 3/16 wide. Service was good another surprise, tea fresh and Slaw had a good taste not dripping in dressing. I would recommend this to anyone who is like me hates airport food and is in Birmingham airport.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing