We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool experience”

Rickwood Field Park
Ranked #20 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's oldest baseball park and former home of the Birmingham Barons is a place where visitors can relive the magic of baseball's glory years.
Waco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Very cool experience”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My family visited Rickwood last month on a trip to Birmingham. This was one of the highlights of the trip to me. We visited during a day where there was no game, and other than a staff member or volunteer of some sort, we were the only people there. Look for the self-guided tour brochure near the entrance; it's full of good information about the park's history.

Because there was no game that day, we were able to go just about anywhere in the park we wanted (only the press box was locked). We traversed the concourse and stands, then made our way down onto the field, where my almost 4-year-old son ran the bases to his heart's content and enjoyed sitting in the dugout. My wife and I walked the circumference of the field, checking out the old signs and even the original concrete wall behind the "regular" outfield fence.

If you enjoy baseball history, this is a must-see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
358 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Oldie But Goodie!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit if you're a baseball junky like me. Oldest active park. Catch a game or available tour. Lots of history. Oh if these old dugout walls could talk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A piece of living history”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you get a chance, go see a game here. This field is older than Wrigley. They used it in 42, the movie. Nothing compares to the feel-it's like going back in time

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank llstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“WOW- A Walk Back in History”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I grew up in Atlanta in the 40s and 50s following the Atlanta Crackers Baseball team. Their biggest rival was the Birmingham Barons who played at Rickwood Field. It was great to tour the field and sit in the dugout. I was surprised that you are unable to see 2nd base while in the dugout because of the slope of the field and the depth of the dugout. How did they argue a call at 2nd base?
Rickwood is in a declining neighborhood, but we felt safe inside the ball field. This is the oldest professional baseball field still in operation in America.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy30263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“History of Baseball”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

If you like sports history or just history in general this is great. Its hard to believe that Ty Cobb, and Babe Ruth played there. The movie "Ty Cobb" with Tommy Lee Jones was filmed there, too. Many colored players of the past played at Rickwood in the Negro Leagues. The area is run-down and not a place to be after dark. The park was enjoyable. The city is working on remodeling at Rickwood, so will write a new review once that is complete.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarltonCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rickwood Field Park also viewed

 

Been to Rickwood Field Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing