We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who Knew?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark

Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark
Ranked #11 of 88 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic iron manufacturing facility
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
439 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Who Knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had no idea that the City of Birmingham was built on the steel industry. The opportunity to learn about steel making in general, the industry in Birmingham in particular and to wander in and around the entire steel mill area was a real treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gblack7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    115
    35
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Well I had time to kill before my flight and decided to visit the Sloss furnace. I'm a bit of history nut and industrial fan so it didn't take much to convince me. First of all, this is FREE. It's self guided and really kind of on your own deal, which is interesting because these places usually keep you in a line and don't let you explore. But here, you can explore! The facts and information is great, but a little short on details. Luckily for me, I was fine with walking around and looking at the old mechanical aspects of the plant. It's a little creepy when you're by yourself but that kind of makes the whole experience better. If you have a free hour, I highly suggest visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wow this was an amazing place to visit, went their for a wedding and while I didn't have time to tour the entire grounds I was very impressed that they preserved this old foundry. I'll be back next time when in Birmingham for a more extended tour.

I was a little bummed that they have clearly painted much of the foundry structures with a rust-colored paint. Would have been way more interesting to see the original colors and patina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCR-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How can a furnace be so AMAZING?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was like walking through a movie set. The tour is self guided, but you can listen to the narrative on your cell phone, which was great. If you are into photography its a true haven. We spent about two hours walking around, listening to the history and taking pictures. I loved it. Oh, did I mention that its FREE, but please live a donation when you leave, its worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anasicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Blocton, Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Halloween”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Love to attend the Halloween events, it is a lot of family fun. Go if you have never been, You will enjoy it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMcCrary35184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing