We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
398
232
89
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
232
89
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful resortclubhouse restaurantplay golfgreat golfpro shopbag pipesbagpipe playerpool areartj trailbreakfast buffet isroom servicelong weekendbusiness meetingrooms are nicesouthern hospitalityvalet parkingbrocks
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We've stayed here one weekend every year for the past four or five years. We absolutely love it! The breakfast buffet is so amazing we talk about it all year long. Be sure to try the local sausage! Ryan, the waiter there, is extremely helpful and a real asset and even remembered us from year to year. The spa is one of the most beautiful spas I've ever enjoyed-so don't miss it! The rooms are typical Marriott, but the views and the setting with bagpipes as the sun sets are truly memorable. The pool area and slide keep the kids happy as well. The one downside is the front desk staff. Talk about rude and unprofessional! We are a family of four and we were actually assigned a room with a king bed upon arrival....? Don't ever think Marriott Platinum will help you at the front desk of this resort. No upgrade, no warm welcome. But once you are past them, the weekend is marvelous! I even think their gift shop is fabulous-seems like each year I find a treasure there, especially if you like football. We've never had time for golf, but we have walked the course and it is well manicured. This year we also discovered the nearby walking trail. If you are tired of gyms, give it a try! It helped us enjoy this beautiful part of the country. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momof2travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at this Marriott over a birthday weekend, choosing this one after much debate and other reviews on tripadvisor. The property is a resort property, and we would not choose to stay here again if just passing through. However, if one takes the time to enjoy all that this hotel has to offer, the visit can be well worth it. The setting is elegant and picturesque, and the staff was engaging and helpful---we did not encounter even one person who was not friendly. The rooms were actually larger than we have come to expect from a Marriott, and we found the rooms to be clean, with the housekeeping staff being attentive and helpful. The beds were especially comfortable. We stayed on a high floor with a pool-side view, and we very much enjoyed activity of the hotel. The noise was not an issue at all for us. The property has two restaurants, with the Clubhouse being more kid friendly. Think about getting the breakfast package with the room. The breakfast is well done, and the crab omelets are excellent, as some of the other reviews note. The hotel has both an outdoor pool with a water slide and an indoor pool. On sunny days, the outdoor pool will be a nice place to be, but it’ll likely be crowded. Note that Ross Bridge is 15-20 minutes from nearly everything else in Birmingham. This is both a blessing (adding to the resort atmosphere) and something to think about if you’re planning activities elsewhere around town. In short, we enjoyed our time, and we’re glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed there for two nights and it is beautiful hotel, great setting and meticulously maintained golf course. As noted, it is not near the downtown area but it is not, per se, set up as a business hotel. A great place for a long weekend with one of the nicest pools we have seen in some time. Very relaxing with friendly service. Our room and bathroom were first class.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My cousin and her new husband booked the bridal suite for their wedding night only to find roaches all over the place. When help was summoned, they were told someone could come up to spray! Since he has asthma, that was not something they could do. Then the bathroom sink stopped up. They called again but nobody came to solve the problem. One would think at this premium price, the room would be spotless and in good working order. They left the next morning and went home to take a shower. The food was so expensive there, that he went out to bring in dinner for them. We have problems with their bar service and food before, but thought it might be better now, Sorry to say this place just doesn't have what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick S, General Manager at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

I hope this email finds you well. I would like to take this opportunity to thank your cousin for staying with us and to apologize for the multiple issues that they experienced during their stay. I sincerely regret the inconvenience that they went through and I assure you that we have thoroughly addressed the problems you noted. Let me also assure you that your comments will be used for further staff training and counseling so we can improve our service delivery and guest experience.

If your cousin would be open to discuss their experienced with me personally, please let them know that I will be delighted to have an opportunity to speak with them.

Sincerely,

Rick Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in May. The hotel is extremely nice and in a good area; however, it's at least 25 minutes out of downtown, so it's not somewhere you would want to stay if commuting to downtown. The hotel felt very up-to-date and much like a country club. This is certainly a couple of steps above other Marriott hotels. It's a pricey hotel (the only downside besides the location), but the extreme niceness of the property merits the high rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews